We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could of been a five”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Branston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Could of been a five”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in lovely surroundings a the view while having a drink over looking the lake .If there had been more time there are some walks around the grounds .It is also interesting looking at the pictures given by air crews who have stayed there.The staff were friendly and helpful .The room had an old world charm and was a nice size .The only let down was the food .I had a bar snack and I have had better burgers at the average snack van .There were a few overdone chips along with it a major disappointment .

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 186459And123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear reviewer,
Your constructive comments have been noted; sorry you did not enjoy your bar meal.
We hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    304
    127
    49
    33
See reviews for
145
591
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had another lovely two night stay at this charming hotel. Evening meal and breakfast was lovely. Beautiful grounds and friendly staff.

I had arranged to have a surprise parcel for my partners 50th delivered and had called the day before to ask for it to be put in the room as a surprise. I was assured this would be done so I was a bit disappointed when the receptionist announced that a parcel had been delivered and was in the room in front of my partner, which spoilt the surprise a bit. Also we were offered an upgrade for £45 so obviously better rooms were available and I thought it would have been a nice touch if we had been offered it free of charge for his birthday, considering this was our 5th visit in 2 years. There wasn't so much as a free drink on the house. I work in the hospitality industry and this is something we very often do for celebrating guests but I guess not all hotels operate in this manner.

Still had a very enjoyable stay though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P0p7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thanks for taking the time to post this review and for the 4 star score. I was sorry to read the few bits that took the edge off of your stay.
We do hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A lovely Victorian house for our anniversary. This building still holds on to its Victorian solidity.
The staff were excellent and the service was beautifully discreet. The food good and full of flavour, served with style and no silly frills. In the public area the grandeur was faded, for me this added to the charm.The pool, hot tub and sauna, were just right.
The bedroom however was big enough but the furniture was humorously chunky. The bed was not a double but two singles pushed together with a lump in the middle restricting romance! Room 118 overlooks the kitchens and therefore we were serenaded by the cooling fans from below.
But hey, guess what! It was great fun and I would go back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear reviewer,
Your constructive comments have been noted and will be acted upon.
We hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Chose this hotel for a last minute overnight stay. Yes the room was small but fine for our needs - beds were comfortable, had bar meals - very good and no problems with service, breakfast excellent. Took advantage of spa. Staff friendly
Agree with comments about some furnishings being in need of upgrading and hotel is not 100% spotless re dust etc but it is an old country house, set in nice surroundings, and most importantly not part of a faceless chain.
It was good value for money and would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anothergrumpymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TA and for the perfect 5 star score! It was very pleasing to read your comments and again, thankyou. Your comments will be passed on to the whole team whom I am sure will appreciate the read as they do work hard to keep our guests happy.
We hope to welcome you back to the Branston Hall again, and as a thankyou gesture we will be happy to discount our best available rate to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks and Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick upon Tweed
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

For this quality of hotel some staff need retraining! Serving a bottle of Lager in a pint glass for my wife is not not good. Given menus and order not taken for 45 minutes. In the end I had to ask for our order to be taken. Excuse was a party has changed their order. I would add the restaurant was not busy with about 6 tables dining in total. We stayed at a lesser quality hotel in Suffolk 2 days before and food was the best I have had for a long time and staff excellent! Don't think I would go back to branston hall hotel in a hurry.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Robin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Robin 16,
You are absolutely correct, attention to detail and training are what makes or breaks a guests stay. I am so sorry you experienced the lesser side of the team. I wont try to make any excuses, we failed you during your stay.
I can only apologise and let you know we will look into this further. Should you wish to discuss this further with the hotel manager direct he would be happy to discuss this matter with you.
Kind Regards,
Branston Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick upon Tweed
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here two nights to break up long journey home, fabulous setting, very quiet, rooms were very warm as were on the top floor (no twin upgrades?), however asked housekeeping if we could have sheets instead of duvets which they did, Reception staff were excellent on arrival, giving information on Lincoln, took bus in, so easy.
A little dissapointed with menu, a lot of extras, we were DBB so not a lot of choice without paying extra, main courses were cooked well, however not too my taste, the sauces over powered the beautiful meat,Pity,also same menu both nights, however the staff were very good, the pool and spa were excellent, all in all an enjoyable two nights. May thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear reviewer,
Your constructive comments have been noted, thankyou.
We hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This was a treat for my 40th birthday from my parents. My mum and I had a two night stay and used Simpsons spa facilities. The hotel is lovely with friendly staff. We ate in the restraurant for breakfast which was lovely. We also had dinner there on the Saturday which was busy. The food was fabulous, thoroughly enjoyed the full meal. We stayed in an upgraded room, which was nice. The only criticism I have is that the room had a double bed which is great for couples but not for sharing with your mum! No upgrades with twin beds or a king-size bed which was a little disappointing. If it had not been for this I would have given five stars! Would go back. Spa was amazing too, set in the beautiful hotel grounds.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Vanessa W,
Many thanks for taking the itme to write this review and for the 4 star score. Sorry that we did not have the room type available that you would have preferred.
We hope to welcome you back to Branston Hall again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at BHH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
11.2 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
899 reviews
2.0 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
18.3 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
486 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branston Hall Hotel

Property: Branston Hall Hotel
Address: Lincoln Road | Lincoln, Branston LN4 1PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Branston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Branston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Country House Hotel situated in well manicured gardens with lake views sat in 88 acres of wooded Parkland. Lincolnshire's Premier weddings venue, Ideal for conference and romantic breaks too. Our fine dining AA Rosette Restaurant and informal bar menu offer both fine and casual dining both at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Branston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branston Hall Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing