We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2009

A really sweet privately owned Hotel just outside of Lincoln.
Very friendly staff, deeply cute bedroom! As a lone traveller I had a single room up in what I guess would have once been the servants quarters. Really sweet room, very small but did me perfectly well.

No remote for TV which was a pain when you were in bed all wrapped up and warm.

I dont think they do room service, but I was a late arrival and so rang en route and asked if they could do me a sandwich in my room when I arrived, and they had no problem with that

I do just think it was overpriced. I feel mean saying that because it was very sweet... but overpriced.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evergreenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

781 - 786 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2009

Second visit to this hidden gem on the out skirts of Lincoln. Wonderful food and good service served in very comfortable surroundings.
The 4 poster room like the rest of the hotel is clean, spacious and full of charm and character. If youre looking for a relaxing break around the Lincoln area, i would not hesitate to recommend Washingborough Hall. Peaceful location, great food, service and accommodation. What more could you ask for

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nogolftoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We had a lovely time at the Washingborough. It's tucked away in a quiet area of Lincoln, and is easy enough to find. We were warmly welcomed by everyone (!), from the owners to the cleaners, which was a really pleasant surpise. Our room had a high ceiling that made it feel comfortable and spacious. The bathroom had a spa bath, which was fun, and the everything was clean.

Such is the nature of the place that I got talking to the owner who told me it was run by a couple who had just taken over the place and it was under new management. Everybody seemed really happy to help and look after us. We had a great time and I'm sure it will continue to go from strength to strength. Recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Two good friends and I stayed at Washingborough Hall, just outside Lincoln, for a two-night break in the new year (Fri 3rd and Sat 4th Jan). We were immediately welcomed by the enthusiastic staff and felt looked after throughout our stay. Our rooms were well-appointed, quietly stylish and comfortable. A generous breakfast was cooked to order with high quality ingredients and the unfussy dinner menu (we chose it initially for its 2 dining rosettes) was very tasty and well-cooked with good quality, fresh ingredients. The public rooms like the Wedgwood dining room and drawing room were elegant but comfy and a lovely log fire kept out the cold when we sat on sofas and ate smoked salmon butties on arrival. A genuine 'find' which, we were told, is recently under new ownership and aiming to up its profile. Next to historic Lincoln with its majestic gothic catherdral and boutique shops, you couldn't ask for much more. We paid about £220 each DB&B, 1 single and 1 twin with various eating and drinking additions. The only criticisms we could come up with between us were: they should get a proper coffee machine and the soap dispenser in the ladies tries to water-pistol your blouse. We'll certainly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PamperLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

The hotel is set in a very quiet area with nice grounds. I stayed there on business and had a very small single room. The wardrobe could only take two shirts. The eves of the roof cut into the room and was made worse by the pigeons living in it! The staff knew they were there and were not concerned but they were four or five feet away from my head scratching about when I was laying in bed.

Breakfast is good. Dinner is very overpriced, I paid £25 for two courses and expected much higher quality food.

On the plus side it was a cosy place to have a beer in the evening in front of the open fire. Staff are friendly. This hotel could be much more.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TomStubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldtimerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washingborough
2.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,914 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#8 of 14 in Lincoln
884 reviews
3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
575 reviews
2 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range: £88 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 20 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing