We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown & Castle
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wentworth Hotel(Aldeburgh)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seckford Hall(Woodbridge)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satis House Hotel(Yoxford)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orwell Hotel(Felixstowe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
692
125
30
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
692
125
30
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomorford nessruth watsonhotel inspectorwine liststeak and kidney piefresh milkcarpacciopotted shrimpsdog treatsoysterstrinity restaurantpre dinner drinksrestaurant with roomsbiscuitsmarmaladedog owners
Filter
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My self and three friends came across The Crown & Castle hotel for lunch. We sat outside and were impressed by the surroundings and the staff that served us. The food we had was excellent. We then asked for a tour of the hotel with a view to coming back at some stage to stay.
The female member of staff who showed us a room inside the hotel and one of the garden rooms was so knowledgeable; she was polite courteous and enthusiastic. Nothing was to much trouble.
We then found out that Ruth Watson, previously from the Hotel inspector on channel 4 was a co owner.....it all made sense.
A first class establishment with first class staff. I would highly recommend a visit, and i'm sure we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Olive62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you so much for coming to have lunch and for your very nice comments about your 'tour guide'! We know a lot of people who start off with a casual visit to Orford, end up eating here and quite often come back to stay. It's very satisfactory! Anyway, I do hope you will return for a longer visit and look forward to that time. Thank you again for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The room food and service were all excellent. We booked the suite it had a lounge with very comfortable armchairs large modern bathroom separate wc and bedroom with a balcony. It had a dressing table bliss! Somewhere to do my hair and makeup a rare thing in hotels these days. The bed was just so comfy we slept really well.
The food was so good breakfast was delicious good variety and all cooked to order, no congealed buffet here. Dinner was excellent great choice good flavours and all served by brilliant staff.

You may of guessed we loved the crown and castle and hope to return soon. Oh and the village and surrounding areas are beautiful too.

Room Tip: The suite is great spacious and comfortable, would recommend worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaK353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

You are very kind to post such a glowing review. Thank you very much. We do agree the suite is pretty nice but we are so pleased you were particularly delighted with the comfortable bed and armchairs, and the modern bathroom. Thank you, too, for such nice comments about the food, especially breakfast. We hope you will come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here in June for 2 nights. We chose the hotel for its coastal location, the food looked good and because it took dogs.
In the end we led the dogs behind but they would have been very welcome and catered for. The garden rooms are excellent with small verandas / patios with lawn in which are discreetly placed posts to tie up your dog.
The rooms are very comfortable, the biscuits lovely, the toiletries great - I loved the soap. The garden room we had had a table and 2 comfortable chairs inside and outside.
We had dinner both evenings... the food is lovely ... interesting locally sourced fish, meat and veg. The wine list varied and with some great reasonably priced different wines.
The breakfast is also super .. Don't miss it.

So we liked it :-) ... A lot.

I hope we return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjnaylor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We very much like the reasons you chose to stay at the C&C, namely our coastal location, good food and the fact we welcome dogs. Hopefully, there will be a next time and you will bring the latter with you. We are so pleased you found everything to your liking, from a comfortable room, dinner, 'super' breakfast and the Arran grapefruit soap (it's hugely - and rightly- popular). Thank you very much indeed for the marvellous review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A professionally run hotel and restaurant. Clearly a lot of thought has been put into the smallest detail, this combined with the visible and hands on management makes for an enjoyable experience. Lovely bedroom (no. 1) with a great view of the river and sea beyond. A very pleasant dinner is served in their restaurant and a good breakfast with high quality local ingredients makes for a memorable stay. The in room information about the local area was very useful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind report - particularly welcome as you are such an experienced traveller. We are very pleased you enjoyed your room, the food and, of course, the village itself. Orford is a very special place and it is always lovely when people recognise its unique ambience. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Where to start? It almost goes without saying that the food is outstanding. The only problem was seeing the agony on my husband's face as he tried to decide between three equally tempting main courses! I'm a non- meat eater and the fish was so good that I ended up eating it twice a day - try the undyed smoked haddock. I'm sure that real veggies would be offered far better fare than usual. As they say, you only have to ask.
The rooms are very comfortable and pleasingly plain. Can't be doing with ruffles myself.
Probably the best feature is the lovely staff; all friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
I'm disabled (ambulant - probably not best suited to a wheelchair user, but always check) and met with courteous assistance which was in no way officious - fellow wobblies will know what I mean!
So will certainly come back again - highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilpard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, not least the eye-catching title! We are delighted that you enjoyed the food (especially the fish - it is something we actively promote, being on the coast), rooms and service. It was a delight to look after you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews