We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charming surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We booked this hotel for a quiet "away from it all" birthday celebration/getaway. We received a genuine welcoming reception even though we arrived early in the morning. We had booked a 2 day dinner, bed and breakfast deal in a classic double room. However we were immediately given a free upgrade to a 4 poster bedroom (Room 21) which was a charming surprise.
The room was lovely and clean, with a choice of both bath or shower.The food was superb, with a good choice of menu and wines, the dinners in particular were delicious, our sincere compliments to the chefs.We would certainly recommend this hotel to others and we hope to stay again one day .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35welltravelled35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had our wedding here on the 14th December last year and we cannot express highly enough of Lucy and her team. All our family and friends fell in love with Washingbrough Hall. It was our perfect wedding, small and intimate. Everything was A* from food to service. A big thank you to Lucy and her team for making our day so special in your beautiful Hall. Hoping to make a visit with my husband before harvest this year :) see you soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your great review, I'm delighted you and your guests enjoyed your wedding celebrations here. How about a late Spring Break after Easter ? Please see our website for some super Spring deals! - To celebrate the end of drilling?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Checked into the hotel for a birthday night away. Welcoming reception, without the corporate veneer...(i.e a genuine welcome!). Quirky layout which was quintessentially english, a little crooked in the corners but full of charm. Booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and the dinner was delicious and looked beautiful!. Super barman / dinner host who was charming, yet unassuming and was a great host. We were given an upgrade to the room, which was a welcome surprise and the room was lovely!. Only downside was the rather underpowered shower, but not a deal breaker. Breakfast was nice, home made jam and the toast was hand cut delicious loaf. PLEASE don't add so much rock salt to the tomatoes and mushrooms (I had to scrap it off!) but otherwise delicious. Local freshly brewed coffee and fresh fruit selection. Really great, fresh breakfast. Would recommend this hotel and we will be staying again, thanks for a super night away (romantic couples take note, this is THE place to stay...room 20 is a delight!)

Room Tip: we were upgraded to a four poster, room 20 which I would pay the extra for next time, gorgeous compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for your glowing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are thrilled you enjoyed your upgrade to one of our Four Poster Bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Late review - stayed there several months ago - July 2013 - but can't rate it highly enough.
Wonderful staff - charming, friendly and accommodating. Fabulous food. Lovely location.
Owner and wife live just close by and are warm and "listening" people.
A little difficult to find if travelling from the North with no satnav. - but worth the time taken to find it.
Sadly, we were in the area to attend the funeral of a very close friend - but the calm and peaceful atmosphere made our stay as comfortable as it could possibly have been.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us despite the circumstances of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Room 20 is a fantastic treat, traditional furniture, window seats and the grand four poster bed. The restaurant was a lovely experience, food and service top notch. For myself breakfast can be a second thought in some establishments but not this hotel, from the waitress who took great pride in her job to the homemade bread & marmalade that accompanied a very tasty cooked breakfast, made for a great end to the stay. I'm looking forward to a return visit in the summer. Love the creaky floorboards.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesnewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, even the undulating floorboards in Room 20!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Would agree with most of the other positive reviews ie friendly staff, very clean and comfortable, lovely cosy welcoming bar area, good position and quiet.

Only downsides was in the restaurant - good menu and good food so all fine in that area. Service was patchy - a private party was taking place in the room opposite and I think this is where all the attention was given (also very noisy). We poured our own wine all evening (no-one offered to do this) and normally in a good restaurant you would expect a canapé before the starter, or even an olive or something with your pre dinner drink - nothing at all. £235 DBB would not expect to pour my own wine. Staff conspicuous by their absence.

Cooked breakfast very nice - excellent ingredients well cooked. Very good coffee, but the most awful orange juice.

Nice stay but with a little more attention to detail could have been excellent.

Also extractor fan noise, which was turned off before bedtime, but was on again at 6:30 in the morning

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenfield31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. It certainly does sound like our normal levels of service were distracted by the private party in a neighbouring room - I'm extremely sorry about this and will contact you directly to discuss this further. We also take on board your comments about the orange juice and will look into improving this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

A great little quirky place , staff so friendly and chilled out , made it a pleasure to stay here after a long week. Often good places quickly disappear up their own 'reputation' if you get what I mean , but no pretentiousness here , just good honest friendly service , rib eye a good tasty steak , good whisky collection . Thank you

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Love it, 'Disappear up your own reputation'! Not heard that one before. Thank you for your lovely review, we are very lucky to have lots of great staff who consistently deliver what we ask of them and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,844 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#8 of 14 in Lincoln
864 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
367 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range: £89 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing