We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and my husband's birthday just after New Year. Staff were friendly but not intrusive. The food and service were excellent, and the room was wonderful -- luxurious but comfortable as well. It all made for a very special visit. Staff had remembered that the visit marked our celebrations (mentioned when we booked) and made it extra special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deputydawg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel, we're glad you had a super time and hope that you'll find reason to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    100
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
147
296
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family and I stayed at the hotel at the weekend for my Dad's 70th birthday celebrations. We had a fabulous time. The service, food, accommodation and general atmosphere of the hotel were all perfect. It is a rare thing to find a hotel that feels comfortable and homely, but they've managed to create a delightfully warm and welcoming venue for their guests. Nothing was too much trouble, right down to the chef coming out to the lounge area to ask if anyone had any queries about the menu or if people wanted to tweak any dishes in any way. We had a total of 5 rooms within the party. These were of varying sizes and character. We stayed in the fabulous room above the dining room with a four poster bed. Very spacious and well equipped. Lovely L'Occitane toiletries. Loved the quirky nature of the room which gave it character, like the wonky floorboards. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of fresh, local produce. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay and/or dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnsonsGatwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the hotel. With the hotel being quite small and intimate we like to think we're a great venue for Private Dining Celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I had a special 'Wedding Anniversary' Lunch today and it was just perfect!!
A beautiful country house, with tasteful decor and friendly and charming
service...the food was excellent and we will definitely be returning regularly
in the future...particular thanks to Jane for making the occasion so special !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenandSammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed 3 days late November for anniversary. Just lovely. Food,staff and room all.excellent. Room 22 with great bathroom..The ambiance was perfect. Congratulations to the chef. We are not foodies but know when we have eaten a well cooked and delicious meal. Thankyou

Room Tip: Just enjoy. Horncastle great for antique hunt. Bus very frequent into Lincoln every 20 mins if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you will visit us again - have you been to the huge Antiques Centre at Hemswell?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

First class service from start to finish to reflect a dedicate team effort, from the work and friendly welcome on arrival, to the spotlessly clean (four poster) bedroom, to the bespoke meals to cater for coeliac disease and lactose intolerance through to attentive, but not intrusive, service at breakfast. This was an excellent team effort where nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your generous review - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Washingborough Hall is a small country house hotel situated conveniently near to Lincoln. A welcoming fire greets you in the hall on arrival. Some part of the hotel are a little tired but our bedroom was attractively decorated with nice touches such as the home made shortbread on the tea/coffee tray. The staff are friendly, attentive and couldn't be more helpful. However dinner was disappointing as was the porridge we had for breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry you were disappointed with the porridge, could I suggest a Full English next time which includes the world famous Boston Sausage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Yes, Mum got married last Saturday and chose this little place for the reception. As immediate family, I booked a couple of rooms for myself and (grown up) children. We didn't get off to the best of starts as, despite having made myself crystal clear about the need for all of us to have "proper" beds, I was disappointed to see a Z bed in one of the rooms. My youngest tried it and said she would be more comfortable sleeping on the floor. I raised this issue with reception who within a few minutes had arranged to put one of my children in a single room (aged 20, she was delighted). That's fine but only because the single was free. I think we would have had a real issue if the hotel had been completely full. I was determined not to let it spoil the weekend and indeed, the rest was very near perfect.

Taking the emotion out of this report, the rooms I saw were spacious, comfortable and a lovely mix of modern and traditional. The wifi worked perfectly. The breakfasts were fine. The location is really lovely, doves swooping across the wide expanse of lawn, not a breath of noise. Winding gravel driveway meandering to the front of the house, car park nicely out of the way but only just to the side of the building. The beds were as comfortable as you would wish to find anywhere.

But if you are having a wedding, not only do you need all the nuts and bolts in place, you need that additional something. Even now Im struggling to put my finger on it. Mum had been told to relax and not worry about a thing in preparation. She didn't and indeed had no need to be concerned. The food and wine provided for the meal was exceptional. My kids now want cheese soufflé twice a week. The room decoration was lovely. As the sun set with the speeches and laughter beginning, I was consumed by an unshakable feeling of contentment. The whole day was perfectly executed. A word for the staff. Every one I met and spoke with were excellent. Most had easy smiles and a great attitude to their work. Impressed.

To sum up, If I wanted a quiet weekend break, this would be a super choice. If I wanted a wedding venue for 60, this would take a lot of beating. thanks to all at Washingborough Hall!

Room Tip: We had room 22, facing the car park and above what looked like an extension of the kitchen but you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPHWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your most complimentary review - it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
2.0 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing