We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Mill Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Barn
Table extends to eight seater
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Mill Barn
Table extends to eight seater
Veiw from lounge
Leading from Kitchen to lounge
Double
Single
Twin
King size bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Shiskine, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
lauramc64...
Coylton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“home from home”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very warm welcome from Ruth. Arran cheese and oatcakes on arrival were greatly appreciated.
Where do i start? I had packed everything i thought i needed but on arrival discovered all essentials there already. As for home comforts...ticked every box.It is well seen that this barn has been a loving home before a holiday one. All the little extra,s add up. Beds very comfy. Rooms big.Enclosed garden for the dogs. We would definitely return here. Great value for money. Plenty of space for 3 generations of family plus 3 dogs.LOVED it.Thankyou Ruth

Only downside..emails come through website and not direct to you from holiday lettings.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Thanks for your review Laura. I hope to see you all back again. Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thanks for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Hi Julie,
Thanks for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joel B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Rental in Shiskine”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Party of 6 adults and 2 children stayed for 3 nights in August 2016.
Great accommodation, spacious, clean and comfortable.
Personal welcome by the host and tour of the converted barn.

Bedrooms are large, raised sitting room is big and bright with large tv and stereo and kitchen reasonably well equipped.

Lockable shed for bikes and dedicated island information room.

Shishkine is quiet but well located for Machrie Standing stones and Kings Cave. 15 minute drive to Brodick.

Would happily recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thanks for your review Joel. I hope to see you all in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey b
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Family Holiday Rental!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The accommodation, the information given and the property owner were exactly what we needed in a new area, that gave us the opportunity to explore the island!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thanks Lindsey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitch75
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home comforts and the peace and quiet off beautiful Arran”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Mill Barn is a perfect escape from it all on the truly beautiful Isle of Arran. Ruth met us on arrival and soon made us welcome and at home. A taste of Arran waiting for us when we arrived was lovely. The barn conversion is so well equipped we had everything we needed during our week long stay. The living room area, upstairs in the roof, is so comfortable for relaxing after a day exploring the island. The bedrooms are spotless, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The kitchen is modern and spacious and has everything you might need during your stay and the lovely, big dining table makes for fantastic family dinners as well as a good pace to spread out your map and plan the next walk! We made good use of the washing machine and tumble dryer; it's so nice returning home without the case load of washing. Mill Barn's study/office is its own tourist information centre as Ruth has left information on walks, activities and even the bus timetable. Our holiday on Arran has been wonderful. We've seen golden eagles, otters and seals, we've visited a distillery, taken a Mogabout Safari, splashed in rock pools and enjoyed ice creams. We've had a fantastic holiday and Mill Barn is truly a home from home. We can't wait to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Hi Helen,
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Mill Barn. Yes, you got to see the otters so it was worth the early start to your first day.
I hope to see you all back at the property in the future to explore Arran further.
Thanks for your review. Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertGB
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Satisfactory accommodation, well equipped, no sea views, no bath”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Virtually no amenities in Shiskine, the nearest village with a shop being Blackwaterfoot, 5 minutes away by car. No long distance views from the property. As a reasonably priced property for a medium to large family it was satisfactory.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Barbed wire on a boundary fence
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing