We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aird Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Badachro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our stay in Badachro was great! We enjoyed the large and beautiful family room and had fantastic breakfasts. Gordon and Vanessa were very nice, welcoming and gave us valuable information about what to do, where to eat etc. The small town was gorgeous and the little pub offers very good food! A great stay (in fact, the best of the 3 weeks spend in Scotland!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namoureuse007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

A lovely house in a beautiful location. We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting the Scottish Highlands. Gordon and Vanessa were very welcoming hosts who couldn't do enough to help make our stay a memorable and happy one. The room was comfortable overlooking the garden with a clean and tidy en-suite bathroom. The food was excellent using home produced ingredients to include, eggs from the chickens, pork from the pigs, veg from the garden and homebaked bread all served in a sunroom overlooking Badachro, the mountains and bay, very picturesque. The company at meal times had an international flavour, which made it all the more interesting. Vanessa was great in helping us to plan our journey to Ullapool pointing out places to stop and visit on the way as well as lending us the map too.

Ideally situated to explore The Highlands, we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A perfect combination of a great location, a beautiful house, a clean and quaint room and a wonderful host. We stayed only one night but are sure to return to Aird Hill. Gordon was such a friendly and helpful host, unfortunately Vanessa was away because I am sure she is equally as lovely. The room had a lovely bed, a large and powerful shower and lots of added extras. The breakfast was delicious with freshly baked bread straight out of the oven and into the toaster, home-made jam and local honey (only not home-made as their bees were resting), sausages from Gordon's pigs, eggs from his chickens and I wouldn't be surprised if he grew the baked beans! And that evening, on our way out to the pub in the pouring rain, Gordon was very conveniently (and I suspect not coincidently) heading out at the same time as us and offered us a lift to avoid a drenching. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Having stayed in Aird Hill Bed & Breakfast we just had to come back, so we booked Little Aird Hill, Vanessa and Gordon's self catering home right next to Aird Hill. We had a wonderful holiday, adn Little Aid Hill did not disappoint.

Maybe the weather played a big factor in our enjoyment, but this is the second time we have been there this year and both weeks gave us fantastic weather despite the rest of the UK being under snow the first time, and rain this time. It seems to have its own micro climate, protected by the gulf stream.

We took our toddler with us and I have to disagree with the last reviewer - we did not see any dog poo, and our toddler was able to run around in bare feet and jump in the paddling pool with no fear of dirty feet. She enjoyed feeding the chickens and pigs, and Gordon & Vanessa kindly allowed us to pick their yummy strawberries - a perfect way for our city girl to learn about provenance.

We visited some of the perfect beaches close by, including Red Point,and ventured out in boats twice. Unfortunately our little one is still too young to go out whale watching (4+), and we were upset that there had been terrific sightings of Orcas and basking sharks along with large groups of dolphins.

Little Aird Hill was comfortable with its own sun room. The accommodation consists of one large room, it suits couples best, and is extremely comfortable. We felt at home immediately.

Gordon and Vanessa were, as always the perfect hosts and bent over backwards to make our stay a wonderful holiday. Thank you both!

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a bad room at Aird Hill, but if you are looking for a really special exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBoyLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have been traveling through Scotland with my partner and his parents and Badachro is definitely one of our most favorite places in the world. The bay with its boats and hills in the sunshine seems like paradise. In addition we have been lucky enough to stay it the fantastic airs hill B&B. Gordon and Vanessa are doing a great job and make everyone feel welcome in their home. The rooms are charming and lovely decorated and the beautiful house overlooks the bay so you have a terrific view while enjoying breakfast in the morning. There is even a separate modern self-catering cottage for a even more individual retreat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I have never before been to Scotland and wanted to explore "the Real Scotland" as we had been told Badachro would be. Being in-experienced with B&B's and somewhat concerned with the quality of these, I was delighted when I came across Aird Hill's website, and immediately booked it. Once we actually got there, all concerns were put at ease by the warm welcome and intro we got to the place. Our room was ready even though we were a bit early. The room, facing the garden, was small but well appointed. We settled in and went for walk down to the local pub to relax after a challenging drive on the left side with roads getting more and more narrow as we approached Badachro. Later on we had dinner that was prepared by the hosts Gordon and Vanessa and was a wonderful 3 course meal prepared of local products; langoustines, highland beef and a scottish dessert, all delicious and set in their beautiful sunroom. We ate together with 2 other couples and a nice conversation ensued. The following day a great full scottish breakfast was offered with all that it entails. The place is so relaxing that you feel like you are staying with old friends. The long trip in is well worth it both for it's beauty and what you find in this place at the end of the road. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to experience a piece of real Scotland!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plumesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay at Aird Hill and would highly recommend it to anyone. We were upgraded to the upstairs room with ensuite which was beautifully decorated.

We stayed for dinner and had home made fresh baked brown bread, with a massive platter of langoustines and a salad. It was a perfect end to a lovely day. The views from both the dining room and the bedroom were something else altogether. Views you could never get tired of.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindahug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuinnBadachro, Owner at Aird Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Hi,
Very many thanks for your kind review; it really is very much appreciated! It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay at Aird Hill and Vanessa and I hope that you'll make it back before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badachro
2.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
173 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
353 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
620 reviews
17.3 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
294 reviews
6.6 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aird Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aird Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: Badachro, Badachro, Gairloch IV21 2AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch > Badachro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Badachro
Price Range: £89 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the hillside overlooking Badachro and the bay to the east, with views west to the Isle of Skye and south over the Torridon mountains, it is hard to think of a more idyllic spot than that occupied by Aird Hill. Our stylish, comfortable and well equipped rooms have en-suites with power showers and cosy under-floor heating, TV systems and free wireless broadband. The Skye Room is a spacious double room with a separate seating area with a sofa bed making it ideal for a family. It is accessed via its own private balcony. Our Mountain & Garden rooms are tastefully designed with reclaimed timber floors, white walls and woodwork. One has a double bed, the other twin beds that can also be converted to a double. A z-bed can be added to either of these rooms if required. Our breakfast room has a view that is second to none. We also offer evening meals of high quality local produce, are licensed and have guest lounge with log stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aird Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aird Hill Bed & Breakfast Badachro, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing