We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch with Jacket & Tie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel

The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$63
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The award winning 2 AA Rosette, Dining Room is situated within Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel - a beautiful Grade 2 listed late georgian Manor House set in 3 acres of gardens and only 3 miles from the historic centre of Lincoln. The elegant, yet informal restaurant is open 7 days a week offering a la carte menu from 6pm-9pm. Lunchtime menu from 12.00-2pm weekdays and Sunday with dedicated Sunday lunch menu too. A delicious Afternoon tea menu with home made cakes and pastries and a more informal bar menu is also available 12.00-9pm. Lincolnshire favourites implemented with care and attention. and attention. Open
Level Contributor
231 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch with Jacket & Tie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Over the years I have eaten @ this hotel many times & attended more than my share of wedding receptions but this was the first time with the new owners. Well I was very impressed on this visit with the presentation & quality of food which was enjoyed by all in our family group. The front of house, bar & serving staff where all very professional & polite but the hostess was a delight making us all feel very welcome.
This hotel is a little up market so be aware your fellow dinners may be wearing a jacket & tie for dinner but that's a small price to pay for a quality meal I'm sure all will enjoy.
Highly recommended even without J&T.

Helpful?
1 Thank smiler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Smiler, thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed yourselves although after recently celebrating 5 years of ownership I am wondering when we might lose the tag of 'New Owners' ! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    21
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
438 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“very nice but too difficult if not staying at the property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

great light and very nice room. Service was a bit slow due to low staffing levels. The chiefs at dinner are quite good and willing to accommodate requests.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pandpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Our 'Chiefs' who bent over backwards to accommodate your dietary requirements are touched by your description of them being 'quite good'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfectly attentive service, outstanding food and a fabulous evening dining.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a great evening dining with parents having booked at relatively short notice. After an aperitif and selecting our options we were shown to our table for the evening and made to feel at home. Even though there was a party in another room we were not disturbed, nor did our level of very attentive but not intrusive service suffer.

My partner has a number of food intolerances which I advised the Hall about and they presented a separate menu for all courses. In fact the options looked so good that the other diners had a few items off this as well!

I cannot point to a best or favourite dish as all selections were excellent, showcasing local produce or being finessed classic dishes.

Definitely somewhere to put in your top five for good dining in Lincolnshire.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln_Cliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review we look forward to you visiting us again. I'm delighted to report that The Dining Room has recently received a second AA Rosette for the quality of its food. Head Chef Dan and his team work extremely hard and conscientiously to accommodate all dietary requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

A lovely setting and ther service was attentive and prompt. A liitle expensive for this part of the UK though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LincolnlassLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. We feel our pricing is very much in line with other similar venues with comparable food and service offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good facilities in quiet surrondings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Out of the way country hotel with good food and excellent rooms. Weddings and parties ideal for this location. very good for just a meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank richkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review although slightly disappointed with only 3 out of 5 given the positive things you say! Hope to see you again to discuss!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing