We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aree Tara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aree Tara Resort
Ranked #23 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very friendly and relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

very helpful staff, excellent room service and short walk to the beach. Turn left at T junction for lively resort and long boats to various beautiful beaches eg railay. Food very cheap and plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the quiet fields, bliss
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eleribreed1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    266
    106
    28
    21
See reviews for
67
229
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We liked our hotel. Rooms were clean and our request for higher floor and connecting rooms were met. The location of the hotel is within walkng distance to restaurants and shopping areas, so we did not mind at all. Might be a little hazzle if travelling with kids but there's always the tut tut or taxis. We even booked our rides directly with the hotel. We thought it would have been more expensive but we were wrong, booking your airport transfers and motorbikes with Aree Tara is cheap @ 500baht for an airport trsf and 200baht for a whole day motorbike rental. Swimming pool was nice and cozy.
What we dislike: breakfast was the same everyday. They only change the noodles and pancakes/frenchtoast on alternate days. So we were having the same breakfast for 5days straight. No half boil eggs even! Also, they have more Thai TV channels in the rooms compared to English channels.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe room with King size beds, big enough to fit a couple with 2 kids. The garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darleen_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed at Aree Tara for 3 nights in August. I arrived at 940am and the hotel staff kindly let me check in early, as well as upgraded me to a Deluxe room overlooking the pool.

I loved the room and balcony with pool view. The room was well-furnished and clean. Seems it is a new hotel as the furniture and fittings all seem new. Breakfast was typical but ok for my 4D3N stay.

One thing was that all the staff (and i mean ALL) are very friendly and always ready with a smile. Very helpful and prompt too. Made me feel like Aree was a second home.

Tried the room service twice and it was ok. Loved the massage in my room - Khun Joy was very good and managed to soothe the tension in my shoulders and back.

Will definitely be back and will rec this place to my friends too! Thank you Aree Tara :)

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a pool view room, it's lovely esp Room 207 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runningnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Hotel is ok, 3 star n not 4 star as claimed. Do not expect to have lots of choices for bfast. Daily u get white or wheat bread, 1 type of yogurt, 2 types of cereal n 1 muesli. There will be 1 type of sausage, ham n sunny side up egg. 1 plain rice with a veg n meat, 1 fried noodles n French toast. U eat d same thing everyday, they will change fr fried mee to fried meehoon or French toast to pancakes. Only these 2 items will be changed daily. We were there for 5 days, so imagine how bored we were with d food.

You need to walk 10 to 15 mins or so to reach d town. By d time u complete d whole street it wud be 30 to 40 mins away so walking back can be tiring. Alternatively u can take a tut tut for 20b per person. You can get good n cheap food on d way to Aonang. The few food stalls there served very gd mango salad n fried pineapple rice, about 50 b each. If u go town food can go up to 150 to 180 b per dish. There is another shop / lane just near mc Donald where all their dishes r about 50 b. Elsewhere it's 100-200b per dish.

Krabi town has nothing much to offer just a Market full of street food n opens abt 5 pm or so. Taking a cab cud be expensive fr 400 b to 600b one way. Cheaper way is to take d public van n pay 100 b per person one way.


You can get reasonable package tour along the street of Aonang. Hotel transfer fr hotel to airport on a private taxi is 400 b, shuttle bus is 150 b per person. They will pick u fr d hotel. Phi phi island tour would cost about 750b per person if booked along d street of Aonang for a whole day Inc lunch. ( if u booked at hotel it wud cost 1000b per person).

Room Tip: Rooms near mc Donald are nearer to all amenities easier for d children. If u stay I. Railey island t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blingbling888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

After looking at tons of options and reading so many reviews, we've decided to book this hotel. We had a lovely room with a view of the pool.

The hotel overall gives a good impression and looks nice. The finish of the rooms looks lovely. However whilst having a soak in the tub, I noticed that the bottom of the sink was not properly finished (with bits exposed and sticking out) and the same has to be said about the rest of the hotel. It certainly looks like corners were cut or cowboy builders were brought in. If this doesn't bother you I highly recommend this place.

At the time that I was there a lot of construction work was going on and about the hotel. Whilst walking to and from the hotel there's a small stretch of dusty road and trucks will be using the same road so stay alert.

One real downside to this lovely hotel is the noise. From the room the noise of all the construction is audible. This stops in the evening though.

As the bed is placed on a deck, you can hear the footsteps and noise of people walking about upstairs! Just our luck we had a bunch or drunks who never seem to sleep staying above us and the noise levels was just unbearable. To top it off a big group of tourists checked in on the same floor and were drunk, shouting and running along the corridors all night. The sound echoes as there are no carpets.

This hotel is conveniently located and close to lots of local food stalls where you can have a meal with drinks and starters for less than 50 Baht! It is also within close vicinity to the nightspots and the beach, where you can enjoy a Thai massage whilst watching the sunset.

Breakfast was reasonable and the pool was nice. The staff were friendly.

This hotel is not perfect but it was reasonable priced, comfortable and in a convenient location. There are other hotels along the same road within a similar price range and quality so I would suggest looking at other options if a good nights sleep is important to you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluePeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Overall the hotel is great. Good service, excellent cleanliness, huge bed and the staff are friendly and very helpful. It would be better if I get room in front of swimming pool as my room facing small jungle and quite creepy at night.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuslizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

the day that we arrived at the hotel,we were welcomed with smiles & very friendly staffs. They explained on the booking & when we said we are on oneymoon they upgraded our room and gave us nice view of the pool.
Upon arrival, they gv a glass of pineapple juice. The room was clean,and very comfy,the bathroom also very clean.The room service was ok,complimentary mineral water will be given everyday.The place was not that far from aonang town.The taxi is available in front of the hotel,u may need to walk few metres for easier access to taxi.40baht only to go to town.
The buffet in hotel is quite boring but its very cheap ,100baht only per person.
overall.i recommend this hotel.good quality and nice pool!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latierz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#14 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.0 mi away
Ananta Burin Resort
Ananta Burin Resort
#42 of 105 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.0 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#25 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aree Tara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aree Tara Resort

Property: Aree Tara Resort
Address: 177 Moo 3 | Aonang Soi 8 Road, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aree Tara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aree Tara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aree Tara Hotel Ao Nang
Aree Tara Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing