We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost the Terrier”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jolly Sailor

The Jolly Sailor
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lost the Terrier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Splendid Pub near the quay at Orford - good menu - not too long so all of the food is prepared for you - Cod and Chips with splendid mushy peas and an amazing bread and butter filling. A good selection of Adnams Ale - I prefer their bottled beers to the bitter on tap. The welcome was great - welcoming to us and especially 2 dogs - no-one worried about having to step over Charlie the Fox Red Lab to serve the food and we didn't realise that we had lost Peg the Lakeland Terrier until she was marched from behind the bar. Very definitely worth a visit. book on a weekend as it is very popular.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankGWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    97
    34
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fab service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I were on holiday in Suffolk, the last week in September, and we visited Orford which is a wonderful little village with good walks for dogs. The first time we came across the Jolly Sailor was at lunchtime and ordered 2 latte's and a portion of bread & butter pudding with chantilly cream. Needless to say it was scrumptious! We decided to return for an evening meal and as we had our dog with us we were going to sit outside but staff ushered us into the quaint restaurant without hesitation. We ordered the ribeye steak which came with enourmous, homemade onion rings, chips, mushrooms and tomato. The steak was the melt-in-the-mouth variety and they gave us a very generous portion. Staff were friendly and attentive. Altogether a fab experience 5***** rating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just under new management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked a cottage almost next door because the reviews were encouraging.
The beer was good as Adnams always seems to be and on our first night the bar was very quiet after the evening eaters had left. Our fish and chips were OK.
The following lunchtime the place was busy and we settled outside with the dog. We ordered soup and granary bread which was delicious washed down with a couple of beers and the sun kept on shinning !! All the staff are young but very keen to make sure everyone is happy.
That evening we tried something different. I had liver and bacon and she had scallops. Both were brilliant and complements to the chef.
We continued to have lunch and dinner at this jolly pub principally because the young staff were so enthusiastic and the chef was a bit of a gem.
Let's hope that the new owners appreciate the staff who certainly sold the place for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samcottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well kept beer and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Plenty of lunchtime menu choices and well kept Adnams beer. The service was very quick. The garden overlooked open countryside and was a lovely place to sit on a sunny day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katenodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

All around in the village exquisite food is being served or produced (from two smoke houses). Even the food served in the cafe at the village shop is exceptional. Although The Jolly Sailors is in a wonderful position with a lovely garden overlooking the marshes, we found the food to be ordinary pub grub. We would go back for a drink in the lovely bars or the garden, but not to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barhillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jolly Sailor also viewed

 

Been to The Jolly Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing