We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I recently stayed at Washingborough Hall with my partner for one night. We really couldnt have asked for more. On booking they were very friendly and helpful - a trait which continues throughout your stay.
Our room was out of this world with a four poster bed, 'proper curtains' and a free standing bath.The bed was honestly the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
The evening meal was also exceptional.
I cannot praise this place enough and will definately be returning. Not cheap but worth every penny!

Room Tip: Room 20 - HUGE room, massive comfy bed, great bathroom. Really gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    102
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
148
300
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed for 1 night as we wanted to explore Lincoln. The hotel is just 3 miles from the centre of Lincoln and if like us you like to ditch the car, have some lunch (and a drink or 2 ) and do a little shopping it couldnt be easier. There is a bus stop at the bottom of the road and along about 100m.

From booking the hotel to heading home, it was an easy process. The staff at this hotel are excellent. Extremely helpful and friendly. Both in reception, bar and dining room. Nothing is too much trouble.Very rare these days!

We had an executive room (19) and it was a really nice room. Just above the front door downstairs. I think it had been refurbed with beautiful decor, curtains and mirrored bed side tables and dressing table and a huge 6 foot bed which I think may have been a zip and link but which was very very comfortable. I would love to have a bedroom at home just like this.

The bathroom was ok but quite narrow. It was about 1m x 4 ms. The water pressure in the shower was very poor. More of a little spray than a shower.

The hotel itself has a lovely cosy, comfortable yet classy feel. You feel at home straight away and it has some nice, quirky areas to relax and read the newspapers or have tea.

The lawns and grounds are very well kept and help give the hotel a really classy look. There is also plenty of parking space for the small number of rooms.

Breakfast was very nice and dinner very, very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbieb5red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel with friends for a night away from home. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we had great service. Everyone was really friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay special.
The meal we had in the evening was of a very high standard. I had calves liver and it melted in the mouth. We all praised the food and were told it was a new menu. Later in the evening the chef came into the bar to thank us for our comments which we thought was a nice touch. The food and wine is not overpriced and is served in a comfortable and well furnished restaurant.
The rooms are not large but the beds are lovely and comfortable and the home made biscuits with the tea and coffee is a nice touch.
Would certainly like to go back another time.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VivienneM469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

On previous visits I have been lucky enough to be upgraded to a double room and been more than happy. This time however I was allocated a single in the roofspace which was not to the same standard. It was decidedly chilly, the mattress was pretty worn out and the wifi did not stretch that far. A shame because the service was otherwise great and the food as enjoyable as ever, especially the cooked breakfast which is amongst the best I have tasted (though there was not much else on offer).

Room Tip: Avoid single rooms in cold weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAJMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

What a great night the 14 th February 2013 the place was full as was expected but we never felt rushed or over looked & very romantic
We love the place out most favourite place to eat or even go.
Lucy and staff are just the best and Frank you are a star :)
Great food great friendly staff great location
We have been a few times now and not once have ever been disappointed yes there is a chance of a mistake but if there have been any tiny ones its sorted in an instant without any fuss customers are always put first and with a friendly smile.
As you can guess WE LOVE THIS PLACE
Roy and Karen
Big thank you so much Lucy & Edward ( who never gets a thank you )
And of course the head chef & staff

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
362 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

We headed for Valentines dinner and the whole experience from start to end was great. We started off with a bottle of bubbly in the reception in the comfy seats by a very toasty wood burner. We headed in to the restaurant and ate the set menu, which was the only choice that night although there were 3 selections for each course. My wife is a strict vegetarian and there was a selection for her too. The dining room was busy, but we were seated a discreet distance from the other diners.

My only criticism is that the drinks were not poured for us apart from when they are opened. The wine was not opened at the table, which I don't like. The wine menu was adequate and was handily split in to easy digest sections.

Ed & Lucy have done wonders with the Hall and we will certainly be heading back.

Sensibly priced and good service.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Youngklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing