We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant hotel”
Review of The Crown & Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown & Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

stayed two nights in a garden room-immaculate and so peaceful!. Food good, staff friendly and efficient . Worth every penny. The situation is very attractive with the castle almost next door and the Quay a short and pretty walk away.
Try lunch at the Jolly Sailor while you are there
We would go again

Room Tip: the garden rooms are the only ones we tried . No aircon or safes but we had no need of either. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kattenschling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Best Garden rooms and found them clean and peaceful. Orford is indeed a very lovely village, with both estuary and castle in spitting distance.

You mention there is no aircon in the rooms and that is deliberate, partly because it is so rarely needed in this climate (and the rooms are cool anyway in summer), but mostly because it's almost impossible to find a quiet system. Having spent far too many nights wide awake in luxury hotels, desperately trying to find a way of turning off the noise of the aircon (the air flow is easy), it's not something we would want to introduce! And, yes, no safe in the rooms, but guests are always welcome to use the safe in our reception office. (No one steals in Orford anyway!!)

Thank you again for posting your report and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our eighth yearly visit to the Crown & Castle and once again it was a very enjoyable. On arrival it is lovely to see familiar faces such as Tim, Stefan and Sue.

All the staff old or new are very welcoming and efficient, nothing is too much trouble for them and all the staff genuinely look as if they are happy.

We stayed 8 nights again and enjoyed every day, even the weather was perfect as well!

We hope to see you next year in May.

Geoff & Elizabeth

Room Tip: We like room one, bright and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkieholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

We really do appreciate the frequency of your visits and your loyalty to the C&C – thank you very much indeed. And, thank you, too, for your appreciation of our lovely staff. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you once again to all the staff especially Tim, Jo, Stefan and young Sam for your fabulous hospitality. We love our stays with you, as over the years it's become like visiting old friends, having far too much good food and drink and sleeping well. Looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

We are really grateful for your very kind report and particular praise of Tim, Jo, Stefan and 'young Sam' (in training but full of promise!) We hope you will return soon and eat too much good food, drink too much good wine and sleep very well - not possible to overdo the latter! Thank you very much for being such nice customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our first overnight stay without our 2 year old(thanks to his wonderful granny) and we couldn't fault our visit. From the moment we parked our car the service from staff was exemplary. We had one of the garden rooms and would definitely stay there again, there is a lovely private veranda overlooking the garden with a view of the castle. The room is very quiet and we never heard any other guests at night or too early in the morning. I loved that they leave some books about orford ness and the local area in the room as well as the information folder and although we didn't avail they have a wonderful selection of dvds which I thought a lovely touch. Also I like that they keep a supply of reading specs to hand in case people have forgotten theirs( as an optometrist I know how much this would help!!) The bed and pillows are profoundly comfortable .
We had dinner in the restaurant which I had booked as well and I can safely say the service was some of the best either of us had had in any restaurant , faultless, very attentive without being in your face, that delicate balance achieved! Breakfast was as described by others, top class with again the service excelling but the black pudding and the toast and croissant selection have to be highlighted as excellent. All in all a wonderful stay, thank you, would have loved to have had longer

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you very much for the marvellous review you have given us. We are so pleased you liked the peaceful Garden rooms, and all the bits and pieces we provide to try to make our guests' stays as relaxed as possible.

Thank you, too, for the compliments about the food, especially breakfast, as well as the service. We hope you will return soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Crown and Castle a few weeks back now and I've been meaning to write a review for a while. The hotel, staff and food were all amazing - I really enjoyed my stay. It's situated in a great spot in Orford and is really perfect for a little getaway. The only reason I haven't given the rating of excellent is I think our room could have been done out a little better. It was a little bit minimalistic and could've felt a little more homely - but that's just being very picky. I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDWM1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the C&C - we really appreciate it. Thank you, too, for the compliments about hotel, staff and food - not to mention our lovely Orford village. I am sorry you found your room a little too simple for your tastes but I have to confess that I deliberately try and leave room for our guests' possessions rather than cluttering them with ours! I hope you will return and thank you again for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed one night in a garden room - modern, spacious and everything there including a pleasant little sitting out area. These rooms are a little lacking in character so for longer visits I would recommend staying in the lovely old main building where some of the rooms have sea views.
All the staff we met excelled at helpful and friendly service while remaining professional at all times. The restaurant is superb so it's worth going for a DBB package if possible. My breakfast was particularly memorable, all served to order - freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh bread and pastries, delicious Greek yoghurt with fruit compote followed by perfectly cooked poached eggs. Good coffee too. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Try the sea view/main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buenasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you very much for posting your 5-star rating – it means even more than usual as you are obviously a seasoned traveller. We really appreciate the nice comments about the staff/service and the food, especially the breakfast which is, indeed, prepared and cooked to order. No wilting buffets at the C&C! I note your comments about the Garden rooms lacking in character, and would not demur. It's quite hard to make something interesting of a 70s building and I have deliberately kept the rooms simple and clean, rather than trying to make them something they are not. But it's a completely fair point. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed just one night, and we're given an upgrade. Cannot praise the C/C enough, from the Friendly helpful staff, a credit to Ruth and her team.To the wonderful food. We were even cooked a different meal to what was on menu. Room was lovely, bright, large, tastefully, decorated, very peaceful. Then they telephoned next day to say we had left glasses in room. Nothing was to much of an effort What a team ! Our first visit, but not our last.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We are really pleased you enjoyed your first stay with us. We are very appreciate of your praise for the food, staff, room and lost property service! (You won't believe what people have left behind - a pair of specs is nothing.) Thank you, too, for pointing out that we are always happy to cook any ingredient we have in-house more simply. We hope to see you again on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
5.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,513 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,044 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Castle

Address: Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Price Range: £138 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown & Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Crown & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown & Castle Hotel Orford
The Crown And Castle
Crown Castle Woodbridge
The Crown & Castle Orford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing