We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money with spacious and clean room ”
Review of The Royal Nakara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Nakara
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The room in real is similar to the photos shown, just slightly aged but acceptable. Overall very satisfying for the money I paid.

Love the idea of microwave in the room. Can improve further by providing laundry bag and body lotion.

Breakfast in the morning is simple but it's good enough. Staff is friendly and pretty attentive.

There's a massage place called Massage Corner at the end of the street, good Thai massage there. However walk to the beach is slightly distant, about 5-10 mins walk. Not recommended for those who don't really like waking like me.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Serene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

After browsing some reviews online for accommodations in Krabi, we decided to go ahead with Royal Nakara Ao Nang. It may not be the cheapest place to get but it is reasonable value. What I was comfortable that most reviews say it’s clean and safe.

We arrived on 27th April and stayed till 29th April. We took early morning flight from KL so by 10am, we are already at the hotel. Upon arrival we were given a drink (tasted like orange juice) which was a nice way to welcome guest. Most of you would be familiar with ‘more expensive’ hotels practise in giving cocktail/mock tail upon arrival however didn’t expect this hotel to do so. Off course it’s a small gesture but it was a nice way to welcome guest.

Upon arrival, I was greeted by a lady staff who asked me to fill up a pre-filled form and it’s done. We were asked to wait for the room to be ready but in few minutes time, it’s done! Boy, I was happy that I could get the room so early! The lady informed us that they have upgraded our room to the sea view room! Nice...

There is not lift service in this hotel as it is only about 3 floors. The room which we got (room 603) is located on the 3rd floor. A male staff assisted us with the luggage. I was very happy with the room we got! It was clean, very spacious, have wardrobe, a spacious bath, TV, air conditioner, mini bar, jug kettle, coffee & tea amenity, 2 bottles of drinking water (refilled everyday) and FREE wifi. On top of that, the room has a huge balcony overlooking the hills and sea.

Before coming over, I liaised with Partichat from the hotel to assist in preparing a surprise birthday cake for my partner. I believe this is the lady at the reception most of the time. She managed to sort it out and placed the cake in the room on the day we arrive. And it was done complimentary! A very nice gesture from the hotel. Anyway, thank you again Partichat!
We headed out to the beach by foot as we wanted to explore the surrounding of the hotel. It took us about 10(+/-) to reach the beach area. Initially it felt a bit far but we walked from hotel to the beach throughout our stay in Krabi. It’s a nice way to burn some calories after consuming all the Thai food! You can always take a tuk-tuk or taxi from the beach area to hotel. It will cost you 30baht for tuk -tuk.

We got up a bit late on the next morning but manage to have breakfast before we explore Krabi. So what do they serve for breakfast? They have bread (white and wholemeal), butter and jam, cereals, milk, juice, rice, a curry dish (green chicken curry on the 2nd day we were there and it was yummy), vegetable, bacon, sausage (pork), egg station and coffee & tea. You can have your egg anyway you want! The breakfast spread is basic and more than sufficient for us.

How was the sleep quality? Well, the mattress is on the firm side. If you are not used to firm bed, better check with the hotel on other options available as not sure whether the same mattress used in all the rooms. The bed sheets were clean, no odour or stain marks. The comforter or quilt is thick enough to stand the cold air from the air conditioner. On the 2nd day, we have requested for additional pillows from the reception however no one got it for us. We reminded the staff at the reception when we went out for dinner. He asked to collect it from reception when we come back later, which was fine with us. No noise intrusion from the next room.

We didn't have a chance to use the swimming pool. Apparently its being shared with another hotel next door however it looked pretty clean.

Overall, loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cammal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 14th April to 17th April. Rooms are really spacious. Being Eco friendly - no lifts to go up or down the hotel. Water pressure, ac works all too well . A 10mins walk to Aonang Walking Street. Breakfast is really simple. The gem of this hotel is the 2 Thai ladies who mend the reception, always smiling and helping guests - I did not get their name but really these 2 helped us a lot when the taxi driver did not pick us up from hotel back to the airport. Thank you very much for without these 2 ladies , we would have been stuck and left in Krabi .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BrieseMahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

booked through view.hotelsitescompared.com . Stayed here for 3 nights during Valentine weekend, paid 1650 baht per night. My first impression was the room was very big, and there is a kitchenette too! Exceeded my expectation.

Stayed as a family - a couple with a 1 year old baby.

I strongly believed the hotel was built by a developer sold/rent to the hotel operator, becaue the building has the same design and layout with the other 3 or so hotels. Only the interior and the service are different. This hotel share the swimming pool together with Ben's House hotel next door.

The hotel's location look a bit far from everything, but a 5 minute walk down the hill you will arrive at the junction where the food hawker stalls are located.

We get the complimentary drinks when arrived, i think it was only orange juice but nicely presented. The reception is on an upper level (level 4 if i'm not mistaken) and most probably you will walk down the stair to arrive to your room especially if you take the cheapest room available.

We got room 201 and it is the nearest room to the pool. At the hotel next door where the pool is shared, it is a pool access room with sliding door. when we used the pool it was all for ourselves but when someone else use it be prepared as it might be noisy.

The room is big enough for a couple with a baby, there is a massage bed beside a queen bed - and there is alos a kitchenette. It has everything that you think of - a fridge, microwave, hair dryer, television, dvd player, electric mosquito repellant (we didnt need it as there was no mosquito) except an ironing board set.

you are given a complimentary drink, but the drinks in the fridge and chips at the kitchenette need to be paid if consumed for 200 baht each.

the balcony is facing the corridor of another hotel so there is nothing to see unless you stay at the topmost floor (the most expensive).

The buffet breakfast is quite nice but it is a small hotel so not many choices are available, and the traditional food is quite spicy even for asian.

With what you get, relatively it is cheap, however during peak season cheaper doesnt mean it is inexpensive :)

Room Tip: We got room 201 and it is the nearest room to the pool. At the hotel next door where the pool is sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nazril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed in this delightful hotel for 5nights and absolutely loved my times there. The hotel staff were very friendly and spoke very good english. When we arrived the hotel manager introduced us and gave us complimentary drinks before taking our bags down to the hotel room. Each floor is delightfully decorated with really prettily lighted stairs leading to a lounge area with free books and drink water.

The room itself was a standard double which had plenty of space, with a king size bed, mini bar and balcony. The room has great blinds which blocks out the bright morning light if you wanted a lie in. The room also had AC and safes as standard; both of these things we had some trouble with, but when we did, the staff members were so helpful and attentive they came straightaway to rectify the problem.

Rooms were clean and the staff and room service was fantastically polite and very fluent in English. Breakfast was a buffet style asian and european affair. But funnily enough, the guy that works on the front desk, also was in charge of cooking the eggs! Quite like this, as because we got to see the small number of staff at this small hotel, it had a family run feel and made things very familiar and friendly.

Beach is only 10minutes away.

Loved the place so much we gave them a few chocolates just as a thank you! Whole heartedly approve!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Absy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent three nights here booked through agoda. I,ll start by saying we had just come from cambodia were much better hotels were around half the price of krabi hotels so perhaps we were a little spoiled. The hotel room was large and clean and balcony was massive with views out to sea over the rooftops of many other buildings. The bathroom was ok and clean. Breakfast was the usual mix of western and Asian choice and the staff were very friendly, kindly brining us Nescafé instead of the normal stronge coffee. The hotel is si sautéed about fifteen to twenty mins walk from the main area of aonang so walkable. Their are quite a few bars and restaurants around but after the first night we never used them. The price in the menus for a glass of wine was 350bht approx seven british pounds. Rediculous so we never went back. Krabi itself seems a lot more expensive than our previous visit a couple of years ago. What I found strange about the hotel is the shared pool with next door. It really was like a swim up room pool but to get in or out you had to wait for a gap I. The doorway. Their was no area at all for seating so it was in quick swim and out, more a quick cool off pool. So for me this area was pretty useless I like to spend an hour or so relaxing by the pool. Overall because of the pool, lack of lift and distance to town and general aperiance of the place I would describe it more of a guest house than hotel. I would stay again but certainly not at the peice we paid.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor could see the sea lower rooms seemed not to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1236Holidaysaregreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent 2 nights there. It was comfortable.

Things we liked about this place:

1, The room was big. The hotel itself was nicely decorated and I like the comfy lobby a lot.

2, The breakfast was included and was satisfying.

3, The manager speaks pretty fluent English and she tries to solve our problem quickly. The staff are very friendly.

This hotel is not so close to the beach. The walking distance was at least 10 mins. The beach in Ao Nang were not as clean and peaceful as the beach in Koh Lanta anyways. So we didn't spend much time there.

Room Tip: Some rooms have nice balcony, but double check with the manager and see which floor it was located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taylor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#36 of 111 in Ao Nang
341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#45 of 111 in Ao Nang
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#54 of 111 in Ao Nang
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#61 of 111 in Ao Nang
276 reviews
0 mi away
Little Home Ao Nang
Little Home Ao Nang
#39 of 111 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sabai Mansion
Sabai Mansion
#50 of 111 in Ao Nang
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Nakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Nakara

Address: 155/4-7 Moo 3 Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £16 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Nakara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Nakara Ao Nang proudly presents the perfect combination of the Thai modern architecture, infrastructure, comfortable facilities and typical Thai hospitality with warm, friendliness and courteous services by the professional staff with the treatment displaying the uniquely characteristic quality of the Thai host. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Nakara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Nakara Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Royal Nakara Ao Nang Krabi
The Royal Nakara Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing