We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albatross Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weipa
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Traveling to some of the more remote towns in Australia as I do for work I don't usually have high expectations when it come to the hotels I get to stay at. Having said that I was pleasantly surprised by the Alby. The rooms were basic a bit dated but spacious with tiled floors and painted brick walls, small wall mounted tv with free movie channels. The grounds were lush and green and it was a quick walk to the 'beach' (more like a mud flat when I visited). The outdoor deck was a Great place to chill out with a quick drink after a hot days work. The food was tasty and fairly reasonably priced give to location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Staying in the budget part of the complex- which is comfortable, very clean and situated perfectly to take a short wander onto the beach. These are 'dongas' or little cabins.
Double beds, TV, microwave, and a great shower that offers a veritable waterfall if you want it.

Staff are friendly, and nothing seems to be a bother.

The restaurant offers such grand views of the legenday sunsets that it really is worth going just for that. However, the food and atmosphere were enjoyable and the menu offered a good range.
My dinner companions all liked what they ordered, and although desert was planned, after a entre and a main, that was enough to satiate appetites.

A relaxed and friendly places to stay in Weipa, and the location is great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluemanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Clean and tidy rooms, restaurant has a very good steak selection, breakfasts are reasonable. A little noisy as fellow guests seem to delight in slamming doors as they depart for early morning starts. Service is good and staff friendly. Certainly worse places to stay

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Sal2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed 3 days reception great very happy accommodating staff all areas same. Met that Mgrs Partner Funny Guy always two sides to a story. Finbarr great. Funny Immigration Dept everywhere in Weipa and some don't Speak our tongue but they manage to complain OK. Where is this world going Mr Fish n Chip non English Speaking Immigration Employee

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Harkin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I traveled to Weipa with a party of 4 at the start of August 2012. Trying to find accommodation was a hard task as there wasn't too much to go from by looking at reviews on the web.

We are pleased we chose the Albatross Bay Resort for our 4 nights. This definitely is not a resort, and there is no pool, but it met all the needs for my group. The rooms are very basic, but had clean bedding and linen, a bar fridge, and also a large flat screen plasma.

The restaurant here has a large deck which is great for watching the sunset through the trees. The staff were friendly and the head chef served up delicious food for breakfast and dinner which was reasonably priced.

Also connected to the Albatross is a bottle shop which saves the need to drive into the town, and has its own TAB and pokies area. There are many TV's in here showing 4 or 5 different sports.

This is the only place in town with a TAB and therefore seems to be a main hangout for the locals. This was not a problem as they were all extremely friendly and up for a beer and a chat.

The outdoor area has 2 pool tables, with music, and a pool competition of a night time.
Atmosphere is great.

The only downside of my stay here, was that we went on a successful fishing charter for the day, but the restaurant refused to cook the fish for us that night. In saying that, one of the waiters was very helpful in rounding up some spices and foil, for us to cook our catch ourselves. Would have been better if there was a dedicated BBQ area, as we had to use an old BBQ in next to the staff accommodation.

All in all, was a great trip, and was satisfied with my stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shanden57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Room was basic but clean loved the adjoining bar and restaurant. Liked the charge back to the room feature was nice and easy. Nice outdoor deck great for an afternoon beer and got a great steak at the restaurant. Will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarcev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour for one night. The ground floor room we had was very comfortable and clean. We did have an unexpected surprise in the wardrobe - someone had left their exotic underwear and other items on top of the spare blankets! Maybe housekeeping should check the wardrobes regularly. Apart from that we enjoyed our stay and were very grateful for the fact that there were laundry facilities on site. We were able to wash our clothes aftger 6 days of travelling. Had dinner and breakfast here and the meals were excellent and huge!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roselilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weipa hotels
1.6 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#2 of 3 in Weipa
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Resort Weipa
2.9 mi away
Weipa Caravan Park & Camping Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Bay Resort

Address: Duyfken Cresent, Weipa, Queensland 4874, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cape York > Weipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weipa
Price Range: £79 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albatross Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albatross Bay Resort is the premier accommodation option when visiting Weipa. We have motel rooms suitable for everyone, including solo travellers to family rooms. All rooms are fully air-conditioned and have TVs with their own movie channel. Every room has their own bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities, fridge and direct dial phone are all provided. Room configuration consists of 1 double bed and 1 single bed. Family rooms have 1 double bed and two singles. Check out is 10.00 Am, however late checkout can be pre-arranged with reception depending on vacancies. Fax facilities are available at reception. Fully automatic clothes washer and dryer are available for your comfort for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albatross Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing