We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for two nights to attend a wedding. The hosts were extremely friendly, the rooms were large, well furnished and extremely clean. The en-suit was exceptional. There were so many nice little extras like cotton balls, cotton buds, soap, moisturiser etc. in the bathroom, bottled water in the room, fresh milk in a fridge on the landing if you prefer it to the UHT milk which was in the room with the tea and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast was extremely good too. There was the usual coffee, tea, fresh fruit juices with a choice of cereal, fresh fruit, eggs – any way you can imagine, full English breakfast. The quality and amount of food was perfect.

The B&B is on a main road which could be disturbing if you are not used to it but again they solved that problem by providing soft ear plugs in the bedside cabinet!

All in all the best B&B I have staying in for a long time and I highly recommend it as it was so clean, friendly and very reasonable. If we go back to Lincoln for any other event we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    36
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
141
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

From a great welcome to a friendly farewell I had a great stay at the Gables Guest House. I spent two nights at the Gables as I was going to the RAF Waddington Air Show and, due to my having ongoing spinal injuries I needed somewhere to stay over the weekend. The room was spotless, spacious and well appointed. The shower cubicle was of a great size and made my shower easy and enjoyable. After a good night's sleep breakfast was ready nice and early for all the guests going to the air show. Second night was just as good - one great touch was an effective and much appreciated cooling fan as the weather was quite hot. Breakfast on the second morning was a very tasty full English breakfast complete with all extras you might want. If the air show returns in 2016 my first job will be to book in to the Gables again!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 1 which was a good size with a king size bed. Light and airy at the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingco617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Gables lived up to all the reviews we had read, a very welcoming atmosphere, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely and really set us up for the day. Very informative guide in room to local attractions, eating places etc.

Room Tip: Traffic from road but not enough to disturb us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay. We have been here once before for a sports tournament nearby and was so good we stayed again.

David met us, showed us to our apartment room and advised us where/where not to go nearby. The room was spotless and extremely comfortable

I love my food and this breakfast was exceptionally good. Full English but cereals and yoghurts also if you prefer. All served by Hilary who was very polite.

Very pleased and will definitely be back. Thanks once again David & Hilary

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very easy to find, warm welcome and helpful hosts. We had bikes on our vehicle and they advised us where to park so they weren't in full view of the road. We were escorted to our exceptionally clean and bright room and shown how to use the innovative door locking facility. We were given a room at the front of the house which does face the busy main road but this didnt adversely affect our stay as the house is set back. We slept (in a very comfortable bed) with the windows open and the traffic noise didnt disturb us and I am quite a light sleeper. For VERY light sleepers the owners thoughtfully supply ear plugs in the bedside cabinets.
There is a wide range of choices for breakfast with a 'specials' board available so even the fussiest of eaters should find something to their liking. Home made yoghurt , fresh coffee and juices are all available. All in all, a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. We were visiting family in a nearby town so will definitely stay with you again.

Room Tip: Next time I will ask for a room facing the rear of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GD1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent two nights here in this very clean and comfortable guest house. We were offered an excellent breakfast - it will suit all tastes and appetites. The facilities are of a very high standard - a real credit to the owners. Whilst some traffic noise can be heard, the property is set back and it's not a big problem for tired travellers like us. The guest house is easy to find and ideal for visiting Lincoln and Newark. We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

First time stay for christenings weekend. Great hosts , great location , great breakfasts, great room.
Ideal spot for access to main routes and getting into city centre, hosts very helpful.

Great Gables we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColWil55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hykeham
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.1 mi away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
4.4 mi away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#6 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Guest House

Property: The Gables Guest House
Address: 546 Newark Road, North Hykeham, Lincoln LN6 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > North Hykeham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North Hykeham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is ensured at The Gables. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast at individual tables in our breakfast room. Single, double and twin rooms are available, all with en-suite shower facilities. Wireless internet in all rooms. Ample off-road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Guest House Lincoln/North Hykeham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing