We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serious let down this stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pride of Lincoln
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Hykeham
blackpool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A serious let down this stay!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Arrived after a 3 hour trip, to stay for one night, We arrived at 6.30 pm, we stood in an abandoned reception area pressing a desk bell for 25mins!!!!! with no response, my husband then went looking for a member of staff, the only place to find one was in the pub A fayre & Square, which is joined onto the hotel, we were told that the bell didn't work. We eventually got booked in and went to our room, the first thing we wanted was a cup of coffee after our long trip, to find we had one cup between us, my husband then had to go back to the reception area to find a member of staff again which took a further 10 mins to get a cup. The room hadn't been cleaned properly as when placing my cup on the bedside cabinet it was covered sticky stuff, a bit like honey.
We then went to the pub joined to the hotel and had a bite to eat which was very nice but we went to order a bottle of wine at the bar and was told it would be brought over to us, 20 mins later my husband went in search of our bottle of wine, the bar man who served him was sat at a table chatting with a young lady and when asked he laughed and said he had forgot!
We left the bar at 11pm and went to bed, we were woke about every 45 mins throughout the night with a horendous banging it sounded like someone had a big stick and was banging on all the radiators, this lasted about 3 mins every 45 mins. On leaving the hotel we met the cleaner, we asked what the noises were she said "oh we have plumbing a pipe problems.....sorry"
We have mad a complaint to the hotel and await their response.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopyloo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    115
    55
    40
    32
See reviews for
59
138
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Reasonably priced, clean, spacious rooms. Sound proofing of the rooms was not too good, you could hear people in adjacent rooms talking & flushing the toilet. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent service & food on the restaurant side, Waiting time for orders very short. On the down side there were a lot of flies in the bar/restaurant, that I was assured was being looked into.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueJay876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Had a short stay in Lincoln to see the local area, the access roads near to the hotel were having roadworks so it was a little awkward to access initially, in the light of day it was much easier to find. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming, the room was large and comfortable, although the decor was a little tired. The room was booked online and the price was good, parking plentiful and handy for a drink before bed at the pub next door. There was a function one evening which was very loud, the reception had phoned a couple of days beforehand to pre-warn us and as there was free cancellation this was an option for us, The function ended smack on midnight and didn't impinge on a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: If the hotel contact you that there is a noisy function on, don't expect an early night with chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed with my boyfriend for a quick mid-week getaway and this was the first experience of the 'Lincoln' hospitality.
Booked online so haven't any comment to make about that but it was a good price.

Was easy to find and has a very 'imposing' stance from the road.

There is ample parking right infrot of the hotel and the check-in was very swift.

The hotel has a certain 'character' with its curved walls in the reception.
Don't expect all shiny and bling decor but it is a nice hotel and fitting with its 'Roundhouse' charm

The room was a good size and had a comfy bed and all standard facilities I would expect.
The view is over the car-park but hey-it's a roadside hotel so I wasn't expecting anything else!

I had a bath before the boyfriend arrived and the water was piping hot and the bathroom very clean. The shower pressure the morning after was also good!

We had a drink in the bar and there were some people eating and the food looked of a good standard and portion size.
The drink selection is farily standard and the tables were clean.
The reception called us a taxi into town which was helpful.

All in all this is a nice hotel, very fit for purpose and if I was in the area again I would stay.

Room Tip: Either you get a view of the road or the car-park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

After staying at the ibis just across from the pride of Lincoln on New Year's Eve, me and my partner decided to try the pride on the 1st before a long drive home in bad weather. We were beyond impressed, the lady at reception was so friendly and we were offered the late rooms price without asking, we had an early checkin and had a coffee in the pub/ restaurant next door and the receptionist was kind enough to pop across to tell us house keeping had finished and we were find to go to the room.

The room was lovely, very large, with a lovely bathrooms with a huge bath in it. Very clean and comfy, we were so impressed at the price, for only £15 more than the Ibis we got a large clean rooms with a lovely bathroom and just a nicer experience all round.

We had a nice pub dinner next door, which was great value for money and also tasty, once again the reception was very friendly on check out and if I am in that part of Lincoln again I will defiantly be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1990elocin1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Having stayed at this hotel for two nights over the New Year period, I feel I must compliment the staff on their friendliness and helpfulness during our break. Nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

Our room was lovely and clean and good service was provided by all the staff, even over the busy Festive/New Year period. The Pride of Lincoln Fayre and Square pub/restaurant next door provides the usual chain "pub grub" and is a nice place for a relaxing drink.

Yes, as said by other reviewers, the Function Room is very noisy, but it was only what we expected, having stayed on New Year's Eve...!!!

The hotel is on the outskirts of Lincoln and although it is a good 20 minute drive into the city centre, it was ideally placed for our stay.

We had no complaints and would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Excellent fast service, lovely staff, brilliant food - incredible prices!
Would recommend for an intimate evening or colleague meet.
Staff continuously went the extra mile to make our stay perfect.
Highly recommended.

Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hykeham
0.1 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
705 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,686 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
4.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pride of Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pride of Lincoln

Property: The Pride of Lincoln
Address: Whisby Road, North Hykeham, Lincoln LN6 3QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > North Hykeham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Hykeham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pride of Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pride of Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pride Of Lincoln Hotel North Hykeham
The Pride Of Lincoln North Hykeham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing