We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel- too many disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ananta Burin Resort
Ranked #34 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel was a bit mixed for me, some parts were great and some parts were really disappointing. The location is pretty good, not too far from the beach and main town in Ao Nang. The room was really nice, clean and well equipped with everything we could need, transport was good and staff were helpful when it came to arranging trips and taxis for us, including the hotel transport. We stayed during a weekend, there are bars on the street below if you have a street facing room, which meant it was noisy at night time, however that is not the fault of the hotel, just something worth bearing in mind if you want a quiet room. The staff were good, helpful as I stated, however not overly attentive, I’m not talking lots of fuss but a hello/goodbye when you leave and enter just makes for a friendly atmosphere, that we had at lots of our other hotels in Thailand. We had a massage at the hotel which was great and the pool was really good too, the area was clean and the staff were helpful with towels, etc. The restaurant wasn’t great, we ate lunch there once and the food was average and overpriced for what Thai food usually costs. You are given a room service menu in your room, one morning I was ill and didn’t feel up to leaving the hotel for breakfast so rang for room service to which I was told you couldn’t order breakfast to your room, despite it being in the menu. We didn’t have breakfast in the hotel as it was not included in our room price and as such it was quite expensive (in comparison to other places) for the buffet breakfast. Without question the biggest bug-bear for me was being told we had to pay for wifi. I understand wifi is a privilege and a luxury and not a god given right and I don’t want to sound like a first world diva when I say this but charging extra for wifi, I think is unjustified. You can get free wifi in the lobby though if you desperately want it and, like me, aren’t willing to pay £14 for the internet. Luckily we were in a room just above reception and as such the free wifi managed to stretch to us meaning we didn’t have to pay for it in our room (something I’m not sure the hotel realised?) so just a heads up to check your room before you fork out £14. Overall the hotel is good, the staff are helpful and it’s clean with good facilities, just some slight disappointments. Most disappointments were personal preference and things I wouldn’t always expect from hotels anyway, we were just spoilt in Thailand with lots of beautiful hotels that offered it all, most of which were cheaper than Anananta Burin, hence why I wanted to express my disappointments.

Room Tip: Choose a pool-facing room for a quite night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ6400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this hotel as it had a good promotion ongoing for the off peak season. On the first day we arrived, there was a power failure for the whole afternoon till 6.00 pm. We had to walk up the stairs (luckily we were only on the third floor) and the porter helped us with our bags. We left the room soon as it was hot in the room and when we opened the balcony doors, there were mosquitoes. Eeks!

Like some reviewers pointed, communication in English is mimimal (even the restaurant staff do not understand much) but the front desk staff are able to understand English well.

Second day when we came back, shower gel and shampoo were not replenished and floor mat removed and was not replaced. Took a call to and several communcation with the housekeeping staff rectify the issues. Third day, didn't replenish the complimentary bottle of drinking water and had to call to request. I guess it is bad luck on my end as my friends who were staying in the other room, didn't have such problems.

The other down part is the pool hours. It only opens at 10 am and closes at 6 pm.

The location was ok but if I go back to Krabi again, I will stay somewhere nearer to the start of the road.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jona04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is the third time we stayed in Krabi and was very disappointed with this hotel. We've stayed in two other hotels located in the same street and decided to go with Ananta this time since they have a good deal on Expedia. That was a huge mistake on my part! We booked the Deluxe pool access and the bathroom was so dated and its actually gross. The rain shower has rust all over it, the sink faucet is old that it makes a creeking sound when you lift to open and there is a stinky water coming out every morning from the bathroom! I believe in getting your money's worth and this is definitely a waste of our money! Also, you have to pay for in room wifi which at this point in time is such a rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lynnel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We recently stayed at this wonderful hotel. Since it was off-season we got a free upgrade from city view premium room to deluxe pool view room. The room and bathroom were beautiful and very clean. Decorations and all amenities were just perfect. The balcony had nice chairs where you can relax and see the pool down below. The pool was nice as well. Moreover, it's located 5 mins walk away from the beach and the main shopping street. This meant everything was nearby without the noise of the main street. Moreover, we paid just as little as ~$50 per night, which was amazing for such a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room in one of the higher floors, usually you'd get a free upgrade during of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saptak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The resort is located 5mins away from Ao- nang beach, There are many shops nearby and a minimart just across the resort.The room is big and cosy. Staffs are always smiling and helpful. Would love to come again soon. Cheers!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SHIRLEENWONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Went on a three days stay in the hotel during the promotion period. Service was great, porter was friendly. Love the room, it's comfortable. Swimming pool was clean.

Although it's a walking distance from the street market but easy accessible. If u are lazy to walk can take a tuk tuk.

June is not the best time to go if want to island hopping as the sea is rough and crowded with tourist.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank snowylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Clean and adequate rooms overlooking the pool. Great poolside massages offered but the breakfast was poor in comparison to other Thai hotels we have frequented. Hygiene was not good and selection was basic. Great restaurant over the road from the hotel - very accommodating and good food. Within walking distance to shops and restaurants, but not a "beachy" place. Similiar to Phuket.

Room Tip: In room WIFI is always a bonus! . We were given vouchers to produce at breakfast which seemed a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.6 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#25 of 111 in Ao Nang
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#33 of 111 in Ao Nang
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananta Burin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananta Burin Resort

Address: 166 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £31 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananta Burin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ananta Burin Resort located between the beautiful Nopparattara Beach and Aonang Beach. Only 5 minutes walk distance to Nopparattara Beach and you can enjoy your day with Ao Nang Beach that amidst the white sandy, islets, coral reefs, rock formations, limestone caves and clear waters of the Andaman Sea. The hotel has two swimming pools. The first one is suitable with guests who would like to have peaceful and quite environment. However to make your holiday extremely enjoyable, the hotel provides you the second swimming pool with a water park with two slides. The first one height is 5 meters tall; and the second one height is 8 meters tall. Lazy River Pool can give you the relaxing emotion when you are at swimming pool. To create the feeling of fantasy nature, we create artificial mountain and waterfall with a nice garden to level your feeling up. The hotel concerns every single point in order to make you “Experience the Wonderful Holiday With Us” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ananta Burin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananta Burin Hotel Ao Nang
Ananta Burin Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing