We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Palazzo Farnese

Palazzo Farnese
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Caprarola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We were so suprised what an amazing place. Beautifully painted rooms that went on and on. We were so impressed. This place beats some of the more famous places in Rome. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    236
    26
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
390 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We visited on a Tuesday afternoon at the end of August and we were amazed to find the car park outside the palace empty. We thought that perhaps our information was wrong and that the palace was closed, but no, it was open and there were very few visitors. Which was a shame as this is a gorgeous place to visit. You have to wait to be accompanied by a guide, who in fact says not a word as he directs you from one room to another. Some of the rooms are simply stunning and it would be impossible to take it all in during one visit, so perhaps we will make the effort and make a return visit in the future. It would definitely be worth our while.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lakegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Stunning palace”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The palace is a real jewel of 16th century arhitecture and a Cardinal Alessandro Farnesse desire for grandiness. No wonder that he become a progressive renaissance pope .The construction lasted only 27 years and from the first idea of building a fortress it become a splendid palace with only a fine touch of fortress elements. The palace has a surprising stairways for that times that led directly from the ground floor (from the stables) to the noble floor. Also it has oval attrium beautifully frescoed in the middle of the palace. The rooms as well as a the stairway itself are spectacular because they are all fresco painted from the walls to the ceilings, what is most interesting everything is fully preserved including the excellent world map room as they knew the world mid 16th century, the room dedicated to grandure of Farnese family and so many others rooms and painntings. Dont miss the perfect stairways, statues, fountains and terraces leading to the the Palace of pleasure (Piacere) which is unfortunetly under reconstruction. The ticket is reasonable, cc 10eur for 2 persons, and you have exccelent Italian guide (unfortunately the english guide is not available, at least when we were there). Definitely one of the nicest palaces we saw.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank aleksandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltinglass, Ireland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Beautiful palace to visit”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is extraordinary building decorated all over with paintings. I loved the room with maps and the Angels Room. The staircase is the most interesting and breathtaking part. I recommend to go first to the small shop nearby to buy a book explaining the meaning of all paintings. Although taking photos is prohibited, we asked if we could take some without flash and they didn't mind. The village Caprarola is worth a stroll too, with some beautiful facades of old palazzos, unfortunately very neglected and in bad condition.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quite an eye opener”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The Palazzo can only be visited at certain times when you are chaperoned around it and then into the gardens. You can't ask the person any questions. The Palazzo is extraordinary with some very interesting paintings. The room I found most fascinating was the one with the maps of the known world. The rest of the paintings are by and large glorifications of Alessandro Farnese as cardinal and later Pope - Paul III. If you are into that sort of propaganda you will enjoy it very much. If you are into art and can forget what it is supposed to represent you will also enjoy it. If you try to enter into what it must have been like in those days it might give you some idea why Martin Luther was so angry with the Church of Rome. The main staircase is a tour-de-force and probably the most impressive part of the whole building which makes it worth seeing.
It is a pity the garden is so neglected although there are some very enchanting corners. The fountains and logia are quite fascinating and must have been quite spectacular when they were in good repair and fully working. Interesting that the majority of the ideas for the fountains had already been used in other gardens not that far away.
If you have time to spare then a visit to this place also known as Villa or Castello Farnese or Caprarola is worth while; otherwise place it a bit lower on your list of priorities.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NedLl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palazzo Farnese also viewed

Viterbo, Province of Viterbo
 
Civita di Bagnoregio, Province of Viterbo
Viterbo, Province of Viterbo
 

Been to Palazzo Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing