We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gables Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very easy to find, warm welcome and helpful hosts. We had bikes on our vehicle and they advised us where to park so they weren't in full view of the road. We were escorted to our exceptionally clean and bright room and shown how to use the innovative door locking facility. We were given a room at the front of the house which does face the busy main road but this didnt adversely affect our stay as the house is set back. We slept (in a very comfortable bed) with the windows open and the traffic noise didnt disturb us and I am quite a light sleeper. For VERY light sleepers the owners thoughtfully supply ear plugs in the bedside cabinets.
There is a wide range of choices for breakfast with a 'specials' board available so even the fussiest of eaters should find something to their liking. Home made yoghurt , fresh coffee and juices are all available. All in all, a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. We were visiting family in a nearby town so will definitely stay with you again.

Room Tip: Next time I will ask for a room facing the rear of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GD1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    36
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
141
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent two nights here in this very clean and comfortable guest house. We were offered an excellent breakfast - it will suit all tastes and appetites. The facilities are of a very high standard - a real credit to the owners. Whilst some traffic noise can be heard, the property is set back and it's not a big problem for tired travellers like us. The guest house is easy to find and ideal for visiting Lincoln and Newark. We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First time stay for christenings weekend. Great hosts , great location , great breakfasts, great room.
Ideal spot for access to main routes and getting into city centre, hosts very helpful.

Great Gables we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColWil55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very easy to find for a travelling Aussie couple, room was great clean, warm, well appointed. breakfast offered everything suitable, Parking was ample welcome was excellent, and our stay was great just not long enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our second visit to the gables,superb lovely clean and comfortable en suite room,excellent choice of breakfast and portion size,lovely hosts nothing is too much trouble,we look forward to staying again,great base for the antique fair and lincoln,thanks Julie and Steve

Room Tip: we have stayed here twice and both rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Having searched at the last minute for a room for the night in between two business days in Lincoln I found this fantastic lying welcoming guest house on the peripheral of Lincoln, just a stone's throw from a major artery of the A46 Newark to Lincoln road.
The room and it's amenities were ample and generous not only in space but the little extra thought gone in to making my stay that bit more personal.
I definitely will be returning should the occasion require and would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting a warm welcome to Lincoln and it's wares.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherburn in Elmet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Chose The Gables as we wanted a guest house close enough to Lincoln cathedral area for our daughter who was on a work trial but accessible to Lincoln's other attractions. We weren't disappointed, welcome from owners very warm. We were lucky enough to get a self contained apartment which was very well appointed with everything we could need for a two night stay, Cooking facilities, comfortable seating and dining area, and most unusual a very powerful shower in a large cubicle. Breakfast fabulous with a very good choice including full English, kippers, and scrambled egg with salmon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hykeham
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.1 mi away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Poplars
The Poplars
#25 of 48 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Guest House

Property: The Gables Guest House
Address: 546 Newark Road, North Hykeham, Lincoln LN6 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > North Hykeham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North Hykeham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is ensured at The Gables. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast at individual tables in our breakfast room. Single, double and twin rooms are available, all with en-suite shower facilities. Wireless internet in all rooms. Ample off-road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Guest House Lincoln/North Hykeham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing