We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good place for at least a Short Stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Saens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison du Dr Vassaux
Ranked #2 of 4 Saint Saens B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have now stayed twice at Maison du Dr Vassaux, both times being one night stopovers when journeying between the UK and the south of France. The Maison is very comfortable with large, clean and very pleasant rooms - I stayed in the top room.The breakfast is excellent. Although St Saens is small, it is a very pleasant place. The host, M.Blondel, is happy to advise on where to go to visit and to eat and gives good advice! He is knowledgeable about the the history of the house and it's namesake original owner. An interesting conversation about Dr Vassaux and the Impressionist painters can be had readily over a glass of local cider.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandGSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blonblon, Propriétaire at Maison du Dr Vassaux, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Great!! one fantastic review more!!-thanks a lot- friendly hosts who speak more about the owner as about B&b- means french way of life can be shared- the best new for me- always happy to discover other civilisations.just an information: you can now book safely directly from trip advisor -just join our website!!!Big job during winter. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We chose this gite because of its location as a stop over to Villers Bretonneux & Champagne and were not disappointed.

The room was large, clean and comfortable (great armchairs) but what makes this establishment is the host - Jean Michel, he is so hospitable, charming and helpful.

Jean Michel gave us a tour of his 3 bedroom apartment available for rental which appeared to be extremely comfortable and well appointed - great for families. He continues with renovation of this 17th century building and next will install a modern kitchen which will only improve the food offerings.

Jean Michel serves a good breakfast providing excellent conservation and tips.

Well located and short walk into town for dinner.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallaby_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

For the second year running we stopped here on our journey to and from the Dordogne. We received a very warm welcome from our genial french host Jean Marie. Myself, husband and two children 6 & 10 were treated to a fabulous evening meal and he catered very well for the children but is unaccustomed to children not eating very much so portions were too big for my two! However we enjoyed a lovely home cooked 3 course meal with local cider all for a very reasonable price. Our room was gorgeous and very clean with modern bathroom and a perfectly adequate bedroom for the children which was right next door. Breakfast was lovely and fresh. We would use this place again and Jean Marie's english is amazing and is very patient listening to basic school french! Fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent one night in the small B&B, 2 hours drive from Calais. Our room was very adequate, we were given a warm welcome, an excellent breakfast, and some good tips on visiting this lovely small town and finding something to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to our holiday house in the Charente. Just two hours from Calais so perfect for a break.
Delightful rooms, ( ask for soap) Jean Marie a very friendly host and gave us an excellent dinner. The breakfasts with freshly squeezed orange juice,croissants etc were most welcome!
We returned for another night on our return journey, dinner again, very nicely presented and tasty, and would be happy to return again.
A lovely small town in a valley, quite hidden from the major roads.

Room Tip: Room in the roof very spacious, but all nicely decorated and well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A warm welcome from Jean-Marie, the proprietor, set the scene for a pleasant stay. The building itself dates back to the French Revolution and has lots of character. My room, with a view of the garden was simple, reasonably spacious and with basic facilities (take your own bathroom consumables) but very clean and perfectly adequate for a short stay. It does have free Wi-Fi which is a bonus. A lovely continental breakfast was provided and served by Jean-Marie with companionable conversation (his English is very good) to go with it. The B&B is well sited within easy walking distance of the town and free parking is available on the quiet one-way street on which the B&B is sited. At 55 Euros which includes breakfast this little gem represents exceptional value

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBoy_Senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here on our way back from the Vendee for one night. Something of a quirky hotel and got a good nights sleep. The owner was really friendly and made an effort to spend time with us and chat. Nice breakfast the next morning.

The hotel is located close to the centre of Saint Saens and there are plenty of place to eat. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maison du Dr Vassaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Dr Vassaux

Address: 148 rue du Docteur Vassaux, 76680 Saint Saens, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Saint Saens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Saens
Price Range: £49 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th century restored house- in a typical village of Normandy- Two bedrooms - first with a bed- second with two wide bed- and third one with two 80 cm beds (especially for children)-each with private wc and shower-on a 1800 m2 garden- near 18 holes golf- horse riding center-near the forest d'Eawy-along a first category river- 3Okms from Roeun and Dieppe- direct on exit of A28 and A29-on the way of Britanny, Vallée de la Loire, from England, Belgium Germany or Netherlands. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing