We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place run by the nicest people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Brothers Surf Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Salinas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Two Brothers Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“The best place run by the nicest people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My family and I are seasoned lifelong travelers and adventurers. We fell in love with Nicaragua. Though it's a very poor country, we discovered that it has the nicest and happiest people in the world.
Each place we visited had its own special adventure and we quickly learned to enjoy getting lost.
Of all of our experiences, none was better than our time at Two Brothers Surf Resort, in the magnificence of the Pacific Ocean and the beach at Popoyo. We are already planning our next trip there.
Two Brothers Surf Lodge sits at the top of a big hill overlooking endless fields of farmland on one side and the ocean on the other. It's owned and run by the Gregorys, an expat American family that spends a large part of each year living on the premises. Each house is a beautiful work of architecture, built by hand by the local craftsmen. Ours, Familia, was the biggest and was perfect for our family of five. It was the house the Gregorys lived in while they finished construction on the main house. We could feel the love put into building this place. Everything had a story.
Traveling around, some of the places we went to required roughing it just a little. Nicaragua is still very much a developing nation. Arriving at Two Brothers resort was a respite from that. It was like staying with friends who share their beautiful home with you, take care of you and guide you around. Robert, Susan, Marsh and Augie Gregory treated us like we were their friends. They are one of the nicest and most interesting families we have ever met. Every day, each one of them stopped by to check in on us and shared stories and information about the area. They have a strong vested interest in the community and care about everyone in it.
Our main activity each day was surfing. The waves were always perfect, with a complete range of spots for different levels of ability. Marsh, who gave lessons to our children, routinely surfs 30 foot waves on the outer reef. The beach was always empty, save for one or two surfers; the water was clear and warm. Overall, it was one of the most beautiful spots on earth.
If there is a complaint to be made, it's that outside of Two Brothers, there are few amenities in the area. That said, it's also part of the charm. Just the right balance is struck between having an unspoiled, undeveloped area and having enough services to make the stay manageable. There are some restaurants but we only liked one of them. We became friends with the waitress. LIkewise, there was only one small shop to buy food and sundries. We happened to go there on a day when they were having a party, People were dancing and taking turns beating a pinata. They offered us some of the candy. It was a real and unfiltered experience. This is why we went to Nicaragua in the first place.
Compared to the other places in the area, Two Brothers is in a class by itself. It's a place where the owners take tremendous pride and put tremendous love into what they do. Living there is the gift Robert and Susan give to their sons, Marsh and Augie. While we were there, we were part of it too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kourosh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    8
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
44
30
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

What a great place to stay! The owner is great and always go above and beyond to make everyone's stay great. The staff is very friendly and are would recomendend it to everyone. I think two brothers resort is BY FAR the best place to stay in Nicaragua!!
Thanks
Viktoriya

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktoriya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our stay at Two Brothers Surf Resort exceeded our expectations. The resort compound on top of Bean Hill was a great base for our daily excursions. The ocean view from the pool deck is spectacular. It was also a great tool because 6 different surf breaks were visible from that location which helped plan surfing activities. A pleasant surprise was the stunning valley view from the same location. We are not sure which view we liked most; both were inspiring at all times of the day.

The Villa was very comfortable with air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchenette. Morning coffees on the patio were enhanced with sounds and appearances of Turquiose-browed Motmots, Squirrel Cuckoos, Banded Wrens, Stripe-headed Sparrows, White-throated Magpie Jays, Hoffman's Woodpeckers, Black-headed Trogons, and Orange-fronted Parakeets. Howler monkeys were also heard and seen in the riverine forest below.

The surfing was fantastic! Robert always provided great advice on where to surf depending on the tide, swell and wind conditions. We spent most of our time surfing with Auggie, the Gregory's youngest son, who did an outstanding job guiding us at all the different surf breaks. We felt safe and confident because of his knowledge and expertise.

Our vacation at Two Brothers was a great experience. The Gregory's are an extraordinary family. They are also gracious hosts willing to share their Nicaragua lifestyle and expertise with their quests. We definetly plan on returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonMB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

It's been about three weeks since I got back from Two Brothers Surf Resort and I still can't be in a bad mood. I have been on multiple surf trips, several to Costa Rica, and I have now found my favorite camp. As a Florida surfer, Nicaragua is probably the safest/cheapest gurantee for great surf. However, it's not the kind of place you want to be on your own in- not because I felt unsafe, but because it requires substantial local knowledge for surfing and staying. Me and my buddy did the all-inclusive surf package, and it made the truly perfect surf trip. All we had to worry about was applying enough sunscreen and progressing our surfing, and we did a lot of both! EVERYTHING else was taken care of for us. The food was substantial and amazing every meal. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean, and homey. The secluded property is bar-none for several reasons: it's elevation provides protection from mosquitos, spectacular views, and the best lookout spot for the many great waves in the area. Robert, who owns/runs the resort, had everything built by hand with hand-crafted care and originaltiy, and it is a beautiful spot anyone would enjoy. Most importantly, however, was quality of people running the resort. Robert, his wife Susan, and sons Marsh and Auggie each have a vital role in the Two Brothers experience. Moreover, they are such a welcoming, genuine, and fun family to stay with. Robert, Marsh, and Auggie all charge and are as stoked on getting you great waves as you will be when you see the swell from the hill the first time you arrive (also challenge Auggie to ping pong if you think you've got the skills). Susan is so sweet and caring, and gave me valuable help when I was worried about a minor cut. Andrey is a hilarious and great guy who will likely surf-guide you at some point. He took photos for my friend and I and gave us great advice on our surfing. Henry and Jerry are very friendly and you can watch them make authentic dishes that are muy rico. All this is to say that Two Brothers would be an amazing place that feels very personalized, even if the waves sucked.
Oh, and it doesn't suck. It was at least overhead ALL seven days that we surfed, and the winds never turned onshore! Huge long-period swells just kept coming, and we got to surf reef breaks, point breaks, and beachies with almost identical, perfect swell every day. Two Brothers Surf Resort is the only camp that will take the boat out every day it is necessary, not just 2 of 7 days with an "all inclusive package" like others. We scored a variety of Nicaragua's best waves, surfing a couple sessions a day at the best spots breaking. Several of the waves are LONG waves, and I have never been as surfed out as when I left. So thanks Two Brothers family for an outstanding week I will never forget!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I have been traveling for surf in central america for the last 20 years. My new favorite place in all of central america is Two Brother Surf Camp. If you want excellent accomodations, an amazing local surf guide, and boat access to the best breaks in Nicaragua, Robert is your man!

Popoyo area has some of the best surf with offshore conditions year-round. Nobody knows these breaks better than Robert and his two sons. They are so knowledgable and they are real people. They won't take you where its easiest for them or where they spend less gas on the boat. They are just as stoked to surf as the weekend warrior and they will always go where the waves and conditions are the best.

Then you get back from a full day's surf and you stay in the nicest custom built homes on a gorgeous cliff overlooking the entire pacific ocean and the mountains to the east.

It's really the ultimate surf/chill destination.

Robert and his kids are full on hellmen! They surf amazing and they thin out the crowds with their local knowledge.

If you want an amazing surf trip and a local's welcome, go see Robert.

Two Brother Surf Resort is where it's at!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uri r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was the writer’s first surf resort booking and can't say enough: Picked a winner! Two Brothers Surf Resort provided everything possible for the perfect surf trek. Not having traveled Nicaragua in prior travels, Two Brothers was the perfect introduction to the consistent conditions, weather, environs, and culture of the Las Salinas region in Nicaragua.

Robert Gregory, the proprietor, even met me at the Costa Rica border, loaded my gear, and provided an engaging preview of what my visit would include during the ride to the Resort. Our trip back even gave me a behind-the-scenes of how effectively their operation works and deals with some of the logistical challenges that Yanks like myself rarely encounter (compared with the day-to-day conveniences this traveler takes for granted here in the US). Robert's well-honed experience dealt with any snafu's along the way gracefully!

The Resort on the hill is a stunning architectural masterpiece; Robert and Susan's travels bring home a stunning array of ideas and ingredients that dazzle the eye. Having traveled to Barcelona personally, this surfer was swept away by the Gaudi-inspired design right down to the fixed and tiled pool umbrella. Like Gaudi's work, the Resort is constructed to blend with, rather than impose on, the surrounding environ. Organic and relative, the Build is a gem!

The Gregory’s, Robert, Susan, Marsh, and Auggie, were the consummate hosts in every way. Their staff, Chef Henry and guide Andrey, were stellar with their services. Henry’s 3-per-day meals were prepared from scratch with as much local ingredients available. The fresh caught mackerel reeled in from the first boat trip provided dinner that evening. The portions were plentiful to keep the all-day surf well-fueled. All meals were enjoyed in a family-like atmosphere with Robert providing up-to-the-minute weather and surf observations, making the call for the choicest surf spots to enjoy with the current conditions. Pico the Parrot, his sidekick, added to the entertainment factor. Awk!

Andrey, my personal guide, was along for the ride the whole time. Born and raised surfing nearby Costa Rica, Andrey’s local knowledge and experience with the locale and conditions assured a quality surf session. He’s a lively, animated companion and great fun to have on board. Being a solo traveler, it was reassuring to have Andrey close by in the water for safety’s sake as well. He provided all the driving transportation to the accessible breaks, sights, and much-needed after-session soaks in the nearby thermal springs.

Marsh and Auggie were always fun have around, they were like kid brothers you want to enjoy the waves with. Auggie even skippered the Endless Summer, the surf boat, on our first offshore trip. He set up the tackle, three lines, and trolled through spots that yielded an evening-dinner mackerel plus three good-fighting yellowtail.

This rider actually did win a one-time ping pong match with Auggie. Better luck next time, Champ!

Rest assured, this Dude will return for another Two Brothers Surf Resort experience soon enough. He has to catch all those waves missed that got by on the first visit. The Gregory’s and awesome staff provide the perfect setting.

If this review was rather lengthy, please excuse. The writer couldn’t do the review justice without providing all the amazing details that describe this can’t-miss experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiestaKeyLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed with Robert and his family just a month ago. Waves were epic! Every day Robert knew just where to put us to catch the best of the swell. As the winds/tides/swell direction changed over my 10 day stay, so did our surf locations. He's got every spot dialed and you won't be disappointed. Some of the guys on the trip thought they knew better...trust me when I say trust Robert! The lodgings were so cute and cozy, very eclectic and colorful. The main house is nothing short of a masterpiece with custom touches throughout. You feel amazingly welcome. The food: where do I begin?!? The day I arrived they slung over 200lbs of fresh fish in one afternoon. I'm literally STILL talking about the fish tacos and banana pancakes! You never know what's in store, but every meal was incredible. Henry and Jerry were the best! (the chefs) Loved the pool, the views and just relaxing in the hammock with a book. I was the ONLY girl on the trip until the last two days. Even though I surf, it's a safe bet if your GF or wife doesn't she'll still really enjoy herself. It's safe. Clean. Worth every penny. I met some amazing new friends from Trinidad, NJ, CA and south Africa. Auggie and Marsh were a blast to surf with, my last session we had head high dairy queens all to ourselves! What an awesome left! Susan is so sweet. I travel a lot and I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bsurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Salinas
9.5 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
10.9 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soma Surf Resort
Soma Surf Resort
#1 of 11 in Popoyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brothers Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brothers Surf Resort

Property: Two Brothers Surf Resort
Address: Popoyo, Las Salinas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Las Salinas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Las Salinas
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
2 Brothers Surf Resort
Two Brothers Surf Hotel Las Salinas
Two Brothers Surf Resort Nicaragua/Las Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing