We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb ambience and atmosphere”
Review of The Crown & Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown & Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb ambience and atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a birthday present. It's a lovely little hotel and would definitely recommend it. The location is wonderful, literally next door to Orford castle, and right in the heart of the village. The hotel itself is a lovely old timber framed building, with lots of character, though the rooms are more modern and a little bland. Mismatched furniture and a bit cramped in the main hotel. We were offered a free upgrade on arrival to one of the new chalet-style garden rooms, which are bigger and have a terrace. Would have accepted in warmer weather or for a longer stay but as we were only really there for a short time we opted to be in the cosier surroundings of the main building.
For dinner, as neither of us are big fish fans the menu was a little limited. We both opted for Pork out of the two non-fish options. The food was good, but not outstanding. Breakfast was excellent however, a good choice of well cooked local produce, and lots of nice little extras.
The main advantages of the hotel are without doubt the location, the building itself and the staff. I have never been made to feel so welcome as we were here. Without being fawning, the staff were all incredibly cheery, friendly and welcoming. This all combined to make for an incredibly nice experience. The minor shortcomings of the rooms and food are by far outweighed by the overall ambience and atmosphere.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellyfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your compliments about the service and ambience at the C&C - and, of course, the delights of Orford itself. They are much appreciated. On the negative side I am sorry you were not so fond of our decor although I suppose this is more to do with personal taste – I like it! And I'm sorry you had the perception that the menu offered more fish than meat dishes. In fact, it is evenly balanced between the two, always offering at least 4 meat and 4 fish main courses and similarly balanced starters. But, being on the coast, we naturally love having good, locally caught fish on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    115
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
64
597
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Enjoyed a 2 night package deal in room 20 ( the first of the garden rooms ) Practical and serviceable which are lovely and toasty warm. The beds are comfortable and both of us slept well. A good powerful shower not a pathetic dribble and a window to open rather than a blocked and noisy ex-fan. The main building is smaller than I had imagined but once inside its layout works well with a small sitting and bar area with the restaurant sited on the opposite side.
At this point I must mention the staff, all very pleasant with a professional manner. Both the restaurant manager and lady at reception conducted the evening service very efficiently.
The meals were cooked and delivered perfectly to your table and no need to ask who was having which meal.... they knew. The Food and service here is top rate and have already recommended other's to visit and sample the delight's. Hope to visit again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hockneyhockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and accurate review. It will be helpful to putative guests who can worry about our garden rooms not being warm in winter (they are, as you confirm!) We are really pleased you enjoyed both food and service, too, and hope to see you again next year. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds. Suffolk. England
Level Contributor
442 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband (who now has lots of Brownie points) booked 3 nights at the C&C as a surprise for my birthday, Henry our aged Lab came too.
What can I say apart from " How does the C&C make it look so effortless and get it so right, when so many places get it so wrong"
From the time we arrived when we were greeted by the duty manager David Mee, who was ever present and so efficient all weekend. He showed us our lovely garden room, which was spotless. Henry had a tray complete with home made biscuits, fluffy towel and poop bags. We had a gorgeous king size bed with lovely linen, the room had everything you would expect, but with some welcome extras, like fresh milk.
We ate in the restaurant for two of the nights, again a fantastic experience. Choosing from the delicious menu in front of the fire. Again the staff (Including David) were very attentive but not intrusive.
We had complementary champagne (yum) as returning guests, what sets this apart are the little things i.e whilst at the table we asked for another round of "Adnams", it was a new barrel and came a little cloudy, I mentioned it, it was duly taken away. David returned declaring he wasn't happy with it, it needed another 12 hours, he apologised for our wait (it was minutes), we were offered two free drinks by way of apology WOW thats service. Talking of service, again whilst in the restaurant for both evening meals and breakfast, not once when the food arrived was it necessary to ask who was eating what, the correct order was quietly placed in front of you, only a little thing but it all adds up.
The food was amazing on both nights, well cooked, a great choice, lots of it and really tasty.
Henry enjoyed laying in front of the fire after we had eaten, he was very spoilt with a chew every evening.
We stayed for a long weekend but left feeling we had stayed for a week, so chilled and relaxed, nothing was too much trouble.
Why oh why isn't every hotel experience like this.
Cant wait to return (Hope hubby reads this!!!!!!!!!!)

Room Tip: Garden rooms take dogs and are lovely, but Im sure any room here is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
What a lovely husband to treat you, and what a lovely woman to write such a glowing report of your stay with us. Thank you very much for all the points you make, especially Henry having as good a welcome as his owners. We are delighted you enjoyed the food, too, and came away fully relaxed. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Despite the St Jude storm ravaging Suffolk bringing down trees and power lines, staff remained calm and professional at all times even though the electricity went off shortly before 8am on Monday just as breakfast service was underway. Fortunately, there was sufficient hot water in the urn for guests to start the day with a pot of tea to accompany the cold selections on offer. Although we had been looking forward to one of their beautifully cooked hot choices (it's not the first time we've stayed here!), freshly squeezed orange juice, creamy Greek yoghurt with home-made granola, potted brown shrimps with crusty granary bread followed by a basket of croissants and pain au chocolat with locally made loganberry jam set us up for the day. We happily trotted off for a stroll along the seafront at Southwold, enjoying the unusual spectacle of some opportunist surfers making the most of the dramatic waves.

Returning to the hotel in the late afternoon, we noted that we hadn't seen a single light in the village. Our suspicions were confirmed as we were greeted by David who apologised for the ongoing power failure, generously offering that night's accommodation free of charge should we wish to stay on, as would the limited menu they were able to offer that evening. A torch and extra blanket were thoughtfully provided in each room. The open log fire was warm and inviting, and the prospect of a candle lit evening in was very appealing (it all seemed quite an adventure, although I'm sure an adventure the staff would have preferred to miss!). Handwritten menus were swiftly produced and were an accolade to the inventiveness and creativity of the chef and kitchen staff who, it should be remembered, were having to do all this by candlelight and some strategically placed torches. So many delicious things to choose from, although we settled for a platter of Italian meats and olives to start, followed by butternut squash, roquefort, caramelised walnut and rocket salad along with a salad of smoked trout with new potato and creme fraiche. Dessert choices were equally mouth-watering with pannacotta served with stewed berries and a crispy florentine and a frangipan tart as a more robust offering.

Whilst the food was lovely, what made the evening even more memorable was the way in which the unusual circumstances elicited comment from fellow guests, and everyone seemed to relax into easy fire-side conversation. However, we all cheered when at around 10.30pm the lights suddenly came on - no need for torches or blankets! A great night's sleep ensued, aided by the most comfortable Vi-spring bed, squashy pillows and luxurious bed linen. And the following morning, our hopes were met with steaming porridge followed by the dreamed-of full English!

Thank you so much to all the staff who rallied around so amazingly well, especially David. You are brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaynotoStarbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Your review is so extraordinarily kind that I even re-posted it on Facebook, something I don't normally do. Thank you very much indeed for writing such a long and complimentary report and for all the detail. Dave, Charlene, and the team on duty through the power cuts are all very appreciative of your kind comments about their performance during the crisis. As owners, we thank you, too, not least for your understanding. I do hope, though, that on your next visit the electricity will race up and down the cables without cessation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel has a unique charm, combining excellent unobtrusive service with good interesting food in a lovely setting next to the castle.
Our room in the main house had a triple window with expansive views of the estuary and was very clean and comfortable with an attractive modern bathroom.
The pleasant lounge and bar area was inviting and attractive, the dining room a little dated.The things that really mattered were spot on : great food, a relaxed friendly atmosphere and, most of all, truly first class staff who got it right every time.I now appreciate why so many customers keep returning to this unpretentious, relaxed and welcoming hotel. This is what all hotels should aspire to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay - and yes, we are very fortunate in having about 85% returning guests. I am not sure I totally agree with the term 'dated' to describe the restaurant because I think it's quite modern in approach but would totally agree paintwork and upholstery need sprucing up - work is in hand. But thank you again - we are really grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I find this hotel quite difficult to review. In fact, I've been wondering since we came back from our two night stay three days ago why I liked it so much.

My wife and I chose the place to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. Having during that long sentence stayed at most of the 'top' country house hotels in the U.K. and many of the highest rated in France, as well as oodles of well known restaurants we have experienced every kind of accommodation, food and service possible. I have to say that we have a very short list of places that we really want to return to, largely because so many of the most expensive hotels and restaurants festooned with Michelin stars and the like fail to live up to their promise. In fact, we find ourselves almost unconsciously compiling mental lists of faults, sometimes infuriating, sometimes entertaining, such as the time when the Head Waiter at a 'top' London restaurant said good night to us and handed my wife a flower as we were arriving.

I think it's the total absence of pretentiousness that is one of the best features of this place. The unfailingly friendly staff are properly trained any know exactly how to be attentive to every detail without being intrusive. Someone is always available to attend to your every need but you are encouraged to treat the hotel as if it were your home; the atmosphere could not be more relaxed and the comfortable public areas and accommodation add to the experience.

Dining was a pleasant experience too, largely because of the absence of theatre. The menu is very adequate for a small hotel, and the kitchen are prepared to go out of their way to accommodate requests for items that are not on the menu.The cooking is first class and the wine selection is one of the best I have seen for a long time.

Finally, our German Shepherd thoroughly enjoyed all the fuss that was made of him and joins us in hoping that we will be able to repeat the experience soon.

This really is a competent demonstration in how a hotel ought to be run.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room because we had our dog with us. Quite honestly, we would probably choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Okay - I am working out how to reply in a suitably appreciative, unpretentious, modest way! The truth is that we (well, those of us who are well-travelled) share all your reservations about smart hotels and restaurants. Recently we were staying in a 5-star hotel and an otherwise very pleasant girl, who had watched us playing cards in the bar for about 2 hours, carefully put the requested two bottles of water slap bang in the middle of the playing surface rather than to the side of the table. It drives me mad because this is NOT service. Good service is simply about being thoughtful (and anticipatory): it is not about doing things by rote. Please forgive the diatribe. Anyway, I can't tell you how delighted we all are that you liked what we do because you - this time please forgive the sycophancy - are exactly the kind of guest (and Hamish) that we love looking after. Thank you so much for the long and lovely review. It's made our week, if not month or year. We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Well worth a visit. Pleasant rooms - good size with every facility. Food in restaurant lovely as are the staff. Great location. Prices okay too. Booking process extremely efficient with pleasant and helpful responses. We will stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you very much for you succinct but complimentary review! We do hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
4.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
8.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
21.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Castle

Property: The Crown & Castle
Address: Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown & Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Castle
The Crown & Castle Hotel Orford
Crown Castle Woodbridge
The Crown & Castle Orford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing