We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most friendly and comfortable hotel and restaurant in Suffolk”
Review of The Crown & Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown & Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have spent the last week staying at the Crown and Castle Hotel in Orford, Suffolk. UK .
It is a truly special place, and possibly the quietest retreat for a relaxing break or for calming
down after a hard working job in the region.
The food is beyond excellent,each day served with enormous kindness and grace by all members of the team. The rooms are truly super clean, comfortable and quiet.
There is a sense of peace about the place. All staff will do anything to make one feel at home,
and I will come back with great pleasure at the earliest opportunity. This hotel deserves every
plaudit in the book. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden and the Castle are quietest. beautiful sunsets from your window, and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 566DRB566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

For some reason my original reply went missing (Trip does have glitches) so may I just reiterate how grateful we are for your very kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel, from the 'excellent' food to the 'super' rooms. And, yes, there is a marvellously peaceful aura about Orford – it's a lovely village. Thank you again for taking the time to post your very nice review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We love Orford, its peace and tranquillity, delicious food, but most of all the amazing staff at the C&C. Nothing was too much effort and all with a (genuine) smile. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and this was simply the best team we have seen.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quirky (from the outside) but charming inside and super comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Yes, our staff are amazing – thank you so much for pointing it out! We are really pleased you love Orford (a truly wonderful village) but even more delighted that you enjoyed the ambience at the C&C. Thank you, too, for your generous description of the Garden rooms. 'Quirky' is one way to describe the exteriors but another might be 'unpromising.' However, as you also point out, they are perfect nice inside and the beds are very comfortable. Thank you again for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I'm not sure how the team at the Crown & Castle manage to provide such a high level of care and thoughtfulness every time we visit but they do, perhaps it's something in the water?

Tim Sunderland and the team have the uncanny knack of knowing just what you want a few seconds before you do yourself and that makes for the perfect stay.

Add to this the wonderful cooking in the Trinity restaurant which uses as much locally sourced food as possible, the brilliant winelist and one of the prettiest villages in Engalnd and you have yourself the perfect weekend.

Room Tip: We always stay in the garden rooms, which are simple, perfectly appointed and extremel comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your latest stay and thank you, not just for this very nice review, but for being such loyal guests. I don't think the 'high level of care and thoughtfulness' is anything to do with the water (Suffolk water is hard and horrible, which is why we filter it for drinking) but very much to do with Tim's personal and professional standards. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review - it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights with our four-legged friend and thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautiful building and location, relaxed atmosphere, stylish decor, very comfy beds, gorgeous garden, superb food, fantastic staff and lovely service. The needs of both doggy and non-doggy people are well and truly accommodated. Ideal. We will definitely recommend and return!

Room Tip: Staff will advise according to your needs - we were offered a dog-friendly garden room which suited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskimokiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Short and sweet but with such a splendid array of positive adjectives – beautiful, relaxed, stylish, comfy, gorgeous, superb, fantastic and lovely – we are certainly not going to complain! Thank you so much for posting this lovely review. We really appreciate it and we hope to welcome you and Chloe back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We enjoyed a super long weekend break over Bank Holiday weekend. From the moment we arrived (after a torrid 9 hour journey, due to road closures), when we were warmly greeted & immediately offered a G&T to de stress to the time we left in wonderful sunshine on the Monday, we treated to excellent customer service, superb food & the most welcoming hospitality. Our room (room 1) offered superb view over Orford Ness & the North Sea through magnificent large windows, everything was well equipped, and the bathroom had probably the best drenching shower I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying. Nothing ever appeared too much trouble for any of the staff & the attention to detail was masterly, it is difficult to mention all the superlatives, but if you want to enjoy a comfortable stay, with excellent food, great hospitality, and where you feel genuinely welcomed we couldn't recommend The Crown & Castle high enough - Do yourselves a favour & enjoy the experience. Ruth, Tim & David, you have a wonderful business here aided by some fantastic staff - Thank you for making our stay so memorable, I hope our next journey down will be quicker & it cant come soon enough

Room Tip: Room 1 has a superb view & excellent bathroom - We thought the best room in the hotel (but obvio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed report - it's really helpful for guests wondering whether to book to read about the little bits and pieces that can make or break a stay. We are really pleased you enjoyed the service, food, shower and general hospitality. It is what we are here for but it's always a lot easier to look after nice people! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I had researched a venue which catered for dogs, and to double up as a birthday treat for my wife. The Crown & Castle came up trumps. We had a two night stay and had booked well in advance to be able to have the 'doggy' table at supper. This is such a clever use of space and location - it is separated from the main restaurant so that your dog doesn't wander or prove a trip hazard. It is also very intimate as a table for two. The food, breakfast and dinners, are superb - local ingredients sourced wherever possible. The wines are first class - I know what I like in respect of white wine and the Crown & Castle does not disappoint in its selection. The staff are very attentive and all 'dog' fans - nothing is too much trouble for them. The cabins (catering for dogs) at the back of the grounds are excellent, really well thought out and extremely comfortable. The little touches in terms of biscuits for both us and our dog were superb. The key to success here is attention to detail - Ruth (and the team) thoroughly deserve their 'top' reputation. Thank you again.

Room Tip: If you take your dog, and he/she is calm enough to take in the restaurant, then you need to book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscarcat158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Gosh, what a wonderful heading. We are so pleased that your dog and your wife (you notice the order!) both enjoyed their stay. Thank you very much for all the compliments about the food, wine, staff and garden rooms. We do try to consider every detail but will undoubtedly overlook something from time to time. Thankfully that doesn't see to have occurred during your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed just the one night and everything was first class, given a room upgrade as hotel not full midweek. Nothing was too much trouble and the food and service was excellent. Will be returning for a longer stay soon I hope. Lovely setting in a very nice friendly village. Shan't be visiting Burnham Market anymore!

Room Tip: Room number 3 has great view into the village square. Good size too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomiseoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate your very kind comments, especially that you prefer Orford to Burnham Market! So do we - much, much quieter even in the holidays. Thank you, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
5.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,514 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
761 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Castle

Address: Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Price Range: £137 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown & Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Crown & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown & Castle Hotel Orford
The Crown And Castle
Crown Castle Woodbridge
The Crown & Castle Orford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing