We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We went to Washingborough Hall using a TravelZoo voucher and had a really lovely time. The staff were welcoming from as soon as walked in, despite us arriving to check in whilst there was still a busy Sunday lunch service in progress. The afternoon tea we had was delicious, although I was a little disappointed with the quality of the coffee served, it was a little weak and watery, otherwise though the sweet and savoury items were well cooked and beautifully presented.
The bar area was cosy and comfortable, and the room whilst small was comfortable, clean and well-presented with the fluffiest towels in the world! The branded shampoo and shower gel were a nice touch, as was the home made shortbread biscuits.
We had a beautifully cooked dinner with attentive service, and breakfast was of an equally high standard. Overall we were very impressed with the hotel, and would certainly return if we were in the area, I would recommend to anyone wanting good quality food in a well thought out and designed envoronment with superb staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

Went for a birthday celebration for WSM.

It was a good afternoon, nice surroundings, great service, delicious food.

Going again for a birthday in June and will try for other occasions.

Will try for meal

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank JohnReid67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

To celebrate my 21st birthday, I had invited 21 of my closest friends and family to Washingborough Hall for dinner. Friends were coming from all over the country and the venue didn't fail to impress. As soon as we walked in the door we were greeted so warmly, we felt like we were at home; nothing was too much trouble. The staff were just right, not pretentious but not too lax.
The dining room we were shown to was beautiful. Before the night, we had been asked how we would like the table arrangement, I didn't expect to be able to have all of us around one table but it worked beautifully, nothing was ever any trouble, in fact they kept providing us with helpful suggestions and possibilities.
The night was a roaring success; the food was on point and the selection of wine was fantastic, not something you can easily find in the depths of this county!

I can't recommend this place enough, it was such an amazing night, a night i'll remember for a long time. They knew it was a special occasion and they totally delivered.

Thank you all so much, i'll be ranting and raving about you for a while to come!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke_wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Washingborough Hall and all the staff there made a 3 night stay one of the best places I've ever stayed.

The building has so much charm and the staff go above and beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome and to ensure you are as comfortable as possible.

Lucy and your team, Frank, Ness, Helen and many more - you should all be very proud of the wonderful job you do and how special you make people feel.

Much success for 2013.

Andrew Morgan & James Gostelow

Room Tip: Room 22, full of period charm yet all the comfort you'd expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewMorgan186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We were met by the owner and given a friendly welcome also help was given with our luggage.On arrival we were led down a staircase from the ground floor. I presume this area is yet to be decorated! Our room was very large and tastefully decorated and it even contained a settee. Everything was nice and clean. One of the bedside lights was not working and it was attended to right away. There was plenty of storage space including a walk in cupboard. Unfortunately the door was low and my husband knocked his head. A notice above this would be useful. The bathroom was large and in good decorative order. During our stay the weather was dull and not much light entered our room number 14. Also the view was partially blocked by the owners property which was situated a few yards from our window. We had requested a quiet room and this is what we got but if views matter to you choose another room.
We ate in the hotel restaurant for both evenings during our stay. The staff were pleasant and our food was excellent. The Dining Room had been recently decorated and it was most impressive.
Later we had a drink in the bar and once again pleasant staff a relaxing atmosphere and tasteful decor.
Breakfast was a great disappointment. We had to ask for our breakfast spoons to be replaced and the coffee was lukewarm and did not taste at all nice. Both things were attended to in a pleasant manner but although the coffee was hot it was watery and still of poor flavour. My husbands cooked breakfast was alright but my cheese omelette was overcooked. The foollowing morning our breakfast was alright but still the same lukewarm watery coffee.
Overall we did enjoy our stay and would consider returning.

Room Tip: If you want a brightly lit room with a view do not choose room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Lucy Herring and her helpful cheery staff at Washingborough Hall put on a wonderful Sunday lunch for us to celebrate my 65th birthday and our 30th wedding anniversary with 50 close friends. The Hall and our dining room looked enchanting, festooned with tasteful Christmas decorations and a roaring log fire. The food was wonderful, every course a delight. What a marvelous way to start the Christmas season......

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you Adrian for your glowing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your day and we look forward to seeing you again soon. As well as being a great venue for private celebrations we also operate casual dining in the bar and an A la carte restaurant 7 days / week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Very pleasant Country House Hotel ideally placed for visiting Lincoln. Hugh log burning stove to welcome you beside reception and all the staff very pleasant, friendly and professional. I was well looked after by Helen , nothing was too much trouble and I just had a starter in the bar as it was late and not particularly hungry. Comfortable room and as I had to be away early the staff served me 30 minutes before the start of official service, which was very good of them. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inntheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,820 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
854 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
534 reviews
2.0 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range: £90 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing