We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We cannot wait to return to Two Brothers Surf Resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Brothers Surf Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Salinas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Two Brothers Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
“We cannot wait to return to Two Brothers Surf Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

We absolutely LOVED our time at TWO BROTHERS SURF RESORT. In fact, I wept as the Gregor family waved us so long after our stay at their family resort. Luckily, we knew that this was the first of many more happy returns! They made us feel so welcomed & apart of their family.
Even though I'm not a surfer, I felt like I had plenty to enjoy; the beautiful sites at TWO BROTHERS pool, beaches, hot springs, local markets & restaurants. Susan was a wonderful host & guide; she even brought me to the local grocer & bakery which was in a local’s home while the boys were all surfing.

My boyfriend surfed twice a day/everyday with TWO BROTHERS & Robert – He was in heaven!

We loved our villa; it was clean, comfortable, romantic & had incredible views! It was exactly what we wanted! I look foward to next time!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    8
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
44
30
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

All I can say is wow! We were a bit skeptical traveling to Nicaragua, However when we arrived it was a totally unexpected experience. We arrived at night so we couldn't really get a grasp of where we were. When we awoke for dawn surf check we were amazed that you can check nearly the whole coast right from your front door. This trip had everything we were looking for! Secluded Beaches, Great Surf, Amazing food, & Comfortable Headquarters. We even managed to find the local disco where the local people accepted us with open arms and open bottles. I was nervous as I needed internet to run my business while away. A bit slow (Hey its Nicaragua), but I cannot get over how I sat on a bench with the most amazing views, talking to clients over skype fulfilling their orders. From Surfing to Fishing to Horseback riding we did it all! Thank you to Robert & Family! We will be back Soon!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elite_flyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

It seems great at first glance. They have a wonderful website which displays the resorts amazing views and awesome accommodations. The resort is beautiful. It is located atop the highest hill in the village with amazing views of the ocean and countryside. But this facade of a tropical paradise quickly disappears once you spend some time on the grounds with (or even near) the owner. The owner can be very arrogant, rude, and abrasive. He does not hesitate to yell at guests (and swear). Even worse was watching him treat his family with the same disdain. The owner has earned a reputation in town as a bully. After speaking with locals and expats I felt uncomfortable staying there. Telling people I was staying at Two Brothers was often followed with the same awkward, "Ohhhh..." This resort could be a wonderful place but it is sadly tarnished by the way the owner treats people. If you want to surf the Popoyo area stay at Toro. The amenities are nice, the vibe is super friendly, and the food is great. Plus, Toro is located much closer to the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank EscapingTheOrdinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

In reading the post/review by Joey James, I was kind of amazed at his critical view. The price and the value of Two Brothers is a great bargin. The view is fantastic. 180 degrees of the Pacific Ocean and the other 180 degrees is a scenic vista of Nicaragua. As an older surfer, Two Brothers is my kind of place. Joey James may be a younger surfer/traveler and may not understand how to operate in a developing country. The owners of Two Brothers were very supportive, friendly and went beyond the expected to assist and guide us around. Robert's boat trips to a couple of uncrowded spots were wonderful and he proved to be right on as to his analysis of the waves, tides and the uniqueness of the areas waves. Susan is a true gift and her kindness really added to our total trip. she told us where to shop and get the best deals as well as guiding part of the crew to other regions of Nicaragua. The boys (the Two Brothers) were very helpful in telling us about the waves as well as helping us a lot at the casitas.

The Casitas are are classic and comfortable and we had several meals at the house as well as several local haunts. Yolanda's, El Toro and Red Frog are classics. Our stay was top notch and we are going back in 2010.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhNOMrBillCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

Two Brothers Surf Resort is a beautiful resort atop a large hill about a mile from the beach. Thats about all there is to say good about it. It doesn't belong in Nicaragua. It basically dominates the entire village. The owner is unreasonable and strict on his rules. NEVER leave the AC on or you will be yelled at. Lights out around 9pm no questions! So if you need anything from them don't bother(Unless you want to be lectured for waking them up). Surf is good, always offshore, but was more crowded than expected. We had to leave a few days early which really irritated them. They wouldn't work anything out with us and said we couldn't leave until we transferred the rest of the money. They claimed that they were booked and we were wasting space. Only one other room was occupied the entire week we were there. Overall it was a bad experience due to lack of quality customer service. Recommend that you stay somewhere closer to the beach. Much cheaper and better set up for backpackers and easy travelers.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JoeyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Salinas
9.5 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
10.9 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soma Surf Resort
Soma Surf Resort
#1 of 11 in Popoyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brothers Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brothers Surf Resort

Property: Two Brothers Surf Resort
Address: Popoyo, Las Salinas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Las Salinas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Las Salinas
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
2 Brothers Surf Resort
Two Brothers Surf Hotel Las Salinas
Two Brothers Surf Resort Nicaragua/Las Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing