We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Choice in Ao Nang” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ginger Chic Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Ginger Chic Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice in Ao Nang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Red Ginger is situated only 2 minutes from the beach and Long - Tail Boat Ferry Station. There are is also plenty of restaurants and shopping options close by. It is an ideal base to explore the region. The hotel has a lovely pool and pool bar and the ground floor rooms lead directly into the pool. My room was very spacious and comfortable. The decor is relaxing and the hotel has a warm friendly feel good about it. Breakfast was exceptionally good. This hotel is excellent value for money and I highly recommend it

Room Tip: Pool access room near the gym is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParadiseIslands5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    281
    104
    31
    16
See reviews for
146
311
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Red ginger is a quite small resort.. the room is clean. But no wifi at room. Available in reception area only.

But they have a large n nice pool. Have jaccuzi as well.. really enjoy the pool.. oh.. they have pool bar too!

Bfast not much variety kind of foods but tasted not bad..

Bottom line, we felt that the price is not really worth it with the facilities we had. But nothing to complaint about so far about their services and room issued.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
198 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent five nights at Red Ginger and overall it was a really relaxing, pleasant experience. Rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and bed is really comfortable. Flat screen t.v has lots of channels, and you can also borrow DVDs from reception, which came in really handy on rainy days. Breakfast was delicious and varied. Pool was great with pool towels provided and more than enough sun loungers to go around. Beach towels are also provided as well as a beach bag and mats if you opt for the beach instead. I also have to make special mention of the breakfast and housekeeping staff who were extremely friendly, helpful and attentive. The reason I said there were some negative points is that we primarily booked the hotel so we could use the gym facilities. However this was a major let-down as the gym was tiny and very difficult to work out in, and because of the huge windows, it was like a hothouse and really unpleasantly warm, despite the air-con. Out of six machines provided, only the two treadmills worked the whole time we were there. I did inform reception, but they weren't fixed. Also there was construction work going on the floor over our room, and while it was not loud, whenever we tried to sit out on our balcony showers of dust and debris would come down from above. Wifi was also very hit and miss. If we hadn't paid as much money as we did to stay here none of this would have bothered us, but given what we spent, it was a let-down.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lonan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

WOW, what an amazing hotel, fantastic value for money. (Have stayed at many hotels in the area in the same price bracket however none were of such a high standard,) Great staff and very accommodating,the breakfast was to die for, and everything was always clean and well maintained. Fabulous swimming pool and a cocktail list that was very affordable and beyond tasty. The only issue that we had was the growth of Krabi over the last 3 years. Thoroughly enjoyed our time but were deterred with shopping in any shops and restaurants that weren't run buy Thais as the price had increased significantly and the disrespectful manor of some of these people was confronting and off putting. Hotel was in great location, quiet yet close enough to walk into town. Would defiantly stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sonianeedsadrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here with our four year old daughter, so the pool was the attraction and it didn't disappoint.
The staff were great, our room wasn't facing the pool but was clean and as expected when we booked.
We had a few rainy days so can confirm the DVD collection has enough choice to keep young ones engaged inside if required. The staff always has umbrellas handy when we did venture out in the rain.
The breakfast was great and had ample choice which varied daily. Cocktail hour was a treat, we even got 2 chocolate shakes for the price of one so they can cater for kids too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel really is gorgeous & the staff are wonderful. I actually booked a hotel across the road for a week but after spending one night there (I will write more about that later) I was so dissappointed that I moved from there to the Red Ginger and I am so glad that I did. They offered me a Club-Room which was sensational with a lounge area complete with day-bed, tele, bathroom (with bath & shower) & balcony overlooking the pool and then upstairs was the bedroom-WOW!!
They had thought of everything,i.e-beach-bag,beach-mats,robes hairdryer,mini-bar,safe, vanity-sets,razors,sewing-kits etc. The decor I would describe as Thai-Japanese with lovely woodwork cabinets & wardrobes.This is a non-smoking hotel but they do have a designated smoking area
which looked like a little park. The restaurant is wonderful and very reasonably priced with wonderful seating and the pool-bar is unique. The ONLY negative point I would like to make is that people of a certain nation flouted those rules & smoked around the pool & in their rooms and were extremely noisy with no regard or consideration for other guests. This problem must be addresed by the management as it could be off-putting if you want peace & quiet. The assisant mangeress & her receptionists went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. This is the place to stay if you ever visit Krabi. There are 2 beaches within 5 & 15 mins walking distance and the pool at the hotel is wonderful.Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Go for the club-room if you can although the Superior rooms are also lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londoner056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Ginger C, Manager at Red Ginger Chic Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Hi Londoner056,

Thank you very much for your most wonderful review of Red Ginger Chic Resort! We were delighted to read that you had a fabulous time in our Club room and loved what we provided. And for the compliments on service of our team, it gives us great pride to hear such comments from our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to Red Ginger again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Service Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Cool hotel in a very quiet location. The style of this hotel is very open and eclectic. Hint of old Asia mixed with modern finishes. I had a pool view room 3 rd floor, great view over a beautiful swimming pool. Rooms very comfortable, balcony, beautiful furniture etc.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dinodissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#14 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Small, Krabi
The Small, Krabi
#19 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Ginger Chic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Ginger Chic Resort

Property: Red Ginger Chic Resort
Address: 168 Moo 3 T. Ao Nang a. Maung | Krabi, Thailand, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Ginger Chic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a tropical flower in bloom, Red Ginger Chic Resort is an inspiration for the senses. Red hot in stylish modernity and conveniences balanced with a cool chic ambience, the perfect holiday abode offering magnificent of views of Nopparat Thana Nation Park. With only 63 rooms and one restaurant serving international and Thai cuisines, this beautiful resort has a very exclusive and personal feel. There is a freshwater pool and pool bar plus alfresco fitness facility, while the beach is but a short stroll away.Red Ginger is located 200 metre from the center of Ao Nang Beach, in Krabi province, southern part of Thailand – (821 kilometers from Bangkok and 155 kilometers east of Phuket). The property is excellently located in the middle of Ao Nang and Nopparat Thara beach. It is a paradise for those who love snorkeling, scuba diving, ocean kayaking or even rock climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Red Ginger Chic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Ginger Chic Hotel Ao Nang
Red Ginger Chic Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing