We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We visited this hotel with friends for a night away from home. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we had great service. Everyone was really friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay special.
The meal we had in the evening was of a very high standard. I had calves liver and it melted in the mouth. We all praised the food and were told it was a new menu. Later in the evening the chef came into the bar to thank us for our comments which we thought was a nice touch. The food and wine is not overpriced and is served in a comfortable and well furnished restaurant.
The rooms are not large but the beds are lovely and comfortable and the home made biscuits with the tea and coffee is a nice touch.
Would certainly like to go back another time.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank VivienneM469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

On previous visits I have been lucky enough to be upgraded to a double room and been more than happy. This time however I was allocated a single in the roofspace which was not to the same standard. It was decidedly chilly, the mattress was pretty worn out and the wifi did not stretch that far. A shame because the service was otherwise great and the food as enjoyable as ever, especially the cooked breakfast which is amongst the best I have tasted (though there was not much else on offer).

Room Tip: Avoid single rooms in cold weather
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAJMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

What a great night the 14 th February 2013 the place was full as was expected but we never felt rushed or over looked & very romantic
We love the place out most favourite place to eat or even go.
Lucy and staff are just the best and Frank you are a star :)
Great food great friendly staff great location
We have been a few times now and not once have ever been disappointed yes there is a chance of a mistake but if there have been any tiny ones its sorted in an instant without any fuss customers are always put first and with a friendly smile.
As you can guess WE LOVE THIS PLACE
Roy and Karen
Big thank you so much Lucy & Edward ( who never gets a thank you )
And of course the head chef & staff

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We headed for Valentines dinner and the whole experience from start to end was great. We started off with a bottle of bubbly in the reception in the comfy seats by a very toasty wood burner. We headed in to the restaurant and ate the set menu, which was the only choice that night although there were 3 selections for each course. My wife is a strict vegetarian and there was a selection for her too. The dining room was busy, but we were seated a discreet distance from the other diners.

My only criticism is that the drinks were not poured for us apart from when they are opened. The wine was not opened at the table, which I don't like. The wine menu was adequate and was handily split in to easy digest sections.

Ed & Lucy have done wonders with the Hall and we will certainly be heading back.

Sensibly priced and good service.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Youngklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 February 2013

First to the up side - dinner was very good altough a little pricey, as was the breakfast, Service from the staff I encountered was also very good. However although on finding my single room did not have a shower I was moved to a double (at additional cost) with no issue, when I did go to use the over bath shower I was unable to get it to provide me with an acceptable temperature/sufficient power. When I went to shave the water into the sink was warm at best. The room was comfy enough and of average size. At £75 + £12.50 for breakfast this is not good enough thus I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Business travelers stay clear of single rooms if you want a shower.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We were met by a roaring log fire in the entrance hall and greeted like old friends despite it only being our second visit! This small family friendly-hotel is Lincolnshire's best kept secret. The old hotel is tastefully decorated and our bedroom had recently been renovated to a high standard. We had dinner and the food was absolutely first-class with the staff really attentive without being over bearing. The following morning the breakfast was equally good. We will certainly be back as this has to be one of Lincolnshire's nicest hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NB1658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,798 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
526 reviews
2.0 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range: £88 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing