We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cha Wan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cha Wan Resort
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Stayed there for 3 nights in low season. Overall - a very nice stay, clean and convenient place with very friendly people, great rooms, nice breakfast, small but well maintained pool.
On the down side - a little bit too far, like 15 walking ; but you usually do it once-twice a day, so it is not that bad. Would happile recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    73
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
146
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

Overall nice little hotel for non big traveller people and without so much expectation. I have to say the hotel decoration is nice and very Thai oriented but not with European standard I was expected specially with the bedding, not very confortable, room are a bit moisture smelling. You will find some nice staff but also some staff who will have no respect for you as guest.
Food is Ok but nothing special and basic 3 star hotel standard. A bit far from the happening in town and the sea if you want to walk and the road is dangerous if you walk.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacko19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

I just came back from cha wan and feel that for that level of service and pleasure derived from the trip, i really had to put in the effort to write a review asap.

Went to stay at cha wan after reading the other reviews from trip advisor. Initially i was afraid that my expectations would have been too high after all the rave reviews(which might have lead to a disappointing experience). This was especially since the entrance to the place isn't really that grand as compared to some of the other resorts in the area.

However, the service and room blew us away. The rooms are really spacious with a shower and a bath tub. The aircon was on before we came in which was a great bonus. Breakfast served to our room made us feel really pampered. We were commenting that everything feels really well organized. We asked them to book things like our island hopping tour, our massage and our restaurants for dinner and everything went without a hitch. Think that is a real plus especially in a place like krabi where there are so many things to plan and look around.

THe place is really quiet and you would feel like you have the whole place to yourself. The ambience is really relaxing, although we did not try the pool as it seems to be too small to swim. Would be good if the pool was changed to a jacuzzi instead.

Service was really top class. The staff in the resort were friendly without being too intrusive, and we could always do our own thing and count on having assistance whenever it was needed.

Minor points were that the water pressure in the showers were weak whenever the tap outside was turned on. Made it difficult to wash away the sand from all the beach trotting. It was rather difficult adjusting the temperature of the water as it kept alternating between too hot to too cold. Breakfast got alittle boring after 2 days and we ended up skipping our breakfast for the 3rd day so alittle variety would be good. Other than that, everything was perfect.

For food, lae lay grill is realy a must see. We were so afraid that it would be raining whenw e visited the place but the heavens stopped pouring as we entered the place and after cleaning up the tables we were allowed to seat outdoor. That was great. Food was pricey there but other than that, the view is to die for and having dinner watching the sun set over the glittering sea was really nice.

Will come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

I stayed for 5 nights in room 8. Was very pleased with everything. There was even a fresh fruit plate when I arrived, and the towels were sculpted into elephants. The room was lovely and crisp and clean. Had breakfast included and served in my room each morning. The pool was beautiful, actually two pools, and always kept pristine. The walk to the beach wasn't bad and I dropped off laundry on the way. I also used a tailor to alter some items on the same road. He was quite good, though I could have bargained for a better price. I usually walked into town and took a tuk tuk back for 40-60 BT. The only problems with my room were the bathtub (separate from shower) didn't have enough water pressure to use, not more than a trickle, and the shower was slow to drain. You might bring a reading book lamp clamp, too, if you like to read in bed.
I still have to give it an excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

I have just returned to the UK after having spent 10 days with my son in Ao Nang.This must be one of the best and most stunning small resorts in Thailand and the Cha Nang Resort was a great place to experience this.The staff are charming, the rooms bigger with better specifications than you expect from a 3 star hotel and because of its small size (10 or so rooms ) it is very peaceful.- even a small swimming pool.

Invest a little of what you save by not staying in a 4 star hotel in getting a "tut tut" to take you to and from the beach (costs 80p) although you can walk -10 mins.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonnick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

If you're looking for a resort that's not too near touristy hustle and bustle, yet at a comfortable (10min approx.) walking distance, Cha Wan Resort is an excellent choice.

On arrival, we were warmly greeted by staff and served refreshing welcome drinks. Checking in process was smooth and the books and magazines displayed near the reception area added a homey feel which was welcoming. Towels folded into swans and an elephant with petals on the beds were very adorable indeed! We even hesitated to take them apart at first. Room was large and spacious with wooden panelling that contributed to the rustic charm of the place.

We very much enjoyed the scrumptious breakfast that was served to us daily on the balcony. That's a unique feature of Cha Wan that's hard to find anywhere else! Portions are satisfying, and you get a choice of local, continental and American, or even a combination, if you so request.

Oh yes, I've got to mention about the service. Staff definitely went out of their way to take care of us during our stay with their attentiveness and smiles all around. I was surprised with a birthday cake on my birthday, and the manager Phenappa even gave a friend a scooter ride to the main walking street! How's that for going the extra mile? Airport transfer was also efficiently arranged with packed sandwiches, juice and water for breakfast. Service with a heart at Cha Wan!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cha Wan Resort. It was recommended to us by a friend, and we DEFINITELY recommend it to anyone visiting Krabi.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShanliQuagpyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

May period is a low season and you can see this from the non-existence of crowd in the Ao-Nang beach area. Likewise, in Cha-Wan, there was only 3 rooms booked - according to the receptionist, but we felt like we were the only guests there.

CHAWAN: Undividend attention from all the service staff at all time. Pick up from the Airport was well arranged. Upon reaching Cha Wan, there was a welcome drink for my girlfriend and I and a nice cool towel to freshen up. Without much delay, we were brought to our room - #8 which was away from the road. The A/Cs was already on - expecting our arrival, and we stepped in the room feeling fantastic. Room was spacious with big bathroom and a big balcony. You can choose to get your breakfast served to your balcony every morning.

EXTRA: Well, the trip was meant for a birthday celebration for my girlfriend and we informed the receptionist that it's her birthday. The very next morning when they served breakfast, they brought along a birthday cake. Sweet! Very splendid touch. Also, the service staff also maintained a smile at all time.

TOURS: You can get your island hopping, day tours arranged with the hotel but after chatting with some fellow Singaporeans in Krabi, we found out there were cheaper alternatives.

Went for Jungle Tour - Emerald Pool, Hot Pool, Tiger Cave Temple at 1100 baht per pax.
4-island hopping was part of package we signed with Cha Wan.

MASSAGE: Our package with Cha Wan included a 1-hour aroma massage. We thought it'll just be somewhere outside the hotel but it was not. Transport was arranged and we went to a high-class Spa valued at 1300 baht per pax.

DISTANCE: Trip to Ao Nang was around 30 minutes from the airport and 7 minutes by walking to Ao-Nang beach. We took a tuk tuk back to our hotel for 40 baht.

FOOD: Try the Street stalls, things are going for 5 to 10 baht per stick.

KRABI TOWN: Take the 50 baht bus to Krabi Town. Taxi costs around 500 - 600 baht there. Not worth it. Location to take the bus is along the main Ao Nang Beach.

SHOPPING: Sad to say this but all Krabi Shopowners were very very rude. Probably it's the low season but everyone was quoting high prices. Things are not as cheap as you can get in Bangkok. We got an Ocean Pack (10 litres for 300 baht), singlet for 120 baht.

DINING: Went to Lae Lay Grill for our last night dinner. Fantastic atmosphere. The low season basically means we are the only group dining there. The restaurant captures a fantastic view of AO Nang and you should reach there by 6:15pm Thai time. Transport is free and you can arrange with your hotel.

Summary: will defintely go back to Cha Wan if we ever go back to Krabi. Only drawback was we had to walk 7 minutes to and fro everywhere when some hotels are directly at Ao Nang beach. Kudos to the staff for creating such a great trip. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vinzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
9.7 mi away
Hula Hula Resort
Hula Hula Resort
#41 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
9.7 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#44 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Home Ao Nang
Little Home Ao Nang
#35 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#22 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lux Family Villas
Lux Family Villas
#15 of 106 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
9.9 mi away
Apasari Krabi
Apasari Krabi
#29 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha Wan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Wan Resort

Property: Cha Wan Resort
Address: 159 Moo 3, Ao Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cha Wan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cha Wan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha Wan Hotel Ao Nang
Cha Wan Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing