We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place. I would stay again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ginger Chic Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Ginger Chic Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place. I would stay again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Red Ginger a nice boutique hotel. It is located a few minutes walk away from the main strip. I actually prefer this location. Because just around the corner from the hotel, is a cluster of vendors selling food from their carts that taste just as good as the restaurants on the main strip. In addition, a few shops away from the hotel are places that will do laundry for you, convenience stores and a pharmacy. There is even a filling station nearby if you decide to rent a scooter and need fuel. Across the street from the hotel are a handful of ATMs s well. At the corner of the street was a hotel that provided a decent rate for transport back to the airport.

As stated in the other reviews, amenities such as beach towels, welcome red ginger drink, beach mat, and free daily water adds to the positive memories of this hotel. WiFi is extra one time charge of 200 THB for the entire stay.

I was very pleased with the variety offered at the breakfast buffet. The complimentary breakfast includes juices, fresh fruits, pastries, made to order eggs/omelets, as well as Western and Thai dishes in food warmers. The atmosphere of the restaurant was also elegant with traditional Thai decor.

Our particular room, while nice, looked a bit tired in some parts of the bathroom where the grout appeared a little aged in some places. One wall looked like it needed a fresh coat of paint while another wall liked very nice. Hopefully, Red Ginger will have addressed this in the near future. Regardless, this will not stop me from returning. The bed and pillows were comfortable for me. The bed sheets are clean.

The pool was nice and there was never a shortage of reclining chairs by the pool to relax during our stay.

It only takes about 20 minutes to walk from the Red Ginger to the opposite end of the main strip. So we did not feel it was necessary to use a Tuk Tuk during our stay at Ao Nang.

Overall, I had a great time at this hotel and look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    281
    104
    31
    16
See reviews for
146
311
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights in Superior Family room, the room is big with 2 king size beds, very nice pool, breakfast not bad, located in between 2 beaches, 5 minutes walk to Wang Sai Restaurant (good food). But Red Ginger has lots of mosquitoes, bought Baygon from minimart to spray else we can't sleep. Toilet design is funny, during shower when you pull the curtain you need to shower in the dark as it block the light. I don't like the basin area too, hard to keep it dry.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Danny8415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

In some ways this hotel was great! it has a quirky vibe to it, the rooms are a good size, the restaurant is great, the pool is lovely and its in a good location. however.... it wasnt the most clean of hotels! in our room there was marks on the walls, dust, the bathroom smelt damp and just had a grimey look to it.and just in general my partner and i didnt like krabi at all. The hotel had happy hour were drinks are buy one get one free, but they cheaper in the town anyway. i didnt particually feel safe in krabi as people constantly harse you in the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeJayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Before booking this hotel, we had read a few reviews about the hotels cleanliness. I feel this had been rectified as we found it to be very clean (with the exception of some very high up windows). We had the Club Room package which included free cocktails for an hour every evening which our group enjoyed each night. The pool was beautiful and swim up bar a delight. The hotel staff assisted us in booking activities, airport transfers and even transfers to our next hotel in ao nang. Unfortunate I found the beds to be extremely firm which resulted in very bad back & neck pain after the 2nd night, my partner arranged for the staff to put a few layers of extra blankets under the sheets which helped but still wasnt exactly comfortable.

However, the day my back/neck pain was at its worst (I had come down with a cold and had a migraine too), I was resting in our room with a cold face washer over my face when housekeeping came in to clean. Our housekeeping lady Napaporn made my day! She offered me paracetamol and put a cooling gel pad on my forehead. It was such a simple yet sweet gesture. Each day she asked me how I was feeling too, so sweet. Across from our room was where my inlaws were staying and my young SIL had picked some frangipani flowers she had left by their basin. Napaporn picked her some more flowers and cut the leaves out in a beautiful arrangement and left it on her bed!

The breakfast was lovely, plenty of variety each day. Leading up to our stay, one of our group of 7, emailed to confirm our rooms, which was lucky as their was an error with our booking, however the reception staff were excellent at rectifying this problem too.

The beautiful staff really make this place (even if the beds were much firmer than Im used to!)

Room Tip: Would recommend requesting a pool view on the upper levels. My partner and I didnt & we got a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The swimming pool was the only positive thing.
Welcome was cold and not smily at all, ants in the rooms, as well as spiders and mosquitoes.
Breakfast is average, location is not good, not in aonang (5 minutes)
We had to change room as we had 2 separate beds and we asked for one big size, it was really complicated and we felt that we were annoying the staff.
We totally don't recommend

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chpaulo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of comments and photos from Trip Advisor.  The hotel is quiet and only walking distance to Ao Nang Beach. Swimming pool size is decent in low season.  I also like the interior design in this hotel particularly color used in the breakfast area.  Welcome drink is also good.  It is nice to have a rattan bag, mat and umbrella for us to go to the beach.  Due to the size of the hotel, there is not a variety of choices of food in breakfast.  However, it is considered sufficient.  Recommendation is more English speaking channels and free wi-fi in hotel room (though BHT200 for our stay is not a burden).

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Idy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Booked Red Ginger Hotel through AirAsiaGo.com (fantastic rates!) for a trip in late October 2013. Upon arrival, were upgraded to the fourth floor Club roos which was fantastic, complete with separately enclosed loft (so had one large bed on main level, for my son, and separate loft bedroom for my wife & I - perfect!). This is a very nicely designed boutique hotel, with a well-executed Chinese theme running throughout the decor of the lobby, restaurant, rooms. Unique, and pleasant. The mildly saltwater pool is also quite lovely in form, with 8 or so rooms opening directly onto the pool. Restaurant is again of a lovely design, breezy and open. Breakfast buffet is great. Front desk service very friendly and helpful, although only a couple of staff there can speak English well enough to assist beyond basic questions.

Everything about the hotel itself has very pleasing, exceeding our expectations. The only possible downside for some may be the location, which is up a side street and in between the two main beach areas of Ao Nang to the north, and Nopparat Thara (much quieter) to the south. It is about a 15 minute walk to the former, and 5-7 min walk to the latter, so that may not suit everyone, although local tuktuks are available if you wish to pay for that.

As others have noted, it is a stretch to call this a resort, but it is certainly a very nice small hotel, with quirky decor, nicely appointed rooms, great design all round, good breakfast buffet, and I completely recommend it for families, couples (lots of honeymooners there it seemed).

Did I mention that sunsets are beautiful from Nopparat Thara Beach? They really are...this is also the beach (far north end) where island hopping and scuba boats depart from. The beach is very long, several kilometres, and much quieter than Ao Nang,which is where the main shopping area is. Nopparat Thara is up and coming though it seems, with a Holiday Inn Resort now in expansion mode...

On outside food, there is a cluster of local vendors that sets up each evening near the main road, with good paad thai, various soups, etc for 50 baht or so. Then, just around the corner on the main road to the left, will be found a whole long line of local vendors with all sorts of delicious snacks. Once you walk up and over the hill to Ao Nang area, you will be in a main commercial strip, with all sorts of restaurants and shops.

We really loved Krabi - amazing scuba diving, fascinating local islands (still beautiful, even if over-ridden by tours). Scuba is the best way to really see the local wonders, while avoiding tour groups.

Thinking of going to Krabi? Stop thinking and just go...and consider the Red Ginger Hotel :-)

Room Tip: Club rooms have a lovely separate loft area - great rooms for families (although there also are chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WClimenhaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#15 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Small, Krabi
The Small, Krabi
#20 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Ginger Chic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Ginger Chic Resort

Property: Red Ginger Chic Resort
Address: 168 Moo 3 T. Ao Nang a. Maung | Krabi, Thailand, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Ginger Chic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a tropical flower in bloom, Red Ginger Chic Resort is an inspiration for the senses. Red hot in stylish modernity and conveniences balanced with a cool chic ambience, the perfect holiday abode offering magnificent of views of Nopparat Thana Nation Park. With only 63 rooms and one restaurant serving international and Thai cuisines, this beautiful resort has a very exclusive and personal feel. There is a freshwater pool and pool bar plus alfresco fitness facility, while the beach is but a short stroll away.Red Ginger is located 200 metre from the center of Ao Nang Beach, in Krabi province, southern part of Thailand – (821 kilometers from Bangkok and 155 kilometers east of Phuket). The property is excellently located in the middle of Ao Nang and Nopparat Thara beach. It is a paradise for those who love snorkeling, scuba diving, ocean kayaking or even rock climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Red Ginger Chic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Ginger Chic Hotel Ao Nang
Red Ginger Chic Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing