We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel was a great experience. Well located near the beach, and very nice and big rooms. The service was very good, and good cleaning of the rooms. The breakfast buffet was really fantastic. We enjoyed it very much. Great poolbar and quit and friendly pool surroundings. The hotelmanager Derek was very kind og helpfull, and created a good atmosphere. We will defenitely come back some day.

Regards,
Jesper Siber

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear jesper S

Greeting from Aonang Cliff Beach Resort. Thank you very much for sharing your review and great to see how you enjoyed your stay with us ; the room, the breakfast, the pool bar and particular our hotel manager and friendly staff team. We all hope to welcome you back in the near future. please do not hesitate to contact us when your next holiday.

Warm regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,921)
There are newer reviews for Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Room is wonderful and large.
We was able to relax.
Breakfast is buffet style. Type of cuisine is abundant. Then, it was delicious.
If you have a chance to go to Krabi again, I want to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yasutomo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Yasutomo T

Thank you for taking your time to share your review. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My finance and I took our first visit to Thailand beaches this New Years. We just got engaged and found this hotel online. We thought an ocean view room by the beach with a hot tub on the balcony seemed pretty amazing. It looked fabulous but we were half disappointed. I say half because as the hotel goes, it is very pretty, clean, nicely located, good food from their restaurant and breakfast, and most of all a wonderful and helpful staff. At first we were disappointed it wasn't next to the beach but after walking the 10 minutes down, we realized it was a nice walk with lots of shops, restaurants, and tour companies along the way. Second, we paid a ton of money for an ocean view room (Five nights at this hotel was the same price as a two week private tour with four star hotels in Vietnam and Bangkok) When we got to our room the balcony overlooked the parking lot and we could only see the ocean when we leaned over the edge of the balcony. Luckily they changed us to another room (we were fortunate as it was the last one left) but we had to wait 4 hours to do so. We felt those rooms were really misleading online. They should be a lower cost than the other balcony rooms and say "limited ocean view." Then people will know what they are paying for and won't be disappointed like we were. New Years Eve was by far our biggest disappointment. We had to pay almost an extra 300 dollars for two people for the New Year's Gala. We were forced to buy the tickets in order to stay at the hotel on New Years Eve night. After much debate (and we couldn't find any reviews on it) we decided to go for it. It was advertised on the website simply as a New Years Gala. Now for almost 150 per person, we expected a nice sit down dinner, formal attire, fire works, good food/ entertainment, and at least a toast at midnight (for that much at least nonalcoholic drinks and a toast should have been included). However, we were unbelievably disappointed. First, they pirate themed the night (we heard multiple guests around the pool that day talking about how upset they were that it wasn't a nice formal dinner and did they have to dress up). This theme was great for the 5 kids that stayed at the hotel vs. the 200 adults that were there. Second, you had to pay extra for all your alcohol (and non alcoholic drinks) including a toast at midnight. Not only that, but they took bottles of wine and champagne that are normally very inexpensive and charged 50-70 dollars a bottle. We bought one bottle for 50 bucks of sparkling wine just to be able to have a toast at midnight. Then, they created a seating chart to let us pick our seats and then didn't put us anywhere near where we picked. Some seats were completely blocked to the stage so tables behind couldn't see it. The biggest disappointment was the food. We had ate at the hotel restaurant multiple times during our stay and the food was fantastic. Therefore, above all these disappointments we kept saying "at least the food will be good." For the price we paid, it should have been a sit-down served meal. Instead it ranked up with the $5.99 Chinese buffet on a street corner. The meat was cold and fatty, there were no vegetarian options except rice and salad (I am not a veggie but the table next to us was complaining about this. When we were checking out another room also was complaining for the price they needed more options and the desk clerk said "I'm sorry but you should just have eaten more salad." ), the lines to get your food were so long that after standing in the main line for 20 minutes, I sat down. When I went back up after the line had gone, the food was either gone or cold. The desert was pretty much just fruit and the strawberries were horrible (we thought at least they would get fresh fruit right considering the area). I ended up getting to eat some cold white rice and two spring rolls. The rest was so gross even my fiancé (who eats just about anything) didn't eat anything. We don't like fast food but we were so hungry that we ended up going downstairs to McDonalds. It was one of the worst yet most expensive New Years Eves that I have ever had.
Long story short, if you are going to this hotel on a non-holiday, you will love it: great food, workers, pool, and location. However if you have to buy a compulsory ticket for a dinner gala: DON'T DO IT! Stay somewhere else! (unless you have kids as there was lots of entertainment for them, just not adults). If the New Years gala had been better or we had not been forced to buy the tickets to stay there, we would have written a good review. Unfortunately it really ruined the end of our trip. Do stay here any other time of the year, just avoid the expensive New Years cost. Try to get a hotel directly on the beach instead for New Years.
On a different note, while in Krabi make sure you 1. bathe elephants (don't just ride them, the bathing was the highlight of our trip!) 2. take a boat trip to the Phi Phi islands, 3. drink fresh mango shakes, 4. walk far enough down the beach (on the left side) It'll look like your walking into a restaurant with a stone wall but make sure you walk through it because on the other side after the restaurant there are tons of other stalls, beach space, and the monkeys.

Room Tip: Third floor with spa and ocean view (ask for one that is NOT over the parking lot but instead is mor...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoshi121508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear yoshi121508

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. We are disappointed to read that we could not meet your expectation. Your feedback is very important as it give us the opportunity to improve our service. Please accept our apologize for any inconvenient during your New year party. We do our best to make sure that all guests enjoyed party and had a wonderful New year with us.

However, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed breakfast, our pool and our staff can served all you need. We do hope you can accept our sincere apologize and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just returned from 9 nights at the Aonang Cliff Beach Resort - relaxed & happy! As a base in the crazy motorbike-food-stall-massage-kiosk madness that is Aonang, it's position is ideal. About 7 minutes walk from the beach, and up 2 easy flights of stairs, the hotel feels like a calm, homely oasis! The Thai-style open-air reception area is relaxed, with free WIFI and 2 laptops for guests to use; the staff are polite & friendly without being in your face; and the pool is sparkling, and perfect for swimming lengths. Being slightly away from the sea, and tucked behind McDonalds and Starbucks...there aren't breathtaking sea views from the pool and restaurant areas, yet they both have a nice outlook & feel - of trees, rooftops, the impressive limestone cliff, and of course the top of the McDonalds sign! But that's Thailand...the juxtaposition of beauty and bling. The gym does look a bit small & tired, but we didn't come to Thailand to work out!!!! Besides, there's a swish looking one on the street below which you can join if that's your thing. We didn't make use of the spa either, because the price for massages was higher than those on the street a stone's throw away, so didn't make sense. We were booked into a standard ("superior") room on the lower level, and while I agree with other reviewers that there was a slight damp smell...it disappeared as soon as we switched on the air-con and fan. Probably partly humidity, and partly I don't know what...but the truth is that fairly often the smell of drains tickle the nostrils in rural Thailand. Our bedroom was fresh, modern and very spacious - with tinted screed floor, satellite TV, a safe, lovely big bed with firm mattress and nice pillows, and a huge shower. It was beautifully cleaned every day, with 2 bottles of free complimentary water. Breakfast is substantial...I see other reviewers say it's not so good, but I'm not sure what else they expect...? It's buffet style, with everything on offer from noodles to omelettes. The omelette chef is a genius, frying sunny-side-ups with one hand, while omeletting with the other! The only thing I missed was REAL fruit juice - instead of the sweet cordial, but there were pieces of fruit on offer which did the trick. Christmas was the only night we heard slamming doors and loud voices, otherwise it was peaceful & quiet. We had a room facing the garden rather than the crazy road...which I think was fortuitous. The staff were great, and nothing was too much trouble. Special mention must go to Cin, the Guest Relations person, who is efficient, helpful switched on...and seems to be always on duty! The congenial German/Australian hotel owner was there too - with his panama hat, and passion for jazz. He flew in an impressive Indonesian 30-piece jazz orchestra for the Christmas party! All in all - a lovely, relaxed hotel, and an ideal base in Aonang! Tip : the tour to Maya Beach on Phi Phi was a waste of time in December! Packed beyond belief with boats and people, there was only a tiny cordoned off area to swim in...not worth the bother! Our best discovery by far was the government ticket office on the far left of Aonang beach road, where you can buy return long-tail boat rides to Railay (nice) or Chicken Island (bliss!!!) and a couple of other places.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor have a slightly damp smell, which does go once the air con and fan are swit...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank fiftyplusonholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear fittyplusonholls

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. We are glad to know that you had a nice stay during you stay here and genuinely pleased that you enjoy our location,the facilities, the pool, the breakfast , especially, enjoying Christmas jazz concert with us that we are really hope you have kept pleasant memories of your Christmas.

We have noted the point that you mentioned about smell in room and the gym. We will be sure to look into detail and follow up on this problem. Our engineering team by now address the issue and make sure that will not happen again.

We look forward to welcome you back when your next holiday.

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon! This hotel has potential but what Comes to mind is this is a 'recession hotel' they aren't the most generous! For eg when I asked for water in the gym they said they had none I never came across this before, I wanted a strawberry cocktail they had no strawberries no therefore they cudnt make one there is a 7/11 downstairs go get some strawberries! Our safe,tv & beach bag were broke! The rooms were clean but not spotless the view is amazing but that's about it! We had a bath on our balcony which was nice but looked like it needed a scrub before we could use it! The breakfast is very average! The breakfast area feels about like a canteen, service is average! Pool area is small and the 1st day we got here we struggled to get a bed then they had no towels! Plus back packers use the pool which I didn't like no offence to back packers I was one myself but if your not paying for the hotel you shouldn't be let use the facilities! Plus there is a boxing type studio right at the pool so when there is a private boxing lesson on prepare for an hr & a half of the coach moaning & cheering very annoying!! Food at the pool was nice they have a cocktail hour but they don't announce it! This hotel feels like it has no manager running it! I have stayed in better along krabi I wouldn't stay here again! We stayed in red ginger in the quieter part of krabi it was 100 times better!! Go elsewhere guys its a very very average hotel!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear karleigh

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectation. please accept our sincere apologize for any inconvenient during your stay. Regarding to your feedback, rest assured that your comment is very serious to us and we will certainly work more in order to improve our service and make sure that those problem do not occur again.

We do hope that you can accept our apologize and we hope to welcome you back to see our improvement.

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nice hotel with good views.
Children loved the bathtub at the balcony (Suitable for couples too)
Breakfast was not too bad.... but could do with more variety.

Overall a good experience here, will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kelvin N Ailin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear kelvin N Ailin J

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We are delight to hear that you had a nice stay and enjoying the bathtub at balcony. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed with my daughter over the Christmas period and found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We had a superior room at the front of the hotel but had no noise disturbance despite overlooking the street. It's only a few minutes' walk to the beach. The room was spacious and clean, though there was a smell at times and being under the restaurant, you can hear scraping of the chairs of breakfast diners. Breakfast was good. Overall, excellent value for money and we'll definitely stay here again, though probably choose one of the pricier room types.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aonangcliffbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Phil M

Thank you for taking your time to share your comment on Tripadvisor. We are please to read that you had a wonderful Christmas and enjoying our room and location. Thank again for choosing to stay with us and we all hope to welcome you back soon. Until next time!!

Warm Regards,
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.6 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 109 in Ao Nang
583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Cliff Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Cliff Beach Resort

Address: 328, Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £41 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Cliff Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort is Krabi's 4 star boutique resort with spectacular views of the cliff and Andaman Sea. Located in the center of Aonang, with easy access to the beach, shopping, Dining and night life. 97 Newly refurbished, spacious guest rooms offer comfortable accommodation in Superior , Deluxe and Ocean View categories. The Ocean wing features sunset balcony for romantics and honeymooners. The resort offers a unique Thai restaurant and a boulevard cafe in Aonang's most versatile and lively shopping plaza. Around the resort pool you will find a Bar & Bistro, wellness center complete with Thai Spa, Gym, Muay Thai, Yoga and Tai Chi classes. Social and business events are celebrated in style for up to 180 guests in the new event center and on the Cliff Panorama Terrace. Coupled with grace of our Thai service memories are made of this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aonang Cliff Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Cliff Beach Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing