We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulge yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I were delighted with our recent stay at Washingborough
Hall. This handsome Georgian house boasts a variety of bedrooms,
ours a very comfortable four-poster on an upper floor, very attractive
and stylish public areas and a superb dining room. Dinner was the
highlight of our stay, it is easy to see why the restaurant enjoys
two AA rosettes, all of this complemented by an interesting wine
list and excellent service. Unfortunately breakfast did not reach
the same high standard, but all in all this is a good choice should
you wish to indulge yourself for a couple of days in the Lincolnshire
countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philcam45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place your review and also your feedback. It is always welcomed and helps us grow and develop in order to improve. Delighted that you found us and were able to indulge, something we should all do more of! Our chefs worked consistently hard to achieve the 2AA rosettes of which we are very proud, so enthused to hear that dinner was delicious, though disappointed that breakfast didn't match this. Our head chef Dan is keen to maintain our high standards across the board and is addressing breakfast currently! We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked a couple of nights here to get away from home and relax for our wedding anniversary.

From the moment we arrived we knew we had chosen the right place. The hotel is a great old building but remains a very personal hotel and sits in grounds that are very well tended. Once we arrived at reception to check-in and met Danni we knew that we were going to be very well looked after. This proved to be the case right through our stay, whether it was the chef sending out a plate to us in the evening with home made fudge on a plate with 'Happy Anniversary' written on it in chocolate sauce to the gentleman assisting me with my choice from the nicely stocked single malt shelf nothing was too much trouble.

The food we had was great and not overpriced and the breakfast gave enough choice to set you up for the day. As the hotel is only 3 miles from the centre of Lincoln it is ideal for being able to explore the City and then withdraw to the hotel with a very short taxi ride.

We are as happy to recommend this hotel to friends and family members as we would be to stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Wow, praise indeed - thank you! We love our 370 year old building and feel privledged to be able to run a business in such wonderful surroundings. We have a fantastic team here and from our dedicated gardener Roy - who prides himself in creating and maintaning the grounds to Danni on reception with her gentle caring manner, Rob your host and the team of chefs, we are all dleighted to have hleped you unwind! Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Following a busy weekend we were in need of a little TLC and our overnight visit to lovely Washingborough Hall delivered it! Our initial welcome was friendly and we enjoyed a cream tea before having a walk to the church and then down to the river with its views of the Cathedral. We were given room 14 which was lovely and spacious and offered the opportunity for the rest we needed before our Dinner
Dinner was excellent with good choice and served in the relaxed dining room.
A good nights sleep followed by an excellent breakfast finished off our stay. In a text to a friend we said that Washingborough had given us the cuddle we needed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your great review! We agree, Washingborough hall is a great place to unwind and enjoy each others company in peace and tranquility! Room 14 is a fantastic large executive room, downstairs in the hotel and much cooler in these warm temperatures of Summer. Our talented team of chefs are excellent at refueling with the wonderful Lincolnshire produce at hand! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Tries hard to be a country house hotel and in the main succeeds . A comfortable stay in a beautiful setting, relaxing and quiet. The quality of the food was very good,the room was clean and tidy and generally well appointed although like many hotels of this kind the shower was slightly under powered. It's a shame the fire in reception isn't in the bar area as we found this rather cool. The piano music was very pleasant over lunch however by 10 pm at night it had become very boring!!!! A change of CD would have been nice. Pleasant staff and overall enjoyed our stay

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jonbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We cannot rate this hotel highly enough. We recently had to stay over night as a family group for a funeral locally, with 2 young children as part of the party. The staff could not have done anymore to make us feel at home we were made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Every aspect of our stay was superb, I can highly recommend this hotel for any event you may want to book for.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan-Eleni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for your generous review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

What a hidden treasure! Wonderful, elegant yet quirky country house with super food, good rooms, a decent selection of wines and beautiful grounds. The icing on our cake however was the quality of service from all the staff. Friendly, efficient, thoughtful and cheerful, our family party of 12 were all made to feel so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and we can't thank them enough for making our sad funeral occasion that much easier to handle. Highly recommended - we hope to return in happier times. Thank you!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Eilean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for your glowing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We booked this hotel for a quiet "away from it all" birthday celebration/getaway. We received a genuine welcoming reception even though we arrived early in the morning. We had booked a 2 day dinner, bed and breakfast deal in a classic double room. However we were immediately given a free upgrade to a 4 poster bedroom (Room 21) which was a charming surprise.
The room was lovely and clean, with a choice of both bath or shower.The food was superb, with a good choice of menu and wines, the dinners in particular were delicious, our sincere compliments to the chefs.We would certainly recommend this hotel to others and we hope to stay again one day .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35welltravelled35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,823 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
854 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
537 reviews
2.0 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range: £90 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing