We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good new year celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Branston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good new year celebration”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We went here for new years eve. We didn't stay overnight as we have relatives nearby. We started with drinks and canapés in a lounge which was large and warm. We choose our meal and were called to the dining room when it was ready. The meal in the dining room before the evenings entertainment in a separate function room. The meal was great really good quality, 5 courses, not huge courses but plenty of food overall. We had a magician who entertained during the meal which was fun and he was very good. The meal time was quiet enough to catch up with friends. The evening had a disco that was a little loud for me but they all are these days. Due to the property size it was a fairly small number of people I would guess at about 100 luckily they were all up and dancing and having fun so it didn't feel to small a group.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    307
    129
    49
    34
See reviews for
146
596
11
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked here for 2 nights, a Sunday and Monday after visiting friends nearby. The building and grounds were very impressive, ample parking, professional and helpful receptionist (Jess). The room (111) was rather on the small side and a bit old fashioned but we were offered an upgrade if we wanted one. The open fire in the bar area was relaxing as was the informal drawing room where we could sit and enjoy a nice bottle of wine. The bar food was reasonably priced and a good variety of food to choose from. As we booked to stay on a Sunday the hotel was very quiet which was nice for us. We enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and gym and had the facilities all to ourselves. Breakfast was first class, a good choice of cereals and as the hotel was practically empty we could choose cooked food to order off the menu. Bathroom very nice and I particuarly enjoyed the White Company toiletries. The receptionist was very helpful giving us directions of where to park in the City centre and provided a map too. The bar area was very comfortable with a good selection of newspapers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveIbiza_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

There seems to be nowhere to comment on the open to the public restaurant, so I will write my review here.
Fantastic setting, beautiful Hall, massive fireplace and drawing room once through reception. That is enough to set the scene for most people and the food does not disappoint. We took my parents who have lived in Branston for 45 years and only eaten there once before, two years ago. It was good then and it is good now. The full 3 course mhas actually gone down in price by a couple of quid which makes it good value at £15 for 2 courses and £18 for 3.
A proper high ceilinged, white tableclothed, silver service lunch experience. Fantastic views, plenty of space on the tables and in between tables. Attentive staff. Good choice for Sunday lunch (6 mains) two courses enough unless you are a fatty. Reasonable wine list and quite a large selection by the glass.
I will go again. Especially during the winter as you get the advantage of the big log fire and less chance of a wedding 'block booking'

Room Tip: Restaurant only review. No details
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln, lincs uk
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

What a wonderful christmas. Everything first class and such dedicated staff. I was ill all over the stay and they were so good to me brought me soup, sorbet etc to my room.It was a shame I couldnt enjoy everything but we carnt choose when these nasty bugs come to us. We shall definately go next year again and so will the rest of our party. This time I shall order good health.I shall also use this place more for afternoon teas and sunday lunches, including dinners as well. I cannot recommend this place enough its a real gem hidden in wonderful grounds with a lake. Lots to offer, the swimming pool, sauna and jaccuzi also Simpsons beauty salon. Thank you all If I had to complain the only thing I could say was our room 402 was very tiny but then it was warm and friendly so it could have been large and cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annthegran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Just done one night with friends as a break from the Christmas rush. This was our first visit and we were greeted very cheerfully by the receptionist - who was excellent. We had rooms 216 and 217 - both lovely - with fantastic views, comfy bed, nice colours and huge bath. The only downside to our room turned out to be the pathetically slow shower.
Afternoon tea was very civilised - lounging on comfy sofas overlooking the grounds - however, we did expect some home made fayre on the tray - which was slightly disappointing. Nevertheless, what was offered was very acceptable.
The hotel was reasonably busy, with a wedding also taking place, but this added to the overall ambience.
Evening meal was nice. Well paced, good service and the right blend of friendliness and professionalism. I have had better food but no complaints as the overall experience was good.
We later relaxed on the comfy sofas again for a nightcap - which gave the friendly barman the opportunity to recommend a good malt - and a good choice it was thank you!
Breakfast next morning was again very acceptable. I was wary of the hot food in those keep hot tureens but my reticence was unjustified. The food was hot and tasty and my fellow guests all ordered fried eggs which were cooked to order. Service was again good, with tea and coffee refills offered and accepted.
The place is an impressive building in a lovely setting - and was festively trimmed nicely. We felt that overall the decor was a little tired but not shabby.
In summary, we had a very pleasant time. The best bit, aside from the lovely setting of the room, was the very friendly and professional staff.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chamsume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I spend a lot of my working life staying in hotels, and when I'm working I expect a hotel to be comfortable, functional and efficient.

When it comes to staying in hotels for other reasons, holidays, short breaks, Christmas, I expect something a little special. This was the second Christmas we've spent doing a hotel break, and Branston Hall creates a great air of excitement with the pictures and the detailed description of the Christmas package on its website. The hotel is in a great location. It feels like it's deep in the country and yet it's probably no longer than 5 minutes drive from Lincoln station.

Arriving on a darkening Christmas Eve afternoon, the building does not disappoint. Pulling up under a stone portico, there are lots of staff around to help unload the extra bags that Christmas entails. Check-in is easy, efficient, and fun, with a first-class receptionist.

The hotel itself is grand, yet homely, with a huge log fire burning in front of the sofas in the bar. That's a further lounge with lots of big comfortable sofas, just the place to slowly doze off while reading the paper or playing a board game.

Having my 92-year-old mum in tow over the Christmas break, we were given two adjacent rooms on the 1st floor, both fourposter rooms. The rooms are spacious, with great views out over the estate, but I would have to say it would be hard to call them luxurious. The White Company toiletries are provided, but not in abundance. The furniture seems to be an eclectic mix of 1980s DFS, and antique, and obviously the rooms have not seen an interior designer for many years.

We had a problem with hot water in the bathroom of our first room and were moved to an adjacent room which was even more spacious, and had a fabulous view over the lake. However double glazing is something that Branston Hall is yet to invest in (probably because it's a listed building) but it does mean that the rooms can be draughty. The corner bath's used in most of the bathrooms tend to make them look like something out of a 1980s porn movie in this age of the boutique hotel roll top bath. When making this room move, we were shown an adjacent room that had twin beds, in case we wanted to use it to shower. Obviously not one of the fourposter rooms, but it did resemble a monk's cell and again suffered from terribly drab decor, and in this instance a lack of space.

In all hotels these days, Wi-Fi is considered to be an essential. On their website Branston Hall say that they have broadband access in all parts of the hotel. They might want to address this as it could be taken to be a flagrant breach of the trades descriptions act. When you could get broadband access it was good and fast. However, in both rooms that we stayed in, in order to log on and pick up the signal, we had to step out of the room into the corridor. The signal also dropped off a great many times, and it's incredibly frustrating that the system they use is one where you have to log back in with both username and password every occasion. This means that you're reduced to carrying around a small scrap of paper with these details on throughout your stay. Perhaps they might get an open access system which people can log onto without security details - the hotel is in a pretty isolated spot away from other houses, and perhaps they should amend their website so that broadband access is available.

The hotel did make a reduction for the inconvenience of having to change rooms without being asked. That's also good service.

We stayed on a three-day Christmas package which at £1200 for 3 people is good value for money. All meals are included. Excellent breakfasts, good lunches, and in general good food. The staff are incredibly nice, and particularly at Christmas went out of their way to ensure that the guests have everything they need. There is a lack of finesse in the serving in the restaurant as has been pointed out in other reviews on this site. The fact that the hotel is "busy" is certainly no excuse for suddenly deciding to dump the cheese selection onto white plates, when we had spent 20 minutes watching it passes on its way to other tables beautifully presented on black slates. They just needed to wash up some more slates. main courses were fantastic throughout the state, but each meal was accompanied by an uninspiring selection of vegetables presented on one of those dreadful crescent side plates. roast potatoes like bullets, and sprouts like ping-pong balls.

The reason the break was so enjoyable however were the staff. I'm sure they get overtime working over Christmas, but they are giving up time with their families in order to make sure that we had everything we wanted, and they did it with an incredibly good grace, whether it was Jonathan organising a room change, Dan organising a Christmas night quiz and boxing night entertainment and generally being around and noticing when one's glass was empty, Sarah in the restaurant, Sian, and Angela, and the other great girls on the team at reception, and Jane the head chambermaid who also managed to come up with a suggestion for a morning run for my partner.

Yes, it's nice when a hotel is a beautifully designed and elegantly furnished creation. Ultimately it's the people who make any place, and it certainly the staff who make Branston Hall

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a four poster room with space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at Branston Hall over Christmas and we were again not disapointed. It is a stunning English Country House Hotel set in extensive parkland over looking a lake. We were met by roaring log fire and christmas carols being sung by a accomplished choir in the wood pannelled hall/bar area. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Staff were attentive, professional and friendly. All meals were well cooked and presented. The fitness room was well appointed and clean. This is just the right setting for a relaxed holiday break. After the Christmas meal we could relax with coffe and brandy in the over stuffed sofas in the lounge or take a brisk walk in the park or around the lake. Lincoln is only a short drive away with the Castle, Cathedral or the old quarter to explore. Can't wait to book for next year.

Room Tip: Best view over the lake at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
11.2 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
916 reviews
2.0 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,719 reviews
3.6 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
496 reviews
24.8 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branston Hall Hotel

Property: Branston Hall Hotel
Address: Lincoln Road | Lincoln, Branston LN4 1PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Branston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Branston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Country House Hotel situated in well manicured gardens with lake views sat in 88 acres of wooded Parkland. Lincolnshire's Premier weddings venue, Ideal for conference and romantic breaks too. Our fine dining AA Rosette Restaurant and informal bar menu offer both fine and casual dining both at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Branston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branston Hall Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing