We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generous, comfortable self-catering accommodation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton Self Catering Cottages Isle of Arran

Hamilton Self Catering Cottages Isle of Arran
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shiskine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton Self Catering Cottages Isle of Arran
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Generous, comfortable self-catering accommodation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Our cottage was spacious and beautifully fitted out.
Everything was meticulously clean and thoughtfully provided.
The bed was very comfortable.
I highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have just returned from our stay at Shurig cottage. The cottage was lovely - very well decorated and furnished. We chose to stay here as my mum was with us and it was great to have a second toilet/shower room. We had our dog with us and it is wonderful that such a lovely cottage allows dogs. The location was very pretty and peaceful. Blackwaterfoot beach was nearby and was great. We went round the whole island - scenery was beautiful and we were lucky enough to see some dolphins on our last day. We were extremely lucky with the weather which made a big difference to our stay here. The laundry room was a great facility although we didn't use it. We used the games room a couple of times - would have used it more if the weather hadn't been as good. As this was our first stay in Arran we had said we would look to see if there was somewhere else, perhaps in a busier location, we would rather stay if we were to return, but Arran is easy to get around and I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaygirl21_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We've rented many self-catering properties in the UK and in Europe, some of them really quite expensive, and feel that these cottages are the best we have seen in both quality and value. We stayed in Shurig last week, and in Rosa cottage three years ago. We found both cottages excellent - they were cosy, spotless, tastefully decorated, and what really stood them apart from the others was that they were so well-equipped. Attention to detail was evident. The beds are comfy. The situation of the cottages is also very pleasant on the edge of the village. We found the wi-fi excellent and the new TV set- up was great for Wimbledon - whilst popping in and out for the BBQ.

There is something anyway about Arran which makes for relaxing holidays - called Scotland in miniature there is so much to do and see on the island. Arran has great walking of different types, seaside and beach activities, great walks, loads of golf courses, (the nearest course 2 miles away is I believe the only 12 hole golf course in the world) Brodick castle and other gems like Lochranza and Lagg.

We only used it once, but there is now a games room with such as pool, table tennis, games and table-football which is great for wet weather and for kids.

It was a delight to sit and have coffee from the patio and watch so many birds like siskins and tree-creepers in the lovely gardens. We had a great week - very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

The cottage was outstanding. Beautifully furnished and decorated and spotlessly clean. Had absolutely everything that you would need. Laundry room at hand also which was great and all the little extras that jim and kate supplied (garden games for kids). The games room was fantastic and kids loved it. View beautiful, looking out on to green fields . Location was central for seeing the island. Close to blackwaterfoot beach which is fantastic. Sandy and very clean. Machrie only a few miles away and had beautiful beach and views. Arran is a fantasic and beautiful place and great for the kids. Lots of walks and great beaches. Will go back again and stay in hamilton cottages as was of a very high standard.

Room Tip: All cottages are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddhism92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at Rosa cottage for one week in September 2010, the weather was a bit cold and damp, but it was wonderful to come back to this beautiful tasteful and warm cottage, we are seriously considering a return visit as we find it hard locating suitable clean and modern accommodation.
Rosa Cottage is the smaller but still very spacious cottage of three currently available from Hamilton Cottages with a forth yet to be completed, the owners Kate and Jim Mackintosh have worked hard to produce holiday accommodation that is modern and tastefully decorated, Rosa cottage has an open plan layout downstairs comprising of a small kitchen and a sitting dining area, there is also a toilet and shower room, the cottage is fully equipped with satellite TV, DVD player and CD radio, there is also Wi-Fi internet access if required. The upper floor has the main bathroom and sleeps up to four people, it has two bedrooms a double with a very comfortable king size bed and a twin bedded room; there is also a pull out sofa bed in the living area which would be very useful for any disabled person with there being the downstairs toilet and shower room.
All rooms have the same view across the lovely garden area and open fields towards the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry11176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

we stayed in the Shurig cottage and it was a lovely child friendly place to stay. The self catering cottages are attached to the owners home and they're nice people. The location is a great base for days out as you are 1.5 miles to the beach at Blackwaterfoot and close enough to other activities, e.g. swimming, soft play, parks, quad biking and other activities at balmichael centre 1 mile up the road. The cottage was very clean and upon request, a cot was provided, a baby bath and high chair for our use. Another good selling point is that there's a wash room with washer and dryer for you to use which is helpful on wet days or to do a few loads of washing during your stay! I will definitely be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newcbr600rr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

So clean and beautiful. Grounds are surrounded with flowers, a trail to a pretty water falls. Perfect location as it sits right in the middle of the Isle of Arran so you can tour north and south very easily and only 10 minutes to main town and ferry terminal.

The owners are so pleasant and friendly and made us feel so welcomed. Quite and peaceful.

Rooms are big and can easily sleep a total of 8 people with the chesterfields downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvrlanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shiskine
6.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
7.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
8.1 mi away
Oakbank Farm
Oakbank Farm
#1 of 6 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shannochie Self Catering Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Self Catering Cottages Isle of Arran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Self Catering Cottages Isle of Arran

Property: Hamilton Self Catering Cottages Isle of Arran
Address: Hamilton House | Shiskine, Isle of Arran, Shiskine KA27 8EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Shiskine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Shiskine
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stylish and well equipped self catering holiday cottages on the beautiful Isle of Arran. All Cottages have Wifi Broadband, Satellite TV, Dishwashers, Hifi, DVD players. On site we have a laundry and outdoor clothes dryng room plus undercover bike storage. Our cottages are located in a pleasant rural area close to some of Arran's best amenities. There is a child friendly mature garden and safe private parking. We have recently opened our family games room with table tennis, pool and table football. Also with small children's play area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamilton Self Catering Cottages Isle Of Arran Shiskine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing