We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, amazing staff, wonderful food.”
Review of The Crown & Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown & Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is a real treasure. I haven't had the opportunity to stay within the main building but have spent a few very pleasent breaks in one of the garden terrace rooms.

The rooms are modern, clean, elegant, quite spacious, well equipped and comfortable.

There are various "personal touches" about the place - like the recommended viewing from the DVD library that's available - which make it very obvious that the hotel's owner (Ruth Watson of TVs The Hotel Inspector/Country House Rescue) views the establishment as a labour of love rather than a business. It feels every bit the brain child of a lady with a passion for hospitality.

The hotel itself is quite small, cosy and very comfortable with a lovely ambiance - the open fire on a cold December evening was a lovely touch. It is also located a stone's throw from the incredible Orford Castle, which makes for an intriguing and enjoyable visit.

The food in the restaurant was absolutely incredible - a feast for the eyes as well as the belly and a creative display of culinary genius more than just a meal.

But what really made the trip for us was the staff - one waiter in particular was an exceptional host and always carrying a giant, genuine smile, but all were friendly, efficient and helpful

We would definitely recommend this place and will almost certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToniB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

I really don't like uninvited emails but the ones which come to us from the Crown and Castle (and which could be cancelled at the jab of a typing key) are always so jolly, amusing and in this case downright good value that after the trials of a move from Yorkshire to Lincolnshire (100 miles nearer Orford!) we could not resist. It was a lobster special offer; and as other half loves lobster and it was also his 70th (birthday, not lobster) we booked for three nights in a garden room which I like as there is no possibility of any noise around the room. I really don't think I can find a fault during our three days' stay; food is wonderful and varied, the beds are sublime, service lively and friendly, the weather was perfect (and the "freebie" boat trip round Orford was most welcome), the lobster was "historic"; it was a perfect way to unwind after "The Move". Wifi is now free in all the rooms (and makes up for the lack of even basic FreeView TV - can this be the 21st century??) but forget mobiles - PLEASE. Thanks you all at the C&C; if you want to get away from it all, there can be few better places.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waysidemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Crown and Castle on a two night package which included dinner at the Trinity restaurant (see separate review).

We booked one of their cosy garden rooms which I believe have recently been renovated. Luckily the weather was lovely when we were there and we were able to take advantage of the sitting area at the back looking over the garden and the castle.

Orford is a pretty little village with plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. There maybe cheaper accommodation options, but the Crown and Castle will not disappoint and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Not a big deal, but it did get up my nose, so I will mention it. I thought that adding 20p to the cost of a morning newspaper smacked of penny-pinching, especially as you can buy newspapers from the kiosk 30 yards or so from the hotel! I can honestly say I have never seen a surcharge added for newspapers in any hotel I have stayed in before, in fact in a good proportion they are free. I also saw on their fact sheet (which by the way needs replacing in a new folder), that they charge ₤10 for a bucket of ice and glasses if somebody wants to drink their own wine in the room.

Room Tip: Book a garden room, especially if you bring your dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

One of the best things about this hotel are the engaged and friendly members of staff; not only are they super efficient but they look appreciated too and that makes for a nice relaxed visit. We were perfectly happy in our 'good hotel room' which was smallish but had a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The room was simply furnished and not cluttered up with unnecessary things; not a dried flower in sight.... yippee for that and for no piped music in the dining room! A boat trip to Orford Ness made a grand day out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discerningpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Know Orford very well but hadn't been the Crown & Castle. We didn't stay, only ate in the restaurant but well worth writing about....Lovely decor, fantastic service, super menu and superb food. Reasonable but probably expensive for some of the locals. If the the restaurant and food reflects the rest of the hotel then then all I would say, is lucky you for staying there!! Well worth a visit, not to mention the fact that Orford is just a lovely village too.

Room Tip: Do book for the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JJWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed for a weekend break with friends. Check-in quick and shown to our room. Very comfortable, clean and airy. We ate in the restaurant both nights, the menus changed and were very interesting. Food was great. All the staff were very friendly and helpfull.
If you want a relaxing weekend away with good food and service, you will love it here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz54ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timgm, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Thank you very much for your delightful review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The owner of this hotel has a lot to live up to. Unfortunatey, I do not think that Ruth Watson is looking closely enough at her own establishment. It is dirty in places, tired, and run down (e.g. fraying edges on chairs in bar, fies left on window ledges for days, dirt on skirting boards behind toilet doors, wall paper peeling, chipped paintwork).

The concept of the hotel is good and the location ideal. Value money is a joke at the moment.

The food is very good. However, bread servedat dinner is followed immediately by starter which does not give one time to enjoy the home made bread as an appetiser. Also, toast provided way in advance at breakfast so that by the time your hot breakfast arrives the toast is hard and cold.

The garden area could e so much better as could the main entrance to the hotel.

All in all very down at heal - needing some work to bring it back to what is could be.

Room Tip: Sea or castle view good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butty19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timgm, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

We are sorry that the guest did not report the housekeeping problems to us at the time as cleanliness is key to any hotel and we would have taken the appropriate action. We are mystified about bread being seen as an appetiser rather than an adjunct to the meal. The breakfast menu clearly says we serve toast and tea at the outset but are more than happy to replenish at any time, but the staff weren't asked to do this. There is no access to the garden from the room the guest stayed in so the comment about it seems redundant. As for remarks about the hotel being generally down at heal (sic), we cannot agree that this is so, viz other reviews. We always ask guests on departure if they have enjoyed their stay and would hope this was the time to voice any discontent. Our notes say the stay was enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
5.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
694 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,063 reviews
16 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,530 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
21.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Castle

Address: Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Price Range: £135 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown & Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crown & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown & Castle Hotel Orford
The Crown And Castle
Crown Castle Woodbridge
The Crown & Castle Orford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing