We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just more than average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Nakara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Nakara
Ranked #46 of 105 Hotels in Ao Nang
Surat, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just more than average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights and in two rooms. The room size is big and the room was clean. Further, there is big balcony in the deluxe room. But the superior room is not good as it is located in basement. So one of the superior room in which we stayed for one night has to be upgraded to deluxe room. The overall service of the staff is good but not it is not good during night time as there was no body at the counter and even no body picked up the phone at the both the numbers they provided. The location of hotel is very good. In the swimming pool, the water is salty (may be kept to give experience of sea). In all other reviews, the hotel was rated as value for money but in my opinion, the hotel is good but not so much value for money as claimed by other persons.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rasesh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    136
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
23
126
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

it is a small property but vry well put up n managed. Stayed there for 4 days. Nice BIGGGGG rooms. Clean bathroom, comfy bed, cleanliness taken care off well.....and a vry helpful and friendly staff. This hotel is located just 2 min away from Aonang Beach. Market, restaurants, beach n jetty easily accessable. Great value for money stay.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroramekhla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days in feb 2014 and simply loved the experience. It is 10 minutes walk from the beach and 5 mins from the main market. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms dont provide you a beach view, but considering we spent all the days at the beach , wasnt much of an issue for us. Being vegetarians, we werr happy with the continental breakfast items included in the buffet which were cornflakes , toast butter jam, milk, fruits. Will definitely stay here again if we go to Ao Nang again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel offers great service at a reasonable price. The staff are fantastic, and the omelettes at breakfast are great! The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff were always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks from mid-December 2013 to early New Year 2014. We were very pleased with this hotel - it was very reasonable price-wise and the overall impression was very positive. To list a few - WiFi, decent breakfast, large room (we booked de-luxe on the top floor and I would always take this option if possible), staff very happy to please, great location near the main drag in Ao Nang, top restaurants just outside the front door!!!, motorcycle tuk-tuk very easy to get to other restaurants fairly cheaply. All-in-all a great 2 weeks in a fantastic part of Thailand.

Room Tip: Top floor (6th) if possible - woud not want to venture down in the lower regions!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel offers reasonable price with great services. We arrived early in the morning and understand that it's not the check-in time yet, but they staff are so friendly that they offered breakfast for us to settle down (this is because we will not be able to enjoy our breakfast for the last day due to the early hour of 1st flight out of the country).

The environment is very tranquil, no hassle and choas like the other hotels. The breakfast area has some view of the sea from far but that's ok for us. They serve continental English breakfast with some local menus (fried rice, squid, noodles) daily. I would like to give my compliment to the chef who prepared our half boiled eggs, it's perfectly done every single day!

The room is spacious. Some issue with the water supply during our stay (according to the local, Krabi's water supply is very inconsistent) but they have tried they best to solve the issue as soon as they could. Free complimentary waters daily, basic amenities, CRT TV with local channels (well, who bothers to watch TV during beach vacation), slippers for the swimming pools are all well prepared in the room. They share the swimming pool with the hotel next door but it's totally fine, 1.5m it's pretty deep for Asian. Toilet and bathroom are available besides the swimming pool, which again I didn't expect this great facilities for a 3 star hotel.

Ample motor parking space in from of the hotel. To be exact, the hotel is located directly opposite lay lae grill and The HillTop restaurant. Around 5-10 minutes walk to the main street. From Esan grill,turn into the junction and you'll reach the hotel in 3 minutes walk.

I will definitely return to this hotel again next time!

Room Tip: We have a lower ground floor, room facing the other hotel's room. If you want a seaview, please...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElynYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Anyone who says anything negative about this place is seriously needing to take a good look at themselves! Place is absolutely minted, room is massive, bed is monster size, dvd player, excellent shower, hot water, minibar, bathrobes, views of massive sandstone crags poking out of the ground, views of the andaman sea, the staff would literally do anything for you. Towels given out at the pool, buffet breakfast was fine, choice of thai or western grub, fruit salad, lad cooking eggs is so polite it's unreal. One of the reasons I love Thailand so much is the amazing people and this place lives up to that and much more. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get on the top floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#25 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sabai Mansion
Sabai Mansion
#37 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#53 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#44 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#35 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sand Suites
Silver Sand Suites
#61 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Nakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Nakara

Property: The Royal Nakara
Address: 155/4-7 Moo 3 Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Nakara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Nakara Ao Nang proudly presents the perfect combination of the Thai modern architecture, infrastructure, comfortable facilities and typical Thai hospitality with warm, friendliness and courteous services by the professional staff with the treatment displaying the uniquely characteristic quality of the Thai host. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Nakara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Nakara Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Royal Nakara Ao Nang Krabi
The Royal Nakara Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing