We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Job”
Review of Cha Wan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cha Wan Resort
Ranked #42 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and Job”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a comfortable hotel with excellent service and Location,we have stayd for 4 days in April 2013 after our Honeymoon .Bb Was grate and a lot of things to choose and we just love it .
We will come back again .Wait for Us

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    74
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
146
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Ao Nang, but we still needed our travel planners at Andaman Adventures to inform us of this hidden gem, the Cha Wan. It really is a bit hidden, in a quiet part of Ao Nang. Its about 5-10 minute walk to the beach. We did not object, because the resorts closer to the beach or at the beach are always packed with people and passers-by. We had true peace and quietat Cha Wan. A true Thai-style resort, you feel like in a different world, not like the Western chain hotels. Recommend, especially so for couples. Everything in the resorts spells romance.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank billjacobs68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent an afternoon searching for a hotel near Krabi. We only had 4 days so we didn't want to go too far from the airport, but we still wanted to visit the nice local beaches.
We settled on Ao Nang as a location and Cha Wan Resort came out as one of the highest rated.

Cha Wan is a small village of five tastefully designed two-storey wooden villas with an apartment on each floor. The villas are centered around a small swimming pool and each one has a sizeable but shallow fish pond with either Koi or tropical fish (Cichlids and Plecos - neither are indigenous). The main building is in a similar style and houses the reception and the small restaurant/breakfast bar.

The landscaping gave the resort a very cosy and private feel: the villas are nestled in luscious vegetation and fairly close together, but you can retreat back to your apartment to get some secrecy when you need it.

The rooms themselves are enormous; ours had a big kingsize bed and plenty of built in storage for clothes. There was an pretty dated TV but we didn't really watch it. Some of the apartments must have at least one extra bed as we saw one family staying there, but most of the guests were couples. Each apartment has a wooden veranda, and a small balcony.

The bathroom was also very big and separate to the toilet. The latter was just a small cubicle with a set of wooden swing doors, but the bathroom was very well appointed. We had a full sized bath and big sink. The shower enclosure was clean but didn't drain at all well; we nearly flooded the floor on one occasion.

Everything was kept spotlessly clean, and even though you could tell that the resort has seen a lot of people over the years it still felt good quality and well-maintained.

Besides all of the lovely architecture and interior design, the thing that really made this such a special stay for my girlfriend and I was the amazing team of staff at Cha Wan. They greeted us with genuine smiles everyday, helped us book excursions and tables at restaurants, booked us airport transfers. Nothing was to much effort, and it wasn't all to get commissions or kickbacks: they offered us beachtowels to take away for the day, and offered to print out our boarding passes for free. I was genuinely sad to say goodbye, even after only four days. I actually sent a special request when we booked, as it was my girlfriend's birthday during our stay. They managed to secure the room we requested (no. 8), and then they surprised us with a cake after breakfast on her big day.

The breakfast menu was extensive, offering american, local, traditional and simple continental cuisine, I even had a Pad Thai before leaving on the last day. Food was plentiful and good quality, although the fruit juices were all a bit sugary.

WiFi signal was too weak to use the internet in our room, but was fine to use skype from the terrace outside.

We had a great time and would recommmend the Cha Wan to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, clean, spacious rooms with air-con. Breakfast is lovely. Great location. Outside of the busy town but within easy walking distance of everything. The staff are very helpful, friendly and polite. Great value for money and highly recommended.
Only 1 very slight negative - it is close to a busy, noisy road which you can hear clearly from some of the rooms. Ask for a room far away.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarahvetnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladivostok, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a comfortable hotel with excellent service. I have travelled a lot for business and am tired of big chains regardless of how fancy. My wife, daughter and I spent a really nice time there. The size of the hotel makes it very intimate and you almost immediately feel at home without compromising comfort. The staff was really friendly and because our daughter wakes up early we had personal service in the restaurant every morning and most of the evenings (there are also good restaurants 5 min walk away). A couple of friends of ours stayed there as well and staff was kind to serve dinner for us on our patio on new year's eve allowing us to keep an eye on them while they slept. The hotel itself is a 10-15 min walk or 5 min tuk tuk ride from the beach. If you are looking for a quiet, intimate and friendly place, it's warmly recommended!

Room Tip: Go for the upper floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The rooms is spacious enough and everything was sufficient. Just didn't like the fact that my room is being secured by a balcony sliding glass door. Though its a small resort area nested amongst the trees, it was also right beside the tiny road to Ao Nang beach. I would prefer much peace and tranquility but even at 2am I could hear the sounds of passing by vehicles.

The service though is very good. You are always welcomed with a smile, a greeting. As i was there during Xmas day, they even gave a room gift ( a box of chocolates), which is delightful!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairbeartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were happy we booked this place rather than one of the packed concrete boxes down by the beachfront, it is a hidden gem. We booked it as the second and uptempo stop in an Andaman Sky tour of the region (top marks to them as well as to all the resorts we stayed at). The Cha Wan is a resort that will appeal to people who like quirky little places and aren’t too bothered about lots of fancy facilities. You get your breakfast delivered to your balcony, rather a novel touch I thought. We got a room away from the road, which was just as well, as we did hear some other guests complaining about road noise.

Ao Nang was great fun, we had just come from laid-back Lanta so a bit of touristy stuff was good fun – eating in a different restaurant every nights (the places is packed with restaurants) and having one or too too many at the Centrepoint bar zone were just what we needed after chillin’ on Lanta (we loved Lanta, but were starting to get bored. You know how it is, the first thing you need on holiday is to down tools and collapse, then after you’ve been doing that for a while you start to get restless. We also took a couple of daytrips from Ao Nang, the Phi Phi snorkeling trip (too many people) and a private trip to the Walking Street Market in Krabi Town plus the Tiger Cave Temple. Ao Nang is great fun and this resort is a good choice, as it offers a quiet and low-key haven from the pleasurable mayhem on the beachfront.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchilds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Duang Jai Resort
Duang Jai Resort
#46 of 108 in Ao Nang
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hula Hula Resort
Hula Hula Resort
#55 of 108 in Ao Nang
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#36 of 108 in Ao Nang
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Small, Krabi
The Small, Krabi
#26 of 108 in Ao Nang
450 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pimann Buri Pool Villas Ao Nang Krabi
2.0 mi away
Lux Family Villas
Lux Family Villas
#9 of 108 in Ao Nang
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha Wan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Wan Resort

Property: Cha Wan Resort
Address: 159 Moo 3, Ao Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cha Wan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cha Wan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha Wan Hotel Ao Nang
Cha Wan Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing