We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay at Timber House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Timber House Resort
Ranked #68 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay at Timber House”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We enjoyed staying at Timber House for two weeks. The pool area is very nice as well as the garden. The rooms are spacious and clean.Everybody working at Timber House are very friendly, helpful and service minded. Free wifi in the restaurant and in the pool area - very nice.
Only the breakfast was a bit of a disapointment. We would happily stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lohsien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    68
    59
    13
    7
See reviews for
52
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here over Xmas for a few days. Rooms are clean and spacious. Location is good for restaurants and a short walk to the Longboat Co-operative if you want to visit other beaches. Although on a main road the rooms are quiet for a good night's sleep apart from when they stick on some ageing noisy generator at six in the morning. Be aware of this when booking your room. The pool is nice and clean if you just want to lounge around. There is no lifeguard on hand if you are thinking of leaving your kids there whilst going shopping. Plenty of choices at breakfast, you won't go hungry. The restaurant does a buffet every night if you want to eat here. My partner doesn't like buffets but he really enjoyed this one. On Xmas day we discovered Santa had visited despite the fact we were very naughty this year and left two little stockings with sweets in them. Such a lovely touch.

Room Tip: Be aware of noisy generator that gets switched on around six in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1967Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at the Timber House back in July 2013 and I need to say that I enjoyed the position of the hotel, right in between the beaches and the shops; the room was spacious and clean, facing the pool.

I didn't have particular problems, I knew the level of services I was going to get for the price paid, so I cannot complain. Having said that, if you are looking for a nice resort with many comforts, this is not the place for you. Recommended to the budget traveler and those who just need a bed where to rest.

No wifi included and breakfast buffet quite poor and repetitive, but you can ask for freshly made eggs and omelettes.

I would stay there again if travelling alone or with friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We chose this hotel due to its location from the main strip at Ao Nang and for Krabi Airport flying home the following day. Upon arrival thought we were at the wrong hotel, I was thinking more of a timber construction?? We were a little early for the room so we put our luggage in a locked room and ventured to the shops which were about a 10 minute walk away.
Back at the room all was ok except mosquitoes; all the doors were left open by the cleaners which allowed umpteen of them in!! Looking out the back window there was a planter with stagnant water, not sure if they were coming from there, but it probably doesn't help.
The pool and surrounding area was clean and we used the sun loungers for a while soaking up the last few rays before night.
Again, not sure where the mozzies were coming from but had to deal with a few more before going to sleep, this did have an impact on my sleep, wondering if after 3 weeks away the last night we get eaten alive.
Inside the room just before the bathroom there is a step, in total darkness, Liz tripped and severely bruised both knees, so the bathroom light was kept on for remainder of the night.
After waking up again on mozzie patrol killing another 4
Breakfast was truly awful, badly fitting covers allowed food to be swarming with flies, not much variety so just has a croissant and coffee, packed up checked out and got prearranged taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz_phil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Hotel was okay,but if you are looking for spa and massage they are not available. nearest spa will be located in another hotel 5-10 minutes walk away from Timber.

Pool is small, buffet breakfast is quite good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenshinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed there for a week on May. The hotel is located just a few steps away from the beach. The front desk girls are very helpful and always with a great smile. The room was a little bit rundown but it is okay since it is value for the price at only RM110 per night. By the way, it was still very comfortable and spacious. There is a very basic swimming pool and reastaurant providing daily breakfast with not much selections. Overall, it is a good budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CranBerries0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I suppose I should know by now that hotels appear on Groupon for a reason - possibly because nobody wants to stay there... So, where do I begin? I booked two rooms at Timber House back in July based on the photos and reviews. I was double charged which cost me S$26 because of the fluctuation in exchange rate. It took until the day before I arrived for them to offer me any kind of compensation.

Upon arrival I was surprised at how 'tired' the place looked compared to the photos on the Internet. I can only assume they are using pictures from the 1990s. The reception also looks in need of an update especially with the musty old aircon unit chugging away in the corner. However, we should not judge a book by it's cover.. I was prepared to give it a chance.

After an hour of total confusion about the fact that my son was not my husband and I needed the two rooms we eventually got shown our rooms. Again, these were very tired looking but clean enough, although not near eachother.

So let's go back to the compensation voucher I received... I was offered S$26 to spend in the hotel's fish restaurant. This was the restaurant that shut at 5pm and was in total darkness at 7pm, although all literature stated it was open until 10 pm. However, I was informed that they could prepare me dinner the next day if I told them what I wanted in advance and could eat it by 6. I did try the restaurant the following morning for the complimentary breakfast and decided I had had a lucky escape dinner-wise.

The pool looked OK despite the filtration unit being on wheels and rather old. The spa was open air in what looked like a drained pool and consisted of two massage beds and what I thought was a drinks machine or wardrobe but my son said was a sauna! The roof was also falling in.

I stayed one night here although I was booked in for 4. This is a cheap hotel for people wanting a clean bed and nothing more. The old saying, 'you get what you pay for' certainly applies here.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the car park and try for the pool view. Be aware that the properties have a fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahL1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#59 of 108 in Ao Nang
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aonang All Seasons Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#49 of 108 in Ao Nang
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anyavee Ban Ao Nang Resort
Anyavee Ban Ao Nang Resort
#82 of 108 in Ao Nang
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Small, Krabi
The Small, Krabi
#26 of 108 in Ao Nang
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ananta Burin Resort
Ananta Burin Resort
#37 of 108 in Ao Nang
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber House Resort

Property: Timber House Resort
Address: 157 Moo 2 Ao Nang Beach | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Timber House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AO NANG'S COLOURFUL LIVING WITH CHARMS AND TRANQUILITY. Timber House Resort is located right in the center of Ao Nang beach strip, within walking distance to array of shops, spas, restaurants and bars. Timber House Resort is set in the midst of tropical garden which creates the peaceful and tranquility atmosphere. Timber House Resort is only 30 minutes away from Krabi International Airport. "Make your holiday memorable" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Timber House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber House Hotel Ao Nang
Timber House Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing