We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Had a lovely afternoon tea with a group of friends at Washingborough Hall a real treat. Lovely fresh sandwiches and gorgeous cakes and as much tea or coffee as you can manage. The staff were very kind and attentive to our group.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank summerbreak167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a fantastic wedding day experience we had.

The owners and staff excelled in catering for all our requirements, able and less able guests and those with special dietry needs. Some of the wedding party stayed for three nights and were not dissapointed on any of them. The catering was superb every day and the staff could not be more helpful.

Ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening reception all held in the same location without any issues. The hotel also have contacts with some excellent local businesses, all of whom we used for our event, no dissapointment and hopefully the local economy benefited also.

Don't miss out, you must visit, even if just for lunch or afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Singles are in the loft space, so a bit tight on space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you very much for your most generous review, it is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Last month we held our wedding at Washingborough Hall Hotel, and the day was all we ever dreamed of and exceeded our expectations. After visiting many Lincolnshire venues we settled upon this beautiful country house and we are so glad we did. We would encourage anyone who is looking for an intimate wedding day to visit this venue to see for yourselves. The grounds and building itself are a delight.

From the moment we met the owner Lucy, who personally manages all the weddings, we were told not to worry about anything and providing a day to remember is their passion and livelihood and I am happy to say that this indeed was the case. All of the details were taken care of and the day went so smoothly. We can honestly say we didn't worry about a thing during the day, and meant we really could relax and enjoy our wedding. The food at the venue is superb and both the wedding breakfast and evening hog roast were loved by our guests, all of the venues staff were prompt, polite and very professional which made for such a great atmosphere.

The beauty of dealing with a privately owned venue is the direct contact with the owner which allows for your personal request and needs to be dealt with quickly, and we have to commend Lucy and her team for going beyond the port of call for us on a couple of things which was greatly appreciated and we would question if you would get this same care and understanding at larger venues.

We would like to say a huge thank you to all at the venue for making our day so special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

Thank you for your great review! Background music is something we struggle to get perfect to please all ears, however I take on board your feedback and will endeavour to find a good solution. We do however please 99% of our 4 legged friends and enjoy being a dog friendly hotel. We have 11 beautiful bedrooms, the Ingleby room being our latest to complete (this is the only room which is going to be kept doggy free). Thirlled you enjoyed the food and our team looked after you. Hope to see you again soon. BW Lucy - please do spread the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A truly lovely Country House Hotel that is exactly what we expected. A beautiful old Hall, with pretty gardens and a fab welcome from Nessa at reception. We stayed in a room with a Four Poster bed and large, modern, en-suite bathroom, with separate shower. The room was very comfortable and had everything you could need. The restaurant food was excellent and the atmosphere there and in the bar was very relaxing and professional. They had a great wine list and were happy to sell champagne by the glass. Whilst we didn't have afternoon tea it looked stunning and we look forward to having this next time. This hotel was a great find and offered fantastic service and value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the Four Poster bedrooms with en-suite - they are spacious, comfortable and worth the extra c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This must be the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Just about ok for myself but if a couple would have been very disappointing. The hotel does something unique though it charges 2% for credit cards. As a business traveller how else do they expect you to pay?

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Promanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

The recent recession caused us to take a long look at our costs. As part of this review we identified that many customers were happy to pay by debit card rather than credit card. It made no difference to them whereas the transaction cost for processing credit cards instead of debit cards was for us as a business, a very significant cost - like one member of staff's annual salary! So in order to encourage customers to use debit cards we adopted our 2% surcharge policy. We haven't therefore had to take cost saving measures in staffing levels and quality of products. Some people suggest that we ought to absorb these costs as a business but like the trend with the airline industry why shouldn't customers be 'rewarded' (with lower costs) when they choose to use cost saving measures (like on line check in and payment by debit cards). I'm sorry that you don't care for this policy of ours but I hope you can maybe now understand our rationale behind its implementation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at Washingborough Hall. The first time, it was only for 1 night. However, for this stay, we had 3 nights.
First off, the room was lovely. Beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. It was warm, but they did provide a fan, which was nice, since we would have been miserable without it. The only complaint was the fidgety controls on the shower, which varied from hot to cold. No complaint about enough hot water, however. The water pressure wasn't very good though, which I suppose is just due to the area.
The staff were very friendly, very helpful and always on top of things. We asked for an ironing board and iron and it was up to our room in no time flat.
The meals in the dining room were exceptional. Honestly, some of the best food I've had of any of the times I've been in England. We ate our meals each of the 3 nights, and each night, we had a wonderful meal. Breakfast was great as well. Good Lincolnshire sausage, fresh eggs, and some very tasty black pudding.
The location is great as well. Very close to Lincoln, but far enough away that it feels like you're in your own little world.
All and all, we love staying here, and will continue to do so whenever the opportunity comes up!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cass_errol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have recently been given the Lincoln area to cover for work so I will be staying in the area once a month. The location was perfect for me about 5mins out of town in a really nice area. The building and grounds are beautiful and I was happy with my choice upon arrival.

The staff I must say are fantastic extremely polite and literally can't do enough for you. My room No 14 was spacious but very dark and very worn, the shower didn't work properly and they have obviously tried to modernise the bathroom but took some short cuts along the way.

My other issue was the room was extremely noisy because you can hear every person above you walking around. I didn't get a great nights sleep at all and was woken at 6.30am to people walking around.

I will definitely try this Hotel once more and ask for a different room when booking. I'm sure I will be giving this place a very good or excellent review on my next visit if I move rooms.

Free wifi throughout was a massive bonus as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,845 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#8 of 14 in Lincoln
864 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
367 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range: £89 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing