We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Ao Nang”
Review of Sabai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sabai Resort
Ranked #38 of 125 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place in Ao Nang”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We completely agree with the other reviewers. This place is a find. We stayed from May 16-23 and enjoyed having a private bungalow with veranda, swimming in the clean and inviting pool, and dining in the wonderful little cafe. Sabai Resort is well-maintained and Maurizio, one of the owners was on the scene and attentive to our every need. The staff took good care of us. The location is a 5 minute walk to a great beach and an easy 1 K walk into town. This is a quiet and peaceful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    48
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
29
59
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Grazie a Andrea, Maurizio e Carla e a tutto Lo staff del Sabai per aver reso la nostra vacanza così bella. Ci mancate.

Really tks to all the staff and owners of Sabai!
We spend 10'days ! Unfortunately we could not stay more
The bungalows are set in a nice garden and are very spacious...even if we were in 4!
The italian restaurant of Mamma Carla cooks a very very good Italian hand-made pasta! My kids loved the lasagna, gnocchi and ravioli. And we enjoyed too...;)
But they have also a good Thai! So we had the best of the two cuisine
From there it's easy to go around...walking distance !!!! Or with the tuk-tuks if you want to in town
Smal boats can bring to you in different islands just in 10-20 min. but if you are scared ...there is a beautiful beach just there.
And don't miss the Thai cooking class.
Ask to Maurizio e Carla they will help you!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaPaccosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This was our second stay at Sabai - we decided to return for the second time in a year after a great holiday earlier in 2012. Spacious bungalows are set amidst beautifully kept gardens outside the main hustle and bustle of Ao Nang, making for a tranquil and relaxing holiday.

Maurizio and his team welcomed us like long lost friends and took care of our every need. We had a huge room with a screen behind which we could hide our two year old in his cot at night, perfect! The room came complete with a little kitchen, four hobs, a big fridge and cooking equipment. Lovely little terraces outside the bungalows for early evening drinks (some mosquitoes included - mosquito coils recommended)...

Sabai is spotlessly clean and very well run, with delicious food in the restaurant - we had one of the bungalows furthest from the restaurant but the baby monitor stretched far enough that we could enjoy quiet dinners in the evenings with our toddler safely tucked up. The Thai food is particularly good but the italian also makes a nice change when you're all Thai-ed out.

If you're looking for an excellent value, clean, friendly and quiet resort Sabai is a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifiphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Even though it was the low season, we appreciated the fact that Sabai Resort is located away from Ao Nang town. It's relatively easy to get around with plenty of tuk-tuks and the cheaper songthaews passing by on the main road, just a 2-minute stroll from the resort. Nopparathara Beach is just across the main road.

The fan bungalow can be a bit warm if you're not used to the humidity in this part of the world, but we were fine with it. The bungalow was clean and basic. Towels were changed daily, even without us requesting for it. Having a swimming pool for the price we paid was a real treat! It was a great place to relax after a long day of activities and sight-seeing. Wi-fi was reliable, and no mosquitoes!

Besides the American breakfast, we only managed to try the home made chocolate cake at the resort's Da Carla restaurant. It was lovely, moist and very chocolatey. A bit sweet for me, but my fellow traveller loved it.

The staff were non-intrusive and efficient. Resort co-owner, Maurizio, was very friendly and would always make us laugh with a funny quip whenever he saw us. Would definitely recommend this to anyone headed for Krabi. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A very cosy and friendly family atmosphere, very economical for extended stays and only a couple of hundred metres away from the beach and main road. Clean bungalows, very good and cheap food and very friendly staff. A highly recommended budget accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimbaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2011

If you are looking for a nice and cosy place with a friendly atmosphere just outside of busy Ao Nang, this is THE place to stay! We was first visiting this place in 2003, and came back this year just to find out that what we experienced and really liked then was still the same now. Nice location, lovely staff and clean and simple standard. If we would ask for something it must have been softer madrasses...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We travelled to Krabi for a holiday with our one year old and three year old daughters and stayed at Sabai Resort for four nights. What a lovely place to stay! It was exactly what we were looking for. The resort is beautiful - impeccably clean, beautifully landscaped and very well managed. The cottages are neat and simple, no TVs (we weren't looking for any). Nice porch in the front with table and chairs for evening lounging while the kids sleep inside. Excellent wi-fi available. Loved the game room - ping-pong table, foosball table, books and magazines! Small but very clean pool with chairs for lounging and water toys available for kids. Great cooking at the restaurant - generous breakfasts, tasty Thai and Italian food, clean and sturdy baby chairs. We liked that the resort was quiet and not on the main road, but still a short (5 minute walk with stroller and baby gear) from the beach, shops and restaurants. We (the kids espcially) loved Tina who helped us with check-in, travel and touring arrangements - she recommended and booked a fantastic boating trip to Hong Island for us, on which we met plenty of other young families. Staying at Sabai Resort was a pleasure, and we would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy_0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.8 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#48 of 108 in Ao Nang
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krabi Aquamarine Resort
Krabi Aquamarine Resort
#53 of 108 in Ao Nang
211 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vipa Tropical Resort
Vipa Tropical Resort
#5 of 125 in Ao Nang
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marina Express - Fisherman
5.3 mi away
Real Relax Resort & Beauty Massage
1.3 mi away
Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabai Resort

Property: Sabai Resort
Address: Nopharathara road - Muai 79/3 M3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sabai Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabai Resort, administrated by European staff, will recommend you the best places to visit, the best islands among a lot of archipelagoes, the typical temples; and for divers, the most spectacular diving. We also have a swimming pool, a games room including a satellite TV, ping-pong table, football table as well as a bar with good cocktails, typical Thai massages, laundry, telephone and fax, bike and motorbike renting at the disposal of the guests. For more information, do not hesitate to contact us directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sabai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabai Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing