We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6ft paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Salinas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Two Brothers Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“6ft paradise”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Robert , the owner makes you feel comfortable and takes you in like your family. Roberts open door policy lets you ask questions and tips about the area and the surf breaks. Robert won't take advantage of people and goes out of his way with surfing and lodging. The lodging is amazing plus two brothers has two options. One ocean front house apartments,with security, or hotel luxury on top of the mountain. I will be back the waves blow costa rica away, with power and offshore winds. I recommend boat trip, boat trip , boat trip. The fishing when its on is amazing. two thumbs up for two brothers surf reort.See ya soon robert and family.

Room Tip: amazing sunsets on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekid42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    8
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
45
31
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Myself, my brother and two very good friends of mine recently went on a surf trip to Popoyo, Nicaragua. Due mainly to our conflicting work schedules, we choose Two Brothers because of its flexability of the client's desired dates, whereas most of the other surf packages only offered a strictly sat-sun time schedule. The website also looked very inviting.
On our arrival we quickly learned that our decision was spot-on. The setting is immaculate! Perched on top of one of the highest hills in the area provides a 360 degree view which includes low lying pastures with grazing cattle, mountain ranges with deep valleys and the coastline (which is benifical for surfers, one can gauge what kind of surf to prepare for that day from the clear view of incoming swells and wind conditions).
The elevated position also provides good security as well as protection from the bugs in the low lying areas which can become irritating during certain times of the year.
The accomodation we shared was fully comfortable and fully equipped, kitchen, A/C, wireless internet, etc. There is also a very large pool and lounging area with hammocks, etc. Ideal for sipping beers while watching a psychedelic sunest after a full day of surf.....just PERFECT!
Robert Gregory is the owner and one could no ask for a better person to play that role. He constantly made sure we were all happy, comfortable and having a good time during our entire trip. He welcomed us into his home (which is breath-taking) like we were part of the family. Being a surfer and traveller for most of his life combined with his experience in Nicaragua, he proved to be a great guide as to what surf breaks to check and when according to tide, swell and conditions. He also shared many great stories from his past life experiences which were great to hear. He has a guy from New Jersey called Luke who helps out with everything and also proved to be a great guide and surfer, whose input was always valuable. Luke quickly became part of our crew and was always good to have along for the ride. He never complained, is very easy going and great company.
We choose the all-inclusive package and never regretted it for one second. Having the best chef in Popyo cooking the meals which were always restaurant quality, and when we went out for the whole day coolers were packed with food, water, cold drinks and fruit.
There are 2 equipped vehicles that got us wherever we wanted to go as well as a boat to get to many of the out of reach surf breaks.
The surf was SICK!! we scored reef breaks and beach breaks with clean perfect conditions. We all got some of the best waves and barrels of our lives! The breaks by road are all 15mins from the lodge, and the breaks by boat are also 15mins boat ride (the boat is located 7mins drive from the lodge). we also got in a few hours of good fishing on the way back from one of the surf breaks and caught some nice fish, which the chef prepared a mouth-watering dinner.
Things to do when not surfing include, table tennis (which proved to be intense and entertaining among the 4 of us), there are also weights and benches if one wishes, and numerous surfboards and bikes which can be rented.
It was definately a trip that will always be remembered and we have all sworn to return, hopefully sooner than later. And Two Brothers is the place we will be staying for sure!
So if you're planning a trip to Nicaragua, Two Brothers is without doubt the place you want to be!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Best view around with an awesome beach break right down the hill. You have to remember your in Nicaragua so it isn't going to be 5 star American standards but this place is super nice. The owners are great,super helpful, and knowledgable about the area and the workers are extremely nice. Don't be shy to ask questions about the area, it saves you a lot of time just having one conversation. I wouldn't venture down to the beach hacienda unless you're dedicated to nothing but surfing. If you are with family or spouse, stay on the hill. The view is incredible and can see all the local spots right from the pool. Really quiet and relaxing. Make sure you do some boat tours, go fishing, surf some of the best waves in Central America, and eat lots of local mangos!

Room Tip: Talk to Robert about who you are coming with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxsurf317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I highly recommend Two Brothers Surf Resort to anyone thinking of visiting Nicaragua. We could not have picked a better place to stay in Popoyo. From its vantage point atop the hill overlooking the coastline, Two brothers offers amazing views from comfortable surroundings, whether its checking the surf at dawn or relaxing in the pool after a great session at sunset.
The local knowledge of the many spots and the hospitality offered by the owner, Rob, and surf guide, Luke, makes you feel safe and relaxed, either travelling on the dusty roads to the local beachbreaks or riding out on the panga to the more secluded offshore locations.
And the food was amazing! Simply the best I've ever had on a surf trip! By far!
Many thanks again to Rob, Luke & Henry for making this such a memorable trip and you can be sure we will be back next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathancostelloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I strongly recommend Two Brothers Surf Lodge if travelling to Nicaragua to surf. It's situated in Popoyo on top of a provately owned hill that over looks some of the best breaks in Nicaragua, Beachy, Popoyo & Popoyo Outer Reef so you can get a great indication of the swell and wind daily. It's also minutes drive away from some of the other beach breaks as well as minutes away from the habour where Two Brothers boat is located. It's about the mid point between all the known breaks so very convenient to get to them in short time.
Apart from the conveneinece, the resort is just absolutely perfect. Extremely comfortable, great food and the hospitality of the owners are very welcoming. You don't feel like you're in a hotel, you feel as though they have welcomed you into thier home. Not to mention that they are extremely knowledgeable of the country and all breaks etc. After seeing all the resorts and from my experience, I would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriso182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My brother and my two sons and I just completed a trip to Nicaragua. This place is a real jem. Robert and his staff do a great job of making you feel welcome and are full of advice that make your stay more comfortable. The views are breathtaking. He even let us use his house phone to contact the states and the balcony at the top of his home for sunset vista pictures.

Room Tip: all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabro50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2011

It started with 5 guys wanting to go on a surf trip where none of us had been before. We chose Nicaragua and researched camps and settled on Two Brothers all-inclusive package. It was a bit pricey but you definetly get what you pay for. Also, it was the absolute safest place to stay, and you just can't put a price on that. Transportation was smooth and easy. Our lodging was on the hill and provided a great night breeze, protection against bugs, and the most spectacular views of Popoyo's pacific coastline. Accomodations were top notch. The pool has spectacular sunsets! Our host, Robert, is the kind of man that rolls up his sleeves and gets the job done! He was very resilient with our needs and was on time for every meal, boat trip, and shuttle to the beaches. He has lived an amazing life, surfed all over the world, and when asked what his favorite wave he's ever surfed, he replied "the next wave!" Luke was our tour guide and quickly became like a 6th member of our group. He was there most every moment for us and is loaded with local insight. We surfed 4 different breaks and playgrounds quickly became my favorite spot. We had the option to surf more breaks but the wind didn't quite cooperate enough for those breaks. Two Brothers also has a rental board room that is impressive. For 15 dollars a day you can save the cost and hassle of bringing your own boards. There are amazing photo opportunities everywhere. The locals are friendly, although I would recommend brushing up on your Spanish because not many of them speak english. I highly recommend Two Brothers, they are second to none in Nicaragua!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigity-Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Salinas
9.6 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
10.9 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Soma Surf Resort
Soma Surf Resort
#1 of 12 in Popoyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Nica Vida Surf Lodge
Nica Vida Surf Lodge
#2 of 6 in Las Salinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brothers Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brothers Surf Resort

Property: Two Brothers Surf Resort
Address: Popoyo, Las Salinas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Las Salinas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Las Salinas
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
2 Brothers Surf Resort
Two Brothers Surf Hotel Las Salinas
Two Brothers Surf Resort Nicaragua/Las Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing