We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT 2 NIGHT STAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gables Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“EXCELLENT 2 NIGHT STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our second visit to the gables,superb lovely clean and comfortable en suite room,excellent choice of breakfast and portion size,lovely hosts nothing is too much trouble,we look forward to staying again,great base for the antique fair and lincoln,thanks Julie and Steve

Room Tip: we have stayed here twice and both rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    36
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
140
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Having searched at the last minute for a room for the night in between two business days in Lincoln I found this fantastic lying welcoming guest house on the peripheral of Lincoln, just a stone's throw from a major artery of the A46 Newark to Lincoln road.
The room and it's amenities were ample and generous not only in space but the little extra thought gone in to making my stay that bit more personal.
I definitely will be returning should the occasion require and would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting a warm welcome to Lincoln and it's wares.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherburn in Elmet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Chose The Gables as we wanted a guest house close enough to Lincoln cathedral area for our daughter who was on a work trial but accessible to Lincoln's other attractions. We weren't disappointed, welcome from owners very warm. We were lucky enough to get a self contained apartment which was very well appointed with everything we could need for a two night stay, Cooking facilities, comfortable seating and dining area, and most unusual a very powerful shower in a large cubicle. Breakfast fabulous with a very good choice including full English, kippers, and scrambled egg with salmon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith Weston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Having read the reviews we chose to book this guest house. We were travelling with a pet (dog) and whilst we knew we could not have the dog in the guest house we were disappointed to be told that we could not leave the dog in the car overnight outside in the designated car park.

The Guest House owner was rude and unhelpful without any consideration for the position that we were in. Despite my best efforts we were not entitled to any refund or our hotel booking fee due to the lateness of the cancellation, additionally we had to book alternative accommodation which cost more.

Overall I was very disappointed with the customer service and support from this accommodation and would not endorse them in any way.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DaveJHarris74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby1810, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
This guest turned up at the door as stated and had a very large Alsatian dog in his camper van
He asked could he leave the dog in the camper van overnight and was politely told no as we had to consider the other guests involved who were staying that night
We were concerned that as other guests would be coming and going out during the evening the dog would revert to "guard mode" and would bark every time someone passed or went near the camper van
The guest was politely informed of this and offered alternative places to park the camper van and dog to which he declined and he then left saying he would sort something out and return himself minus the dog
He never returned to stay with us so did not stay the night and as the booking was through a third party (Expedia) we had no control over cancellation and refund policies
It clearly states on our terms and conditions with Expedia that pets are not allowed on the property mainly for the comfort of other guests who may be allergic to them

If this guest has a complaint about not being refunded then i suggest he takes it up with Expedia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We first stayed at The Gables 5 years ago and had no hesitation in staying there again even though the ownership has changed hands. The room we had was fresh and clean with all the requirements that we needed - including earplugs! Lovely large bath towels and lots of hot water. The breakfasts gave so much choice hot and cold and the hot dishes were freshly cooked which set us up for the day. A mass of information from bus and train times to places to visit in the surrounding area was available should it be needed. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Thanks once again for an excellent experience. Spotless throughout and very friendly owners, who make you feel very welcome both on your arrival and during your stay. Our 4 nights stay was very comfortable and the breakfast was varied and gave an excellent choice of both buffet and full english, whichever you chose. It is an excellent base for visiting Lincoln and the surrounding areas. We will certainly be returning in the future and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin N Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Having recently had the misfortune of staying at the Gables I am flabbergasted by the positive comments made about it! It is without doubt the worst B&B experience I have ever had in my life and I’ve stayed in many B&Bs and hotels. My awful stay started from the moment I arrived and parked my car where I was greeted with, ‘Don’t park there’, no hello or pleasantries – just an extremely rude unfriendly person. This was then followed by the question ‘are you going out’!! I replied ‘no’ and the owner said ‘oh’, – prompting me to ask if that was a problem having driven 200 miles to get here?

The room was ok, but the bed was uncomfortable and it was very noisy being close to the main road.

At breakfast time I was greeted with a sarcastic ‘I didn’t think you were coming’ comment, from the same charmless owner. The breakfast itself was just about adequate. And, as a finale, shortly after breakfast, as I was packing my bag I got a loud bang on my room door with an accompanying ‘its check out time’!

My advice is to avoid this terrible place at all costs; the owners simply do not deserve any custom, they are rude beyond comparison and leave a very bitter taste in the mouth. I’m sure there are many B&B’s in the area that offer a friendly B&B experience – please use them instead!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby1810, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We have been waiting for this review to come on just like from a sulky child who cant get his own way
Upon arriving this "gentleman" parked his car in such a way as to more or less block everyone else from using the remainder of the car park and he was politely asked to turn the car round facing a different way to enable more guests to be able to park (which he still failed to do by the way) leading to complaints from other guests that they were struggling to park themselves
We went out of our way to accommodate this person with an early check in and the reason he was asked if he was going out was to try and explain how the electronic key entry system worked so he could gain access easily
So much for being uncomfortable as this guest never moved out of the room for the 22 hours he stayed with us so it could not have been that uncomfortable
The guest house location is clearly stated on all the booking sites and to read this review it would appear that it is our fault that the main road is close by (nothing to do with the fact that he did not do his research on our location)

He was told breakfast is served 7.am till 845 but again as if to prove a point he turned up for
breakfast at 8.55 when we had actually started clearing away and tidying the kitchen up but we made no fuss and set up the kitchen again to cook this persons breakfast
As stated in previous reviews check out time is 10.00am but we gave this person till after 1030am before politely knocking on the door of his room reminding him of the check out times
as explained to him upon check out that particular room was required for a guest arriving that day requesting an early check in for that day same as what he had had the previous day
We do try very hard to please and accommodate everybody but when someone is as rude and obnoxious as he was it is very hard to keep smiling
If this guest had mentioned to us that he had not enjoyed his stay then we would have endeavoured to sort out a fair compromise
No matter how hard we try we can not please all the people all the time
In the meantime we will let the rest of the reviews on this site do the talking for us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hykeham
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
4.4 mi away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#7 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Poplars
The Poplars
#26 of 52 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Guest House

Property: The Gables Guest House
Address: 546 Newark Road, North Hykeham, Lincoln LN6 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > North Hykeham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North Hykeham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is ensured at The Gables. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast at individual tables in our breakfast room. Single, double and twin rooms are available, all with en-suite shower facilities. Wireless internet in all rooms. Ample off-road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Guest House Lincoln/North Hykeham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing