We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm haven on a rainy day”
Review of Riverside Tearoom

Riverside Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Opening Times April to October 7 days a week 9.30am to 5.00pm Please visit our website
Restaurant details
Description: Opening Times April to October 7 days a week 9.30am to 5.00pm Please visit our website
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A warm haven on a rainy day”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We returned from a 3 hour visit to Orford Ness, drenched in sea spray, and rushed to this small cafe on the quay side. A friendly welcome from the staff started things of well. We had tea and coffee - both acceptable. The carrot cake was delicious (definitely home made) and the Bakewell tart was also enjoyable. We watched the boats coming and going from the warmth of the cafe, and enjoyed seeing the newly arrived sand martins flying above the water.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilofBeestom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    65
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, Suffolk
Level Contributor
123 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely warm welcome...”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Gorgeous winter morning walk with some family members and the most genuine, warm welcome from all the lasses here. Good, prompt service although we only had hot drinks on the decking. Such a pleasure! Thanks to all of you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee, cakes, bacon sarnies”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We keep coming back here as my wife (a home-made cake Guru) says they are excellent. I went for a bacon sarnie as I don't have a sweet tooth, I wasn't disappointed either. Excellent coffee, I had an extra shot as I like my coffee strong, wow, awesome. Didn't sit outside this time as there was a chill in the air but Orfordness and the river looked gorgeous in the sunshine. Will be back on the bike when it warms up a bit. There's a fresh fish hut next door which sells lovely fresh fish so call in your way home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BikerDon_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet, quaint and deeply lovely”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

You want to be at this tearoom on a typical Suffolk beachside day, when it's blowing a bit outside and you want a window of sanctuary that still affords you a view out over the sand flats and between the fishing boats to the sea. Or a sunny day when you want a sheltered deck and a spot in the sun. Either way, you're superbly catered for by this understated but excellent tearoom.
We visited with children, and nothing was too much trouble - always a great sign of a well run establishment. The food is simple but well prepared and delicious - we had the lobster sandwich special and it was fresh, well seasoned and very tasty.
Inside and out it's clean as a whistle, nicely furnished and with local art on the walls. For an inexpensive pit stop before or after a walk on the beach or a visit to Orford castle, you can't beat this little place. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apple-Island-Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We saw the signs for the Riverside Tearoom and folllowed the road to the quayside. What a wonderful spot for a restaurant. The view is beautiful and the food delicious. My husband had a bacon sandwich which was very generously filled as was my crayfish sandwich ( see photo!) It was sunny but a bit too windy to sit outside and I can imagine in the summer it would be lovely. The staff are very friendly and the cakes looked very tempting. Great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wallace447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Riverside Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing