We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gables Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We just had a one night stay after visiting the Hemswell Antique Centre. We were made very welcome & everything is very clean & tidy. We were given advice on local pubs & restaurants & the information book in your room is excellent. Breakfast was of a good standard, only one minor gripe we were not offered or asked if we would like anymore toast at breakfast. If you are in this area don't be afraid to stay here, we hopefully will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTGYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    36
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
141
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night and it was a really nice stay. They advised us on where to eat and things to see. Also catered for a vegetarian breakfast. The guest house was very clean and all the facilities were really good. Had a fab time

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here on my own for one night mid November 13 and will certainly visit again. Was made to feel welcome and it was very clear that the proprietors were very conscientious and anxious to make sure that everything was to their guest's satisfaction.

The room was comfortable and fully equipped and the ensuite was a wonder to behold - the cleanliness blinded you!

Breakfast was spot on, plenty of choice, well served, quality cutlery and linen napkins. As they were a bit quiet that day, the proprietors joined myself and the other guest for some sociable conversation. Very pleasant.

Only because there have been comments about the road will I add my own. It really wasn't an issue so far as i was concerned. Yes, Newark Road is a busy road into Lincoln but the traffic died down substantially by 10pm and only really got going again around 6 am. I had a good nights sleep with the window open and closed it only around 6.30. The proprietors have even been thoughtful enough to provide soft earplugs for those that really are bothered, but I honestly couldn't see why they'd be needed.

Good luck to the both of them, they've a great establishment and I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Burton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darton
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our third visit here and will not be our last - made to feel welcome as always and the apartment is so comfortable and relaxing, with every thing you need. Breakfast was fantastic - certainly sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hykeham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is one of the best B&B's I've stayed in around the world. As a vegetarian they accommodated my needs really well. breakfast was superb and you have to try the homemade yoghurt.
The rooms are pleasant and very welcoming. The couple who own the place are very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.

Recommend to all choose here first!!!!!

the only down fall is the sat nav takes you across the road and they need bigger spoons in the bedrooms for the large mugs

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here on my own for the night. Was made to feel very welcome and comfortable. The accommodation was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for me. Would certainly recommend this guest house, by far the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby1810, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write and leave your review.
When we get reviews such as the one you have posted it makes our job really worthwhile and the kind words are very gratifying

It was our pleasure to have met you and been of service to you and if you are ever in the area again in the future then hopefully we would look forward to welcoming you back to the Gables once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the gables guest house in there 1st floor apartment and can not find fault with the service or accomodation. Would visit this guest house again. Great selection at breakfast and very helpful staff/owners in relation to local attractions. The self contained apartment is very spacious and we just loved the built in wardrobes and corner bath/shower.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank swiftblade1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hykeham
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
705 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
485 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
4.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Guest House

Property: The Gables Guest House
Address: 546 Newark Road, North Hykeham, Lincoln LN6 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > North Hykeham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North Hykeham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is ensured at The Gables. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast at individual tables in our breakfast room. Single, double and twin rooms are available, all with en-suite shower facilities. Wireless internet in all rooms. Ample off-road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Guest House Lincoln/North Hykeham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing