We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mat a country house experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Mat a country house experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Attended an afternoon tea for 20 ladies for a hen do Because we were a large group we had a separate room. It was very disappointing. What looked like a conference room in the basement. Sat on conference chairs at conference tables pushed together and covered in table cloths. Room was not very nicely decorated. Afternoon tea was not set out along the tables. It was top heavy at one end. Service was sadly lacking. We weren't checked on for alcohol drink refills very often at all. Sandwiches were ok nothing special. Cakes were very nice.
Would not recommend this hotel for a large gathering for afternoon tea. Did not have the country house hotel experience of comfy chairs and sofas sat in lovely rooms like I saw on the way in. Also didn't have delicate florally teacups and saucers but functional white conference crockery
Very disappointed.

Was booked a month in advance Were apparently charged £50 extra for the experience on top of the usual afternoon tea charge

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I do understand your concerns, your experience doesn't represent the normal Washingborough Hall afternoon tea experience. You were part of a hen party group and you had a lot of fun in a private room. I don't think we could have permitted such fun in a more public area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    104
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
154
310
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Top service,top staff, top presentation! Our arrival time was totally uncertain and we were unable to book a time for dinner but after an email to "Washy Hall" a prompt reply told us not to worry. We had stayed before and knew that although we were "veggies" the menu accommodated us well - to our surprise on arrival we were told the chef had written a vegetarian menu especially for us! Three choices on each course, all sounding lovely made us feel VERY guilty when we both ordered the same on two courses. The dinners alone here are worth the visit. Our room was lovely - beautiful decor, spotlessly clean and surprise extras - in fact the whole hotel is lovely! The staff are super treating us like human beings ( this visit was made during a difficult time for our family) and they made us feel cared about when we needed it! We will certainly be visiting again - can't really say enough in "Washy Hall's" praise.

Room Tip: Not sure there could be a bad room here! Room 22 is next to a day time meeting room so nicely tucked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review, Ness on reception is certainly the one to put your mind at ease in order to look after your every need. The housekeeping team also work hard to ensure the high standards, with Louise as head housekeeper responsible in maintaning the beautiful fixtures and fittings for all to enjoy. We are well placed in this peaceful village, next to the church and only 2 miles from the crem to look after guests who have travelled from further afield to be with family at difficult times and need some RR and a little care. Please do visit us again under happier circumstances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had our wedding at Washingborough Hall and had the most amazing day.Lucy was extremely efficient and helpful, Dan the chef was extremely accommodating and helpful with our various dietary needs and Robert created our beautiful bouquets and flower arrangements.We had an amazing day In amazing surroundings, we always feel we are coming home when we visit this hotel, all the staff are lovely and helpful and nothing is too much trouble, hope to be back very very soon, many thanks to you all, lots of best wishes, Lynne and Sue Mattinson. Xx

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite which is absolutely lovely and very spacious and overlooks the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Lynne and Sue - thank you very much for your review and indeed to choosing to have your beautiful wedding here. It was our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As the title says....we were greeted initially on our first night by a young lady who was the most welcoming person we have ever met in all our hotel experiences. She really made an effort to make sure we settled in and explained everything to us clearly and showed us to our room.
Jolly, good sense of humour and professional. Well done!
As for the hotel, the room (16) was good with excellent free wifi good mobile signal (02) everything you would expect with added complimentary water and home made biscuits. Over looked the grave yard, which is not a negative comment as we find it peaceful and somewhat calming.
Shower very good, great pillows and sheets and comfy bed.
As people have said, beautiful grounds and a grand building, you can stop in the most beautiful place in the world but if you are not made to feel welcome it spoils the whole experience, not so here. I cannot get over how all the staff try their best to look after you. Suggest other hotels send their staff here to get trained.
You can tell they can accommodate at any level but treat everyone with the same respect.

Never tried breakfast, but dinner was lovely, and on our second night we had sandwiches in the room (wanted to watch the World Cup) and they were fantastic, really nice little bedroom picnic.

We had an unexpected guest stay with us overnight, who must have got in whilst we went down for dinner. We left the window open and never noticed or heard a thing, but in the morning my wife saw a pigeon asleep under the chair, we found it hilarious and got a towel and put it out, funnily enough it sat on the window cill for ages it didn't want to go! Don't be put off, the chances of that happening again are very remote, but I wished we had videoed it and sent it to 'You've Been Framed'.
Sorry to put such a long winded review, most of you won't get as far down as this, but if you do stay here...it's worth it! Oh and it's reasonable on price £62 for room only, better than any chain for that price.
See you soon Washy Hall.

Room Tip: Bring plenty of thank you's, you'll need them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackfrostsfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review and recognition of Danni and all the team for their top customer service! That naughty pigeon, had earlier been sat on the bar, until I caught it and encouraged him out the window! He must have just popped up one level to join you! Apoligies for that, with sliding sash windows, it seems an open invitation! Hope to see your return very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful country hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful they made you feel at home as as you entered the hotel, the food was excellent. We stayed in room 20 it was beautiful with the four poster bed the view out the front windows looked over the lovely garden. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends. Thank you all for making our stay so memorable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joolslouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your Anniversary stay, room 20 our bridal suite is certainly a treat with the full view of the garden and the dovecot too! Maybe get the family to join you for an extended sunday lunch next time in one of our private dining rooms - perfect for celebrations! Thank you and hope to see you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel set in stunning grounds & fantastic food Even the pillows are soft , always a good sign . It's a family run hotel & the owners are very welcoming. The head chef Dan delivers high quality food. The Boston sausages are a MUST! We'll be back.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you! Let us know when you next book in to stay and we'll get you some famous Boston Sausage to take home with you! Though you can buy them on line now as they are so popular. Thrilled you enjoyed your stay, Sue certainly knows how to cook a great breakfast! Visit soon please
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights when visiting antiques fair in Newark which was only 30 min drive away. Hotel is a really nice an old Georgian house on beautiful grounds, staff could not be nicer and food was excellent for both dinner and breakfast . Rooms were done in a modern style which was really nice . Shower could have been stronger but overall I would definately use this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor_IRL_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
June is a great time to visit Lincolnshire - with the Lincolnshire Show and the Antiques it is a very busy month. Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to place your review, the team always enjoy a on line pat on the back, it is greatly appreciated. We are currently looking at a refurbishment program for the boilers/shower systems and also building an orangery style extension for compleion in April 2015, we hope to see you back next June, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
821 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
486 reviews
2.0 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,031 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing