We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best I've Ever Stayed In !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gables Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is one of the best B&B's I've stayed in around the world. As a vegetarian they accommodated my needs really well. breakfast was superb and you have to try the homemade yoghurt.
The rooms are pleasant and very welcoming. The couple who own the place are very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.

Recommend to all choose here first!!!!!

the only down fall is the sat nav takes you across the road and they need bigger spoons in the bedrooms for the large mugs

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for The Gables Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here on my own for the night. Was made to feel very welcome and comfortable. The accommodation was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for me. Would certainly recommend this guest house, by far the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby1810, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write and leave your review.
When we get reviews such as the one you have posted it makes our job really worthwhile and the kind words are very gratifying

It was our pleasure to have met you and been of service to you and if you are ever in the area again in the future then hopefully we would look forward to welcoming you back to the Gables once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the gables guest house in there 1st floor apartment and can not find fault with the service or accomodation. Would visit this guest house again. Great selection at breakfast and very helpful staff/owners in relation to local attractions. The self contained apartment is very spacious and we just loved the built in wardrobes and corner bath/shower.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank swiftblade1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very conveniently located. Attractive building. Very clean modern room and ensuite fully equipped even to ear plugs which were not at all necessary. We had to stop the English breakfast after three days as trousers started to tighten up, but it was really difficult not to order it every day. However alternative equally tempting.Owners very friendly and ready to help with advice etc. We spent seven nights and could not find anything to criticise and would certainly recommend it to anyone and more importantly, we shall return when in area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank johnp_robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Gables is set back from the busy Newark Road in a 1920's detached house. The rooms are spotless and furnished in the contemporary manner with all the facilities that visitors expect. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast the following morning was excellent. My only comment was that it felt a little soulless but the owners were friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: It can be noisy at the front if you need to open the window (the rooms get hot in summer).
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had a lovely stay here. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. I work long hours during the week so this was a needed leisure break visiting friends at the weekend. Breakfast finishes at 8:45am on a weekend, this was too early for me so I missed it. A later breakfast to even 9:30am on the weekends would make the leisure stay more enjoyable. However we couldn't fault the room and the host who very helpful and polite!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby1810, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write and leave your review
The timing for breakfast is set so as to allow people to finish breakfast then shower if they need to and then get packed up ready for check out at 10am which is the time the chambermaid service starts
We allow our two chambermaids 45 minutes in each room (both of them per room) so that all the little jobs (and big jobs) one would expect to be done are done and that the rooms are left in tip top condition as is the norm with us, ready for the next guest (which on this particular occasion was you)
With eight rooms to look after if all eight rooms are to completely change (and this does happen regularly) this take us right to the wire of 4pm which is when we start check in and new guests start arriving for their own particular stay

In this industry one is always battling against the clock but we do like to think that we have managed to get the balance right for the timing of the house to operate
I hope this helps explain how the guest house operates
In the meantime we are glad you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and hopefully you might consider using us again if you are ever in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Gables is a quality B&B. The rooms are furnished to a high standard and are very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with varied options.
An environmentally friendly place and the owners even passed on their experience on having solar heating fitted. Plenty of parking and a warm welcome from the 3 legged cat!
We booked as it was a good location to meet friends from Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Away from the front is best
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPN_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hykeham
1.4 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
743 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Guest House

Address: 546 Newark Road, North Hykeham, Lincoln LN6 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > North Hykeham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North Hykeham
Price Range: £65 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is ensured at The Gables. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast at individual tables in our breakfast room. Single, double and twin rooms are available, all with en-suite shower facilities. Wireless internet in all rooms. Ample off-road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Guest House Lincoln/North Hykeham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing