We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friends wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friends wedding”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely setting and very easy to find.The staff were all very friendly and very helpful for any need.
I had a single room which was rather small and hot,but it was fine for it's purpose.The food was also to a good standard.

Room Tip: Don't book a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattyb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you Matty from Bristol (as your namecard said!) for your review. It was a great wedding, fab couple and great memories! Hope to see you back in Lincolnshire soon. BW Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    105
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
154
312
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

After attending a wedding here this month, I found the grounds to be perfect for a wedding, the service was excellent and the rooms were very clean, tidy and well dressed and maintained. My only concern was the size of the function rooms, if you can call them that, they are very small, and feel that a marque may have been better for a large party in the future.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ndbarry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased in the main you enjoyed the wedding we hosted, we take a great deal of pride in hosting these special days. I am dissappointed that our main dining function room was not what you had expected, we do say that the maximum for this room is 55 for an event such as a wedding or special celebration, as we specialize in exclusive, tailor made events, it is unique to have our 3 acres and the whole use of the hotel including its 12 bedrooms for complete privacy. We are located within a residential area and feel that the regular use of marques is not the sector for us, we have however been sucessful with planning permission to build an orangery style extension, to sit up to 100 in the main dining room - this starts in October and completes in mid March. Onwards and upwards! BW Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Three of us spent a brilliant girlie weekend here. Everyone was so friendly and looked after us perfectly. Special mention goes to Robert who did everything he could to make our time special and was just an absolutely lovely person. The food was fab, the rooms tasteful, beautifully clean, and the beds really comfortable. The decor is elegant and pleasing. The gardens are very tastefully planted and soooo beautifully kept. The hotel is truly dog friendly Thank you all so much - we had a great time and we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you Liz for your great review! I am delighted you enjoyed some rest and relaxation at our hotel. It is a great location for peace but also so handy for popping to historic Lincoln. Robert is a superstar, he is passionate about looking after guests and is part of a fabulous team who are a credit to Washingborough hall, be it for leisure, business, romance or weddings! My husband and our gardener Roy are also passionate about the grounds, Edward takes care of the lawns, first impressions are very important to us and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the whole Washy experience! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, thank you - BW Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I'm 32, normal, average person on an average wage with high cleanliness standards and I seem to spot things places/people could do better but not deliberately...they just occur to me.

So, my partner and I were booked into the hotel as wedding guests and we booked an extra night at a discounted rate which was good and the lady on the phone was very helpful, polite and friendly...all good so far.

We notified them of our late arrival, not a problem, nothing appeared to be too much trouble.
Lovely setting, gardens and grounds for a quiet retreat and we loved the old character of the building but with the subtle and effective modern touches/decoration. It has a comfortable bar area with window seats and a variety of vintage/sheek seating arrangements and a snug area just off of the bar with about 6 seats - a great little cosy area with leather armchairs etc.

The waiting staff were extremely polite and accommodating and deserve praise especially those at breakfast.

Our room was compact but beautifully decorated with a modern bathroom, very comfortable bed, blacked out curtains, refreshments with home made biscuits, a window seat, quiet appointment, a flat screen TV, hair dryer etc and was really clean.

The food was AMAZING!! The owners who clearly know how to look after their guests and have excellent standards (without making you feel like you're being watched or scrutinised) and attention to detail combined with such an amazing chef/kitchen team = perfect wedding satisfaction! It is the only meal I could not pick fault with...at all...in years. Simple, elegant, quality, modern combinations and fresh ideas cooked and served to perfection. I hope the combination of the owners/chef long continues because their mix is a truly rare thing.

You would need to have a car to stay here as the centre of Lincoln is about a 6-8 minute drive or you could get a taxi for £10-15 although there is a village shop open certain hours or you could just not go anywhere but the hotel!!

Money very well spent and I would definitely recommend to anyone who's in need of accommodation the area and who might appreciate similar things to us as detailed above.

A truly lovely experience, thank you team.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCDcleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I am delighted we exceeded your exceptionally high standards, that truely is praise in deed - thank you for taking the time to place such a fabulous review! The bedroom you stayed in was recently refurbished, we also invested in all new beds throughout the hotel to maximise comfort to our guests. Head housekeeper Louise works hard to maintain and improve standards throughout this beautiful Georgian house. Wedding menus are something we over deliver on, I am delighted you enjoyed both of your dining experiences, the Kitchen team headed up by young Dan Wallis (local food hero), who has been at the hotel for 14 years is passionate about his role within this great business. The front of house team, from breakfast with Jane and Vicky who are fantastic, to Rob and his team, we are very lucky because we couldn't do it without them! We would welcome you spreading the word and hope to see you return very soon. Best regards, Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Friendly and responsive hotel with lovely gardens and superb food in the restaurant - no, I mean it, really good. Recommended. There is nice short walk down to the river. It is more geared to weddings and parties but they seem to be very good about not confusing wedding events with the need for regular guests not to have their evening spoiled and will only (so we understand) accept regular bookings for non-wedding nights but do check yourself. Classic entrepreneurial small family business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimPKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
'Classic entrepreneurial small family business'- thank you! That is a great compliment and 1 that we will thrive off! We have a great team here at Washingborough and thoroughly enjoy looking after all our guests. Weddings are an important factor here and we feel that our exclusive weddings are the perfect way to enjoy such a special day with family and friends in their own English Country Hall for the day and evening celebrations. We also feel lucky to be on the ourskirts of such a fantastic Cathedral City of LIncoln, so much to do and see, our home from home experience offers both adventure and relaxation with great food and hospitable service! Thank you for taking the time to place your great review, hope to see you agian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just attended a Wedding here this past weekend - it was absolutely fantastic. Stayed in their family room (14) - ample space, even with 5 of us. Room furnished to a very high standard too - managed to easily fit all 3 kids in the bath at once!

The food for the Wedding was delicious - beautifully cooked and elegantly presented. Attention to detail from the small but highly trained team of staff was second to none. Bar was well stocked and reasonably priced too. The general access areas of the hotel appeared to be on one level too - split over several quaint and quirky rooms - so much so the 100 or so guests at night never felt overcrowded.

Would absolutely recommend this hotel - certainly worth the 10 minute drive from the City Centre if you crave the country side feel (impeccably kept hotel grounds btw), without being to far from the 'big smoke'! We shall be returning for a weekend break in the future without doubt.

Many thanks to all the Team at Washingborough Hall Hotel for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Room 14 a great sized room for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyMorgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Wow! Thank you very much for your superb review, it was a pleasure to read and the team are enthused from your positive feedback. As a privately owned and run boutique hotel we aim high in customer satisfaction and attention to detail is imperative to ensure our guests individual requirments. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Loved the whole atmosphere of Washingborough Hall, the staff were attentive and helpful, the food was delicious and the room that we stayed in was lovely.
The area is lovely and quiet but only a short ride by car or local bus to Lincoln city center.
Our only niggle was that the breakfast was a little on the small side, other than that we went home relaxed and content.
Many thanks to the staff of Washingborough for making this an enjoyable short stay.
Claire and Richard Wildon

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you Claire and Richard for taking the time to place your review, delighted that our fantastic team made you feel welcome and you enjoyed your 2 AA rosette experience in our restaurant. I have had breakfast in the hotel this week and have tweaked our offering in order that it too hits the mark! We are well located for a peaceful stay and only 2 miles from Lincoln, we are also happy to drop our guests off in Lincoln to save their legs! However the bus route is very handy, we also have bikes that we lend to our guests if they fancy Route 1 Sustrands along the tow path! Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#8 of 14 in Lincoln
825 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,712 reviews
2.0 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,042 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing