We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

First to the up side - dinner was very good altough a little pricey, as was the breakfast, Service from the staff I encountered was also very good. However although on finding my single room did not have a shower I was moved to a double (at additional cost) with no issue, when I did go to use the over bath shower I was unable to get it to provide me with an acceptable temperature/sufficient power. When I went to shave the water into the sink was warm at best. The room was comfy enough and of average size. At £75 + £12.50 for breakfast this is not good enough thus I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Business travelers stay clear of single rooms if you want a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We were met by a roaring log fire in the entrance hall and greeted like old friends despite it only being our second visit! This small family friendly-hotel is Lincolnshire's best kept secret. The old hotel is tastefully decorated and our bedroom had recently been renovated to a high standard. We had dinner and the food was absolutely first-class with the staff really attentive without being over bearing. The following morning the breakfast was equally good. We will certainly be back as this has to be one of Lincolnshire's nicest hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NB1658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Warm welcome,all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Lovely room and despite it being an old building with the shutters closed and the radiator turned up it was warm. Beds really comfortable. We were at a funeral and the staff were most understanding letting us get into our room early to freshen up before the ceremony. The food was excellent and the prices for drinks etc seemed reasonable by today's standards. Bit put out by the 2% charge for credit card, I think that is unnecessary. If ever in the area again I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

What a find. Warm and friendly welcome. Was there to meet up with other people and stay overnight following a funeral and the staff were so attentitive making our stay so enjoyable under difficult circumstances. Could not fault breakfast. Had a single room in the gods which was quirky and had all I needed Comfy bed, Branded toiletries, Delicious shortbread biscuits. Would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Von193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We held our ceremony and reception at Washingborough in October 2012. I honestly cannot recommend Washingborough highly enough, from the first welcome through to the food and the accommodation our experience was first rate. The assistance we had from Lucy in planning our day was second to none, and the staff really are wonderful. We fell in love with Washingborough at first sight - it has the perfect blend of old fashioned country house grandeur, mixed with a cosy, intimate atmosphere. For us, Washingborough ticked all the boxes - we wanted an exclusive venue, we wanted a smallish wedding, but with the capacity for a larger evening reception, we wanted it to feel homely and cosy as opposed to stiff and commercial, most of all we wanted to feel like it was our day, and it really was. Special thanks go to Chef Dan - we had so many amazing comments on the day and after about the food, and of course to Lucy for co-ordinating the whole day so wonderfully. My only complaint is that it was all over far too quickly and I'd quite like to do it again!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmab077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We went to Washingborough Hall using a TravelZoo voucher and had a really lovely time. The staff were welcoming from as soon as walked in, despite us arriving to check in whilst there was still a busy Sunday lunch service in progress. The afternoon tea we had was delicious, although I was a little disappointed with the quality of the coffee served, it was a little weak and watery, otherwise though the sweet and savoury items were well cooked and beautifully presented.
The bar area was cosy and comfortable, and the room whilst small was comfortable, clean and well-presented with the fluffiest towels in the world! The branded shampoo and shower gel were a nice touch, as was the home made shortbread biscuits.
We had a beautifully cooked dinner with attentive service, and breakfast was of an equally high standard. Overall we were very impressed with the hotel, and would certainly return if we were in the area, I would recommend to anyone wanting good quality food in a well thought out and designed envoronment with superb staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,869 reviews
3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#8 of 14 in Lincoln
872 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
369 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range: £89 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing