We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable motel style rooms”

Heritage Resort Weipa
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heritage Resort Weipa
Ranked #1 of 2 Weipa B&B and Inns
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
303 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Reasonable motel style rooms”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I have stayed at the Heritage Resort on a couple of occasions when taking a fishing holiday in Weipa. The last stay being 2 nights in June 2013. The location is close to the shopping complex with a Woolies, great bakery, bottle shop, chemist and 4WD/Camping and tackle store so its ideal to pick up a few last minute items.

The service is very good offering free collection and drop off to Weipa Airport if required. The rooms are big and all I have stayed in have 2 DB and 1 SB with a large bathroom. The larger of the DB is a little too low for me being only 30cm from the floor so it can be a little awkward trying to get out of bed.

The restaurant offers a wide selection of food from Thai to Western. Although a little pricey its still quite good value when you consider the location and costs of transportation.

Again at $180/night it may seem at first expensive but given the location its reasonable for a motel style room on the Cape.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevelizhangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I recently spent a week here whilst on a fishing trip. I must say that the hosts are very helpful and genuine people. What travellers have to remember that Weipa is a very isolated place. The people here are slightly eccentric.My room had an eclectic mix of furniture, from the white chaise lounge to the converted waterbed with the vinyl covered heart shaped bed head. The food was fantastic, you are able to give your catch to the Thai chef and have it prepared in any way you like, all for $20. Pool was being renovated but looked great.
The rooms are comfortable though cluttered. Clean though a little tired. The air con rattled away all night. There is a great bar/ restaurant decorated like a Chinese restaurant but with imitation French Louis xiv furniture. The wine prices make your eyes water but premium Aussie beers are six bucks. Would I come back? In an instant. We were made so welcome , it felt like home!

Room Tip: All rooms appear the same though the rooms at the far end have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greybeckh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
268 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Having never been to Weipa and it being a very remote location, this Resort has all the comforts you need.

Pool, Air Con, BAR ! and excellent food.

The rooms are old but clean, the Air Con is old school type making lots of noise but it keeps you cool in this climate so didn't mind.

The food is excellent, Thai Style, very surprised as the quality this far North but loved it all the same.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I liked this place. Not five star but we were in the middle of a mining town. Clean, easy to find, pleasant people in reception. Great restaurant and value for money. Stayed overnight on way up to the Tip and very pleased we chose the Heritage Resort. Best value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cedrealaorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Rooms very cluttered too much furniture for the space. Poorly maintained rooms, repair needed to make door secure. Pool very cloudy and not enticing even though very hot. Bird cage near the dining area very unpleasant smelling and a turn off. No cold water available in the fridge and given the hot weather its a necessity not an option.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just had an awesome lunch there today. Huge barra. Fellow guests had the mudcrab. Sensational food and cheap for Weipa. Will go again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rustylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here while attending a conference at the hospital - best place to stay for this as its the only one within walking distance.
Was pleasantly surprised by the enormity of the room and even more impressed with the expanse of lawn and gum trees it opened onto.
Room and bathroom were clean and had little extras like microwave, fridge, minibar, toaster....even the kitchen sink!
Huge LCD tv with extra channels, wine glasses, decent tea, coffee and milk and complimentary biscuits.
Small chair and table, arm chair and ottoman and still room for more!
Good lighting and reading lights with a switch above the bed so you don't have to get up when ready for sleep.
Ample power points for my pc and phone etc.
Good quality towels and bed linen, ample supply of complimentary toiletries.
Yes, the air con is an older style 'window rattler', and is not as whisper quiet as newer split systems, however, it did the job and my room was never hot.
Had Thai lunch which was absolutely amazing and very good value.
The staff are all Asian, so language is a bit of an issue, however they always wore a smile and were very helpful. The owner went out of his way to get me to the airport on time after my flight was changed and when I showed him some of the comments about his resort on here, he was most amused.
Short and pleasant walk to the beach and the shopping centre is right next door (which might be a bit noisy if you were staying on that side of the building).
The only thing I can say was disappointing was the pool which was not clean and really not inviting looking at all, with I think some of the lining coming off, so I avoided it.
Life in remote areas is expensive, so folk need to understand that before complaining about prices, if you would rather stay in cairns, next time go there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Albatross Bay Resort
Albatross Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Weipa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#2 of 3 in Weipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.4 mi away
Weipa Caravan Park & Camping Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Resort Weipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Resort Weipa

Property: Heritage Resort Weipa
Address: 55 Commercial Avenue, Weipa, Queensland 4874, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cape York > Weipa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Weipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Resort Weipa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Resort Weipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing