We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not the break I expected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not the break I expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Anyone booking this hotel and think they will get a reservation in the hotel restaurant think again ,booked one of the top rooms and was told we could not get in the restaurant , but could use the bar area , i was very dissapointed as this was meant to be a special occasion,the bar was empty when we started our starter , but the bar filled up very quicky with golfers swinging amaginery clubs and getting louder by the minute , the bar area was quite small so trying to have a relaxing meal and chat while poeple were standing right next to the table and banging into you and voices bellowing trying to out do each other was unacceptable , having asked recepeption again if there was a possible place they wouldnt budge so we resorted in having the rest of our meal in our room , not the break i had in mind .
The hotel & room was lovely and so was the receptionist but maybe i just chose the wrong night or was very unlucky , oh we did get a free b/fst lol.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your review and we're sorry your break turned out not as you expected.
Unfortunately for you we were extremely busy in the hotel that night and as you had booked on a room only basis we were unable to get you a table in the restaurant at the last minute. The bar subsequently did fill up with a party of golfers for a couple of hours and it perhaps wasn't the tranquil experience it normally is on a Friday evening. It was for this reason we offered you a complimentary full English breakfast as a gesture of goodwill. With guests who book direct with us we always try and make dinner reservations there and then to prevent situations like this happening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    100
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
147
292
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

This has got to be our most faviourt place to eat drink and sleep if you have not been you are missing out on a Gem
We took our two boys for a birthday meal it was a wonderful meal as is the normal wonderful staff nothing is ever too much for Lucy and her staff always happy to chatt.
They Evernote made a very special sweet for the birthday boy because he didn't want what was on the menu with a birthday message written in chocotate stunning it was too.
We are so lucky to be getting married at washingbrough hall in a few months time ;)
Nothing but outstanding for us

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

We came upon Washingborough Hall by way of a recommendation from some friends who literally live a stone's throw away from the hotel and often dine in its excellent restaurant. Indeed the purpose of our visit was to both meet up with our friends and explore The City of Lincoln. The hotel's location was ideal on both counts. Close enough to walk down the road to catch the regular bus service into the city, but far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle and the early morning wake up call courtesy of the cathedral's bells! From the moment we made our telephone booking to the time we checked out, the staff team couldn't do enough. Friendly, professional, obliging, they really excelled and exceeded our expectations. We were upgraded from our original room booking prior to our arrival. We spent our 4 nights in Room 14 on the basement level . What it lacked in views it easily made up for in size, decor and character! We decided to dine in the restaurant on the first night and were already booked in with our friends for the Saturday night. The restaurant was tastefully decorated keeping in line with the original fixtures and fittings of the hotel. From the moment we were seated the service was excellent and Frank waited on us in a way that made us feel both relaxed and pampered . As we were not meat eaters we chose the fish option and have to say that the Coley was beautiful. All fish is freshly cooked, bought in from Grimsby on a daily basis. We were even able to request any fish we desired for our Saturday booking. I chose hake and my fiancé lemon sole. Beautiful again! Anyway we had a wonderful stay and will definitely return. Many thanks to Edward and Lucy and all the staff team from Jane and Marc.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife and I had two very enjoyable days at Washingborough Hall. Food and service were outstanding, and the hotel staff were efficient and very friendly. Comfortable and well-equipped bedrooms.. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

It is rare to find a hotel where you actually feel
like the staff genuinely care about the service and hospitality they are offering. They do here. The staff were delightful.The large comfortable,bedroom was beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was superbly cooked and delicious.My wife and I booked at short notice for a short break and weren't disappointed at all. Great value for money as well. '

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to make such a kind and gererous review of the hotel and most importantly our great team of staff - it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent a great weekend at this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly from the first 'phone call when we booked and throughout the weekend. The room was warm, comfortable and clean. The food was excellent. We had a great day in Stamford and a National Trust Property then spent the day in Lincoln. The cathedral and castle were stunning. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 212janeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

A big thank you to Chef Dan and his team for such great food and also a big thank you to every member of staff for the warm welcome and attention to service we could not have wished for better. It is rare these days to find a hotel with such a very hard working and happy team.
We would also like a very big thank you to Ruby who on our first night helped to make us welcome.

Many thanks will come again.

Room Tip: Any room I am sure would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
A big thank you from Dan and Ruby for making them feel so special with a mention on Trip Advisor (Ruby's 1st!!). Thank you for your kind review, we very much appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.0 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing