We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heritage Resort Weipa
Ranked #1 of 1 Weipa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Having never been to Weipa and it being a very remote location, this Resort has all the comforts you need.

Pool, Air Con, BAR ! and excellent food.

The rooms are old but clean, the Air Con is old school type making lots of noise but it keeps you cool in this climate so didn't mind.

The food is excellent, Thai Style, very surprised as the quality this far North but loved it all the same.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

I liked this place. Not five star but we were in the middle of a mining town. Clean, easy to find, pleasant people in reception. Great restaurant and value for money. Stayed overnight on way up to the Tip and very pleased we chose the Heritage Resort. Best value for money

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cedrealaorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Rooms very cluttered too much furniture for the space. Poorly maintained rooms, repair needed to make door secure. Pool very cloudy and not enticing even though very hot. Bird cage near the dining area very unpleasant smelling and a turn off. No cold water available in the fridge and given the hot weather its a necessity not an option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just had an awesome lunch there today. Huge barra. Fellow guests had the mudcrab. Sensational food and cheap for Weipa. Will go again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank rustylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here while attending a conference at the hospital - best place to stay for this as its the only one within walking distance.
Was pleasantly surprised by the enormity of the room and even more impressed with the expanse of lawn and gum trees it opened onto.
Room and bathroom were clean and had little extras like microwave, fridge, minibar, toaster....even the kitchen sink!
Huge LCD tv with extra channels, wine glasses, decent tea, coffee and milk and complimentary biscuits.
Small chair and table, arm chair and ottoman and still room for more!
Good lighting and reading lights with a switch above the bed so you don't have to get up when ready for sleep.
Ample power points for my pc and phone etc.
Good quality towels and bed linen, ample supply of complimentary toiletries.
Yes, the air con is an older style 'window rattler', and is not as whisper quiet as newer split systems, however, it did the job and my room was never hot.
Had Thai lunch which was absolutely amazing and very good value.
The staff are all Asian, so language is a bit of an issue, however they always wore a smile and were very helpful. The owner went out of his way to get me to the airport on time after my flight was changed and when I showed him some of the comments about his resort on here, he was most amused.
Short and pleasant walk to the beach and the shopping centre is right next door (which might be a bit noisy if you were staying on that side of the building).
The only thing I can say was disappointing was the pool which was not clean and really not inviting looking at all, with I think some of the lining coming off, so I avoided it.
Life in remote areas is expensive, so folk need to understand that before complaining about prices, if you would rather stay in cairns, next time go there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

How can one describe Heritage Resort....well firstly, it is no resort. Our bed was saggy and was under 30cm from the floor....very low. The pool needs to be re-rendered...I cut my arm on the broken concrete on the steps and all over the bottom. Plus there was nowhere to relax by the pool. There are plenty of table and chairs...but no pool lounges that most ‘resorts’ have around the pool. And they have the music blaring right over the pool so you can't hear yourself think. And they scream at each other from one of the resort to the other.....definitely not relaxing.

The owners and staff are very friendly....but when you want a good night’s sleep, some relaxing area to read a book and swim $190.00 per night was well and truly not worth the money. I also spent some time, one lunchtime, at Anchorage in Weipa. For an extra $10.00 per night.....if you have choices pick the Anchorage. You’ll have a much nicer stay even though they are not in the middle of town, they do offer shuttles back and forth from the airport and to the shopping centre. They do this is a Rolls Royce....very fancy! Plus the food I had for lunch was really delicious.

Now for Weipa itself! Don’t go there expecting huge shopping centres, busy roads and all the luxury of a bigger city. Weipa is a mining town, the barge drops fresh food off at the start of the week, there would be hmmmm say about five shops. Woolworths (stocked well), a fishing tackle shop, a bakery, a hairdresser, pharmacy....and perhaps a couple of little knick-knack shops. It does offer the quietness of a small outback place. I loved my four days there. The quiet fishing places along the two rivers and ocean. And what can one say about the sunsets.....each night they were different but each night they were spectacular. And of course being over Easter.....the big orange full moon just lite up darkness of night over the ocean....just took my breath away for picturesque. Can’t put my finger on it, but it was just a beautiful area. I’m looking forward to my next trip.....we will be staying at the Anchorage...most definitely!

PS – another cheap way of doing your holiday. Check out the cabins etc at the Weipa Ground....they looking clean and acceptable and are right on the beach. But book early, they go pretty quick as they are the cheap of all the room accommodation. Enjoy your time in Weipa :-)

Dennis and Beverley

Room Tip: How can one describe Heritage Resort....well firstly, it is no resort. Our bed was saggy and was un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bevfnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have only stayed in 2 places in Weipa, the Albatross on a number of occasions and at this place. Although the restaurant at the Albatross was fairly good the rooms did seem pretty basic and on the recommendation of a work colleague I decided to stay here. Due to the limited options in Weipa I did not read any previous reviews so arrived with no preconceived ideas.

This place is nothing flash but considering the remote location I was more than satisfied. I did not have dinner at the restaurant but it seemed to be doing a good trade with what looked like a lot of locals. I had a hot breakfast which was more than acceptable. I did have a beer in the bar and thought the prices were reasonable as they had imported beers on special for $4.50 - all other beers were $6. They also had bottles of Oyster Bay wine for $25 which is a good price for a bar.

I stayed in the rooms behind reception and from reading other reviews these are the best to stay in. The room is a good size with a flat screen tv, the bed was reasonably comfortable, pillows were bad and the shower was built for midgets. The room also had a microwave oven which you don't get very often. A/c is very noisy being the old rattlers but I was just thankful for some relief from the humidity.

Location wise this is the best in Weipa as it is right next door to Woolworths. We find the lady at reception was friendly alhough she seemed to spend all her time walking around with her cat.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6 behind reception and it seemed ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank scowler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Albatross Bay Resort
Albatross Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Weipa
61 reviews
2 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#2 of 3 in Weipa
14 reviews
2.6 mi away
Weipa Caravan Park & Camping Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Resort Weipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Resort Weipa

Address: 55 Commercial Avenue, Weipa, Queensland 4874, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cape York > Weipa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Weipa
Price Range: £89 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Resort Weipa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Resort Weipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing